Dropping My First College Class

Stress is a part of college, but when does college stress become too much stress? Where is the imaginary line that separates the healthy stress from the crazy, panic level, mayday mayday – she’s going down, stress?  I’m not exactly sure.  But I am sure that I catapulted over it about three weeks ago.

collegestress
This semester, under some fit of insanity, I decided I was going to take a 400-level senior seminar (as a junior), a 400-level and 300-level English class, and two 300-level Spanish courses, one of which teaches the history of Spain…in Spanish.  That would be fine on it’s own, but when you add working 10 hours a week, writing a weekly article for the school newspaper, running with the running club, and training for a half marathon – things get interesting.

confused
So, for the past week I could literally feel my blood pressure rising.  I was constantly studying for the Spanish history course and was seeing no progress in the class.  It was literally above my capabilities, but I wasn’t ready to admit it to myself.  I was so stressed out that I couldn’t sleep more then five hours a night, I struggled to force down food (my appetite hits negative twenty under stress), and my running was suffering.  Everything was suffering.

When I was with my friends, all I could think about was school. When I was studying, all I could think about was the growing stack of obligations and how I missed my friends.  The only fun I could find time for was spending a few minutes writing out my blog posts  (when I was awake at 4 a.m).

bookface
But then this week, things got worse.  I had been studying for a quiz in the Spanish history class for two weeks, and when I went to the review session, I literally had no idea what the professor was talking about.  I sat in the class, stared at the whiteboard, and I had some kind of epiphany.

What was I doing?  I was letting stress take over my life and make me miserable, all for some silly class that I can just take another semester when I have more practice in Spanish.  I was exhausted both mentally and physically.

defeat
After class that day, I dropped the course.  As a self-professed perfectionist, it sort of killed me inside even though I knew it was the right decision.  I went back to my room, and I was disappointed with myself for not being able to stick it out, despite my parents and my friends assuring me my decision was more then reasonable.

I threw myself a little pity party for the rest of the night (my roommate/best friend was lucky enough to be out of town), but that night I slept for nine hours.  Nine blissful hours.  The next day, I woke up, and realized one class was not worth my happiness or my health.  I only get to experience life once, and I can’t waste that time being so stressed that I am one step away from a panic attack.

The next day, my appetite was still zero from all the residual stress. But then, I had a sudden desire for a Starbucks Fappuccino, even though the last time I was in Starbucks was in 2010.  Let me tell you, it was the best frappuccino of my life, and while I was drinking it, I realized it was time to buck up and accept the situation.

starbucks
And that ladies and gentleman, is how I dropped my first college class. Sigh.  On a lighter note, I turned in my study abroad application yesterday.

For now, I will be picking up a few extra hours at work, since I will have extra time without that class.  I am still not happy about the situation, but who knows maybe something good will come of it…hopefully…at least I’ll get more sleep and have more time to blog for you wonderful people ;)

Have a great weekend.

Have you ever dropped a class in college? How do you manage stress?  Have you ever taken a language class/can you speak more than one language?

17 thoughts on “Dropping My First College Class

  1. thefroglyprince March 1, 2013 / 10:25 am

    I dropped a few classes in college. Mostly because I was trying to get the most of it and trying some strange classes. It had varying degrees of success. haha

    • Samantha March 1, 2013 / 10:29 am

      I mean, it’s not a bad idea to try about a bunch of classes you are interested in. What was your favorite class? I can see how it could be hard if you have no idea what’s happening i.e. me in Philosophy 100 freshman year. I’ve always wanted to be able to take an art class just for fun, but they always fill up before I can register! Dang art majors.

      • thefroglyprince March 1, 2013 / 10:33 am

        My favorite class was probably a class called What is is to be human/What is the meaning of life? or something like that. It was a laid back philosophy class were you looked at how humanity changed over the years.

        • Samantha March 1, 2013 / 10:37 am

          Interesting! The thing that killed me about philosophy was the over analysis of almost every reading. I just wanted to be like, can we please move on from the same paragraph we’ve been on for a half hour?

          • thefroglyprince March 1, 2013 / 10:40 am

            I was an engineering major, so I would have read the same paragraph 100 times if it meant not dealing with numbers for a few hours. haha

  2. chocolatesasquatch March 1, 2013 / 11:04 am

    I haven’t dropped a class, but I did fail one last semester. I cried. LIKE A BABY.
    I realized that most people fail classes in college and that the biggest thing college teaches you is not the coursework, but how to manage stress and obligations to succeed when you leave the nest (of college). It teaches you how to make decisions and deal with consequences, which is very much what you’ll experience post-graduation. Don’t fret over it. Relax and take care of yourself. I have had plenty sick days from stress and it is no bueno!

    • Samantha March 1, 2013 / 3:41 pm

      Oh man, I would be bawling too if I failed a class! But you are totally right, college is so much more then just class. It really does teach you how to deal with stress and how far you can push yourself. And thanks. I feel so much better now that I have dropped the class, slept, and actually been able to hang out with my friends. :)

  3. mickeysevenn March 1, 2013 / 2:05 pm

    Yes and yes!

    I dropped a class because I was “that” kid that wanted an A out of the class–but it’s not like it seems. It was a bullshit class that SHOULD have been an easy A. Not one that I had anticipated would be taught by Nazis.

    “Yes” for foreign language studies as well. Although, if I’m honest, I always felt way too white and out of place at those classes. I couldn’t roll my r’s for shit. It was awful.

  4. Samantha March 1, 2013 / 3:44 pm

    There is always THAT professor. The one who has made it his/her mission to fail everyone in the class and their reasoning is always “I’m pushing you to be your best.” i.e I’m pushing you to try to reach an unreachable standard, good luck bitches.

    I can understand what you are saying about the foreign language courses because I’ve been there before, but now it’s mostly been non-native speakers. Whenever there are native speakers in a lower skill class, I just wonder why they are wasting their time. I guess, it’s just an easy A.

  5. stephinthescreentime March 3, 2013 / 12:24 am

    Don’t forget to take time out for yourself if you’re stressed. Hang out with your friends, go to the movies, exercise, whatever it is you like to do. Chatting with friends about school helped me a lot. Trust me, I’ve been there.;)

    • Samantha March 3, 2013 / 9:56 am

      I know, it’s always such a struggle though! I am a runner, so I use that as stress relief. :)

  6. ashley March 5, 2013 / 2:19 pm

    Love this post! I dropped an ASL class, as well as a French class, after having similar epiphanies. And you’re right- we only have one life and all that stress isn’t worth it. By the way, love how you “bucked up” at Starbucks.

    • Samantha March 5, 2013 / 2:36 pm

      Thanks. I mean, there is only so much stress one person can take. And anyway all that worrying causes premature wrinkling. ;)

  7. eharris29 March 6, 2013 / 8:21 am

    I’ve never dropped a class, but I do love the fact that your study abroad app is officially in!!!! WOOO

  8. subtle dancer March 11, 2013 / 5:49 pm

    I dropped a class a few years back and it was such a relief! It’s great that you recognized your stress level and took care of yourself. A lot of people, myself included, are perfectionists and take it as a personal failure if we can’t “do it all.” It’s important to recognize our limitations and remember the purpose of life is to live, love and be happy. My best advice for managing stress is to be kind to yourself – take a break when you need one, eat good food, make time for socializing, rest. Good luck!

    • Samantha March 11, 2013 / 6:12 pm

      I totally agree. It was so hard for me to drop that dang class, but I feel so much happier now that I have some breathing room. Eating, sleeping, and having a reasonable time frame to complete work has been very nice. :) I have spring break too, and I am looking forward to a week of no class and work (but unfortunately I will be bringing some school work home with me). Thanks for your comment. It’s always nice to hear from a fellow perfectionist. ;)

Leave a Comment

