Fearless Friday: Facing My Fear of Singing in Public (Karaoke)

Last night, I sang…in front of people.  Oh my god, I was a nervous wreck.

Yesterday morning when I was getting ready for work, I had an idea. I could start confronting my “fears” – not dangerous things, but things that push me out of my comfort zone.  I‘m going to need practice being brave if I am accepted to study abroad where I will literally be out of my comfort zone 24/7.  

So.  I made a list of things that would fit the bill.  One of the fears, was singing in public.  My college has karaoke nights every other week, and I’ve always wanted the courage to get up there.  However, I hate even speaking in public.  It took me almost a year and  half to build up my confidence to just contribute in class discussions.

I figured I’d put it off until next week, but then I came across this:

Fullscreen capture 2212013 25019 PM
Fate was telling me to do this.  I texted my roommate, Becky, and the plan was set.  I was going to sing.  There was 90’s theme which was a big restriction.  Becky and I went through the karaoke binder a couple of times, until I decided on Shania Twain’s, That Don’t Impress Me Much.

WP_20130221_043

The wait was long and nerve wracking.  I’ve never sang in front of anyone except for my family, and a few select friends.  I am not an amazing vocal expert.  I can carry a somewhat decent tune, but I’ve never been confident in my singing voice.

While we were waiting, Becky brought along Lucky Charms, but she hates the marshmallows (I know she’s a weirdo), and she always picks them out.  I love the marshmallows.  We are the dream team.

WP_20130221_059

Then the dreaded moment came.  It was my turn.  Oh my god, I was a nervous wreck.  I was sweating through my sweater.  My legs were shaking.  I got up on the stage, and the music started.  Shit.  This was happening.  Those people were looking at me.  I was going to sing in public.  I squared my shoulders, and took a deep breath.

Fullscreen capture 2212013 105330 PM

I gave it my all, and it wasn’t perfect by any means.  I screwed up the lyrics, and you know what? I didn’t care.  I was having fun.

Fullscreen capture 2212013 105451 PMSinging was amazing.  It was such a rush!  I was full of energy.  I had faced my fear.  I was on top of the world!  My energy was on high.

WP_20130221_070-001

For a long time, I was always worried about being perfect or being perceived as perfect.  Last year, I slowly started chipping away at this.  Tonight, I realized how fun it is, not caring what anyone thinks.  I had a blast.  I faced my fear, and I had fun doing it (except for the part when I had butterflies the entire day).

And to everyone who is on the fence about something because you are scared, just take the leap.  It’s so worth it.

 

What kinds of things push you out of your comfort zone?  Do you have any suggestions for me?  Have you ever sung karaoke? Were you a nervous wreck?    

9 thoughts on “Fearless Friday: Facing My Fear of Singing in Public (Karaoke)

  1. flamesofthoughts February 22, 2013 / 3:44 pm

    I once went for Karaoke party, had much fun ‘booing away’ the person on stage, with all wild hooting. Obviously I never went to stage to sing, I had my fun as a viewer. :) try that sometime, it requires absolutely no confidence. :)

    • Samantha February 22, 2013 / 4:25 pm

      Being a spectator was 10 million times better then being up there. LOL. Luckily, the karaoke viewers weren’t too (outwardly) judgmental last night. :)

      • flamesofthoughts February 22, 2013 / 4:36 pm

        Oh..you missed the fun part. With a wild audience, the karaoke nights become absolute madness. :)

  2. andi2222 February 22, 2013 / 5:33 pm

    So I don’t want to mess up your good thing…but Lucky Charms without the marshmallows are Alpha-Bits. Don’t tell your roommate though! ha ha

  3. eharris29 February 24, 2013 / 4:21 am

    Even a task like singing in front of an audience shows that you are really preparing yourself to become “comfortable with the uncomfortable”, especially if you go abroad (which I hope you do!!)

    • Samantha February 24, 2013 / 4:36 am

      If everything goes well with the application process, I’ve definitely made up my mind to go. :) The counselor said I have a pretty high chance of getting accepted into the school I want, so here’s hoping. I’m super excited, and nervous to put in my application (two more weeks). I’m just waiting on my faculty recommendation letters, and I’ll be good to turn in my application.

  4. andi2222 February 26, 2013 / 12:25 am

    Just watched your video of your performance and I think you did really well considering how nervous you were. I watch American Idol all the time and apparently it is really hard to sing when you are nervous. You should try it again!

  5. Diane and Don March 8, 2013 / 10:28 pm

    That impressed us much!! That is Awesome Sam, conquer your fears and live life to the fullest!

Leave a Comment

