Review: bareMinerals Foundation

My skin is a temperamental little sucker.  I break out easily, and when it comes to choosing make up for my face, I have to be pretty choosy. My skin is combination dry/oily, which is a pain to deal with.

p1000251 copyI spent most of my teen years trying different liquid concealers to cover any blemishes, but a few years back my mom got me into using bareMinerals.  I’ve tried other types of concealers, but I really like the lightness and natural look of bareMinerals.  I use the SPF 20 Concealer in the Summer Bisque shade ($18), which is a medium to full coverage concealer.

2-27(2) copy

Anyway.  Last week, after months of watching makeup vlogs, I decided to take on the challenge of foundation.

Previous to this, I had never worn foundation.  I don’t really have a reason why, other then I thought it would be too heavy on my skin, or would look fake.  I don’t know.  But I always wanted the clean, flawless look that foundation gives people, so I thought I would give it a try.

I stopped by Sephora, and I had a beauty consultant match me with a foundation. I told her I was looking for a liquid foundation, because I figured that the powder would look chalky on my dry skin.  So, she applied a oil free, liquid Lorac brand foundation. I was excited to see what it looked like, but when she finished I was unimpressed.  It just looked…dry, and coverage wasn’t anywhere near what I had been expecting.

Luckily, I had my mom with me to help me out.  She once again steered me to the bareMinerals store, and we matched the MATTE Foundation Broad Spectrum with SPF 15 ($27) to my skin. I ended up picking the Light shade, and I took it  home to try it out.

2-27(1) copy

I actually like it a lot! It’s light, and it doesn’t have any nasty chemicals in it. The matte is good for controlling any oily spots on my face.  It comes off easily at night, and even though the package says it lasts 8 hours, it seems to stay put basically all day .  But, most importantly I haven’t noticed any breakouts after wearing it for a couple of days.  Score!

Before I started using the foundation, I had to look up how to put on mineral foundation properly, because I was kind of scared I’d end up looking like a clown, and I had no idea how to use it.  After some furious googling, I discovered not only how to apply mineral foundation, but also that I had been putting on my mineral concealer wrong for the past, oh, four years? That’s embarrassing.

Basically, for all of you that don’t know hot to put mineral powders on your face the first step is moisturizing!  If you don’t moisturize, any piece of dry skin you have is going to be highlighted by the powder, and it’s not going to look good. I have been alternating moisturizers every other day, Clinque Acne Solutions Clearing Moisturizer (review to come) and Cetaphil Restoraderm Skin Restoring Moisturizer, which I have used for a long time, and it’s great for super dry skin.

P1000250 copy

After you are all moisturized, and you’ve let the moisturizer sink in a bit (about ten minutes), you need to shake a little of the mineral foundation/concealer into the cap of the product.  Remember, you don’t need a whole lot.  You can always go back, and get more if you need it.

P1000236 copy

Swirl your brush around in the cap, and pick up the minerals.

P1000240 copy

Then tap your brush on the rim of the cap to remove any excess product back into the cap.  For foundation, apply to your face in swirling motions, working from the middle of your face outwards.  For concealer, gently swirl on whatever you are trying to cover, and make sure to blend.

P1000244 copy

And you’re finished! I am really loving the bareMinerals.  It’s pricey, but for my face, I have always been willing to pay more for a product that I know will limit breakouts.  I would  recommend bareMinerals to anyone who is looking for a more natural foundation/concealer or has troublesome skin like me.

P1000142

For Friday’s post, I’ll be talking about stress, college, and taking on too much at one time.

Do you use liquid or powder foundation? Ever used bareMinerals? What’s your favorite brand of foundation, and what skin type do you have?

*I was not compensated by bareMinerals.  I just really like this product. I paid for it with my own broke college budget. :)
 

21 thoughts on “Review: bareMinerals Foundation

  1. stephinthescreentime February 27, 2013 / 1:45 pm

    Love, love, love Bare Minerals. I used to have terrible acne but using this cleared it right up.:) It is pricey but it lasts a long time. Definitely worth it!

    • Samantha February 27, 2013 / 5:05 pm

      I agree! I love how light and ungreasy it is. Whenever I use liquid concealers now, I feel like I am slathering chemicals on my face. You’re right, it’s expensive, but a little bit of it goes a long way.

  2. LifeOfKSong February 27, 2013 / 8:15 pm

    BareMineral is my go to everyday makeup! I love it :)

    • Samantha February 27, 2013 / 8:59 pm

      It is pretty awesome stuff! I love that it’s so natural looking.

  3. sephwhorea February 27, 2013 / 11:09 pm

    Having just bought Bare Minerals two days ago, I really like it. I’ve always been a liquid foundation kind of gal but the powder has been totes amaze! The only thing I don’t like is the “Swirl and tap” method. Just ends up with me getting powder everywhere.

    Guh, I love the concealer so much. It does an amazing job with my little red bumps.

    • Samantha February 28, 2013 / 2:48 am

      I agree. It is such a good product. The thing that I find interesting about the “swirl and tap” method is that it seems to really be more effective when applying the product to my face for some reason. Up to this point, I had always picked up the minerals by dabbing my brush straight into the container, and then I would tap it on my face (kind of like painting). However, with the swirl and tap it seems, at least to me, that I am using less product and getting more coverage. :)

  4. freshmanstart February 28, 2013 / 9:36 pm

    I’ve wanted to use Bare Minerals for a long time, but I can never seem to justify the price. I may just try it now, though! I have the same dry/oily skin you’re talking about and it can be so frustrating! Most of the time I just dab on some liquid concealer and leave my face alone.
    Where did you purchase yours? I know you can usually find it on Amazon, but I’m worried about matching skin tones.

    • Samantha February 28, 2013 / 10:16 pm

      I bought mine at the bareMinerals store at a mall close by, but they also sell it at Sephora. They also have this helpful store finder on their website: http://www.bareescentuals.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-BareEscentuals-Site/default/Stores-Find which helps because there are a lot of local health/natural beauty places that sell bareMinerals.

      I would definitely go to a store to try it out before buying because a lot of their shades are meant for different skin tones (for example, mine is meant for a more yellow toned skin).

      Just make sure you aren’t paying more then $18 for the concealer or $27 for the foundation because that’s how much it retails in the actual bareMinerals store. Like, I said – I think it’s a worthwhile product for the money. If you end up trying it, let me know how you like it!

  5. wallflowerjcj March 2, 2013 / 11:05 am

    I’ve always wanted to try bareMinerals! Like you, I have dry/oily combination skin and I’ve been using MAC for foundation and it goes on very naturally….but sometimes it just doesn’t feel right. I’ll stop by Sephora and try on bareMinerals. Thank you for the review. (:
    I’m not sure if you can get Oilatum in the US but it’s cheap and such a great moisturizer. I only use it at night though, it’s too oily for day time over here (humidity is insane!)

    • Samantha March 2, 2013 / 2:55 pm

      You’re welcome. :) The only thing that worries me about MAC is that I heard it breaks a lot of people out. I would definitely give bareMinerals a try if you have the dry/oily thing going on. The Matte version (which I am using) is great because the oil never comes through, and your face always looks fresh. Let me know how you like it.

  6. littlebtomato March 3, 2013 / 2:47 pm

    You look beautiful Samantha and I’m a Bare Minerals fan too. It’s almost all I wear. :)

  7. lmom921 March 5, 2013 / 5:11 am

    Love your review. It’s one product I definitely think is worth the money. The great thing about it is that it takes such a small amount, it lasts for a really long time!

  8. iMax March 30, 2013 / 10:27 pm

    thanks for this review, I’ve been thinking about trying bareMinerals fora while now (and hesitating because of the price tag!) but you’ve convinced me :)

    • Sam March 31, 2013 / 8:53 pm

      I’m glad it helped you make a decision. Make sure you let me know how you like it if you do end up giving it a try.

  9. sammileungg April 20, 2013 / 5:34 pm

    Hey, you commented on my post a while back recommending this foundation and I just wanted to let you know that I’ve finally tried it, and I love it! It looks and feels so natural. Thanks for the recommendation! :) :)

    • Sam April 20, 2013 / 7:58 pm

      Yay! I’m glad you ended up liking it! :)

Leave a Comment

