Nail Polish Addict

I have a confession.  I am obsessed with nail polish.

The worst part is, the picture below isn’t even all of the nail polish I own, just the bottles I brought to school.  I don’t know exactly when the obsession started, but I think it was  when I was a freshman in high school, and I wanted to be an “emo kid”.  I wore black clothes, purple eye shadow, and kept my nails black 24/7.  That’s teen angst for ya.  But ever since I moved out of my emo phase (it only lasted a year, thank god), it has been impossible for me to go into Target without wanting to pick out a new color of nail polish.

nailpolishbox

Although, I refuse to pay more then $4.  I just can’t justify spending $10-20 on a bottle of nail polish.  It’s nail polish.  I mean, maybe there is something to the really expensive brands.  I don’t know.  If someone knows the secret, please fill me in.

However, I am quite happy with my cheap nail polish.  I almost always buy Sally Hansen because I am in love with their Insta-Dri colors.  The Insta-Dri retails at about $3.58 at the Walmart near me, which is the perfect price for me.  I like my nail polish to be noncommittal.  If it turns out I don’t like the color, oh well. It was only 3 bucks.

instadri

The reason I love Insta-Dri is because I have no patience when it comes to painting my nails.  The color has to be dry within a five minute period or I end up screwing it up.  Luckily, a thin coat of Insta-Dri is usually dry in a minute or so.

I end up changing my nail polish about twice a week.  However, because I change the color so often, base coat is pretty much a given when I am doing my nails.  If I don’t use it then my nails get weak and start to peel, which is painful and annoying.

For base coat, I’ve been using the same bottle for almost a year.  I have no idea what brand it is.  It came from some manicure kit that I had as a teenager, and I never used base coat back then so now I still  have it, and have no idea what kind it is.

WP_20130118_001These were my nails for the NFL playoffs (as a Baltimore girl, I was rooting for the Ravens). Pinning nail ideas on Pinterest is like my crack.  P.S. – I never pay for manicures. I always just do my own nails.  In fact, I haven’t gotten a manicure since my senior year of high school when I went to prom.

In other news, yesterday I ran 10 miles in some fabulous 50 degree weather.  I am training for a sub 2-hour half marathon (13.1 miles).  My fastest half marathon time so far has been 2:10, but I have been doing some speed work so hopefully, it pays off!

For Wednesday’s post, I hit up Sephora over the weekend, and I’ll be posting about some of my new beauty buys.

Do you wear nail polish regularly? What’s your favorite brand?  Have you ever paid more then $5 for a bottle of nail polish?  


16 thoughts on “Nail Polish Addict

  1. Must Have Boxes February 25, 2013 / 1:52 pm

    I’m a nail polish addict too! My favorite brand is Essie which retails for USD $8 per bottle.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

    • Samantha February 25, 2013 / 2:29 pm

      Do you find that it lasts longer? I always wondered what the difference is between the pricier nail polish and the cheaper kinds.

  2. tmvikholt February 25, 2013 / 4:55 pm

    Hmm, I wonder how much I’ve actually spent on nail polish over the years. I have no idea! :P I have at least 70 bottles, though.

    • Samantha February 25, 2013 / 5:15 pm

      70 bottles! Dang. We should start a support group, and trade the colors we don’t want anymore. ;) Do you have a preferred brand?

      • tmvikholt February 25, 2013 / 7:08 pm

        Haha, right! :P My favorites are OPI and Revlon, they have a great formula and seem to last longer. But I’m also a fan of Pure Ice (Walmart’s brand, which is only $2 a bottle).

  3. stephinthescreentime February 25, 2013 / 6:58 pm

    Love nail polish. Wish I took the time to wear more of it! I have never paid over $5 for a bottle but I heard Essie is a really good kind and I might pay $8 for a color I really like.

    • Samantha February 25, 2013 / 7:14 pm

      Yeah, you do have to set aside some time to paint your nails, though I always end up doing it while I am working on the computer or when I am reading something for class. I have heard a lot of great things about Essie. OPI is a favorite for a lot of people as well. Maybe one day I’ll get crazy, and buy a more expensive brand, just to see what all of the talk is about.

  4. andi2222 February 27, 2013 / 8:31 pm

    OPI sells a product that is called Nail Envy that makes your nails really hard and therefore, makes your polish last a little longer cause your nails aren’t bending back and forth. It is hard to find though…last time I got it through Amazon.com because I couldn’t find it in a store anymore.

    • Samantha February 27, 2013 / 9:00 pm

      I’ve heard that it is pretty good stuff!

  5. Karel H. December 15, 2013 / 9:17 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog because a friend of mine shared one of your videos on facebook – but what prompted me to comment is the nail polish (my obsession).

    I noticed in some of your later posts you mentioned that you are really starting to get into glitter nail polishes and I’m a total glitter fanatic. There are definitely some great mainstream options but the really amazing and unique things that are happening are happening in the Indie Polish world.

    I do like Sally Hansen polishes – they are great for nail art and if you’re really budget conscious as you seem to be. Overall, I’ve never been disappointed in the quality of them either.

    There is a difference in quality I’ve found between the cheapies you can pick up in drugstores and that which you get from salons, department stores, and cosmetic stores. But even all of that can be overcome with a good base and top coat!

    • Sam December 16, 2013 / 9:21 pm

      I’m glad you found your way here. :) Thank you for your comment. I’ve definitely been turning to glitter more and more lately (it’s so perfect for the holidays!). Do you have any recommendations for a good top coat? I am floundering at the moment to find something that works well.

      • Karel H. December 16, 2013 / 9:45 pm

        A lot of folks use Seche Vite which you can get at Wal-mart but your mileage may vary – some people experience shrinkage (where the polish pulls away from the free edge of the nail) with it. I personally use HK Girl that I order online from Glisten and Glow. Both are super shiny, thick, and quick drying!

Leave a Comment

