My Job is … Fun?

I actually like my job.  Crazy, right?  Three weeks ago, I started working for an office on campus as an office and design assistant.  Basically, I make copies and answer the phones ten hours a week, which isn’t the most exciting, but the other half of my job is all about designing promotional stuff for the department and updating their website.

Right now, my boss has me going through a “teach yourself” Adobe Fireworks book (Fireworks is essentially a simplified version Photoshop), when I am not busy with anything.  Once I finish that, I will be moving on to learn Adobe Illustrator and Dreamweaver.  I think it is a lot of fun.

Screen Shot 2013-02-20 at 1.30.36 PMI learned Photoshop in high school, and I always wanted to learn more, but I never had access to the program or a Mac.  Now, I get paid to learn about something I was already interested in.  Win, win, as far as I am concerned.

Yesterday, I met one of my running club friends after class to go for a run.  We decided on a treadmill workout, and I ended up doing five miles of speed work.  They keep the gym at my college pretty warm, so I was sweating pretty hard.  The sweat was getting in my eyes, and I didn’t want to stop to get a paper towel, so I wiped my face with my shirt.

I forgot that I didn’t take my mascara off before my run. NOOOO.

WP_20130219_003

I was wearing one of my good Under Armour shirts that my parents got me for Christmas, and I was worried it was ruined.  I finished my work out, and went back to my dorm.  I didn’t want to grind the mascara into the fabric, so I decided to take a chance, and used some eye make up remover. Luckily, It came right out!

After my 5 o’clock class, I was starving, and met up with some friends in the Dining Hall.  When I was walking back, the clouds finally parted after a very rainy day.  Campus is pretty at dusk.

2-20-13 (1)
Are you in college?  Do you/did you work on campus?  Do you know how to use Photoshop or any of the Adobe Creative Suite programs?


Leave a Comment

