Spring, Glamour, Movies, and Lipgloss

Spring weather has stopped by for a visit here in Maryland.  Yesterday, it was a 60 degrees, a warm welcome after a few weeks of it being low 30’s, windy, and rainy.  There were so many people out walking, playing baseball, and riding bikes in town during my run (7 miles).  Afterwards, I spent a good part of the afternoon outside studying and soaking up some rays on the terrace on campus.

meonthequad

However, it seems that the rest of my peers weren’t nearly as enthused by the springtime weather because there wasn’t a soul outside on campus. Dang college kids, don’t they know about vitamin D deficiency?

quad
This weekend was a busy one with school, friends, and vlogging.  On Thursday night, I went to the midnight premiere of the new Oz movie.  It was alright but sort of a letdown.  I wouldn’t recommend it, to be honest.  Luckily, my college sells discount movie tickets, so I only  paid $5 for my ticket and the bus there (gotta love those college discounts).

On Saturday night, my roommate, Becky and I hit up the free Saturday movie on campus.  My college has some deal where they get recently out of theater movies, and then they have free showings on the weekends. This week’s movie: Les Misérables.

lesmis

It was my third time seeing it.  Don’t judge me.  I’m obsessed.  I’ve been belting out I Dreamed a Dream and One Day More in my car since December.

I also picked up the new issue of Glamour.  Kate Hudson is on the cover, and jeez, it’s a pretty racy photo!

glamour

I was flipping through, and I am so excited to see that jean jackets are coming back into fashion! I have two jean jackets from the past that I am so ready to break out for springtime.  Personally, I have always thought they are great staple pieces because they can easily break up a really busy print, make a more formal look instantly casual, or cool down a bright color.

jeanjacketThe past few days, I’ve been wearing my NYC Up To 8 Hour City Lip Gloss in Midnight Rose ($3.27 at Walmart).  I forgot I even had it until I organized all my makeup the other day.

lipgloss

Up to this point, I had forgotten how awesome lip gloss can be. It’s just the right amount of shine.  It’s no commitment, not too bold, just go with the flow.

What I love about this NYC gloss is the fact that it doesn’t dry out my lips.  Kokrum butter is a key ingredient, which actually helps moisturize and that is always a plus in my book.  It is also pretty long-lasting for a lip gloss. I wouldn’t say that it lasts anywhere near eight hours like it claims to, but it does last a few hours, which is better then a lot of lip glosses out there.

P1000992

It‘s very easy to apply, but it does have a bit of a sticky texture once it’s on, but it doesn’t bother me much.  If anything, you can tell when you need to reapply based on how it feels on your lips.

Alright guys, I’ve got lots of work to do.  Spring break starts on Friday, so I am just trying to get through all my school work before I can head home and take a much needed break!

How is the weather where you’re at?  Do you go to the movies often?  Do you wear lip gloss?  Any brands you would recommend?

15 thoughts on “Spring, Glamour, Movies, and Lipgloss

  1. MaryAnn Burgamy Kelly Cole March 11, 2013 / 12:07 pm

    Great job again Sami! Love your message! Enjoy your Spring break and get some much needed R&R!!

  2. icedwavez March 11, 2013 / 1:33 pm

    I felt the same way with Oz, thou I picked it apart since I was pretty bored. And I skipped a week of movies, so I’m behind and have to see Jack the Gian Slayer. My bf and I when we started dating, made Sundays our day and our movie day. It’s our thing and it’s pretty nice. Now that it’s getting to the summer blockbuster releases we’ll be doubling up our movie!
    And I loved the 60degree weather, I’m in VA so it was nice. It was nice to hear the frogs going crazy at night, it’s kind of soothing.

    • Samantha March 11, 2013 / 6:18 pm

      What summer movies are you looking forward to the most? I am looking forward to the City of Bones movie and Iron Man 3 (and Hunger Games in the fall). Here in Maryland, there are birds chirping all over the place instead of frogs, but it’s still weird. Spring is coming!

      • icedwavez March 12, 2013 / 3:10 pm

        My big ones are Iron Man 3, Pacific Rim and since Oz was a technical start to the big movies, I’m going with the April release of Evil Dead. I’ve seen some of the SXSW reviews and they were amazing so I’m even more hype. Great Gatsby too, I know the music is going to be fantastic. And Hunger Games too (the books were fantastic).

  3. stephinthescreentime March 11, 2013 / 5:44 pm

    Love your vlogs! I don’t drink either. It’s been very rainy here lately and it was so cold today. By Fri it’s supposed to be in the mid 60s. I hear the same thing from people who saw Oz-that it wasn’t very good. I’m going to see it next week. Hopefully, I won’t be disappointed!:)

    • Samantha March 11, 2013 / 6:21 pm

      Thank you! The vlogs are so much fun to make, but a lot of work to edit! If you are okay with more kid-friendly movies then Oz isn’t that bad. It’s a very pretty movie. I’d see it in 3D if you can. It really gives it a nice edge.

      • Steph Grzybowski March 11, 2013 / 6:49 pm

        Hahahaha!! F’in indigo! :) I love these! So proud of you!

      • stephinthescreentime March 14, 2013 / 8:12 am

        They look like a lot of hard work. I’m ok with some kid-friendly movies. I am looking foward to seeing it.

  4. liagoesvintage March 11, 2013 / 6:31 pm

    Funny video! I really enjoyed it! :)
    PS. I like your peter pan collar top.

  5. sayanisa28 March 13, 2013 / 7:41 am

    love this! I am thinking about Vlogging too, what software do you use to do it? I was thinking about just using my Iphone and uploading it lol but I have not even a clue as to how to go about doing it

    • Samantha March 13, 2013 / 9:25 am

      I am lucky that my college has a bunch of Macs in the library which have Final Cut Express, but that is pretty complicated program. Windows Movie Maker and iMovie are two free programs made for Windows and Mac respectively. I have a PC, and I probably would use Movie Maker, but I don’t think my laptop can handle rendering.

      If you are interested in video blogging, just go for it! You don’t really even have to edit your videos. Just start off talking to the camera and see how it goes. (I used my Nokia Lumia 920 for my first video, but I have since bought a new digital camera that I have been using).

Leave a Comment

