Review: Clinique Acne Solution Moisturizer

Today I have an interview at a marketing firm for a summer internship. Eek!  I’d say that I would let you know how it goes, but I listed my blog on my resume. It might be a little awkward if I start going on about how good/bad the interview went and have the interviewer read this and think what a smug little brat I am/little confidence I have.

Anyway! Today is all about Clinique’s Acne Solutions Clearing Moisturizer Oil-Free. I bought it at Sephora, two and a half weeks ago, and it cost $19.50 for 1.7oz/50mL.  I looked up reviews before buying, and it has an 89 percent approval out of 264 reviewer on Clinque’s website.  So, obviously a lot of people like it.  That sounded good to me, so I bought it.

bottleandbox

This moisturizer is part of Clinique’s 3 Step Acne Solutions Clear Skin System. I am not doing the system, but according to Clinique this moisturizer is supposed to treat acne and prevent breakouts. Perfect.

indgredients

I talked a little about my skin in my review of bareMinerals Foundation, but as a recap I have combination dry/oily skin.  I am prone to blemishes, so I always keep my eye out for oil free formulas in face products.  Before I started using the Clinique moisturizer, I had been using Cetaphil’s Restoraderm Skin Restoring Moisturizer for about a year.

bottle

But I was ready for a change, so I was excited to try out a new product.  My first impression of the Clinique, was that it’s sort of an odd consistency for a moisturizer.  It’s kind of runny, almost like benzoyl peroxide (very popular cream for blemishes) that’s been watered down.  It is non-fragrance, but it does have a bit of a nice natural scent. Due to the consistency, a little goes a long way, so I can see the tube lasting a pretty long time.

The formula is very light, and non greasy.

beforehandafterhand

When I first used the moisturizer, I noticed my skin was sort of tight from it. After a few days of use (applying every morning), my skin got really dry and flaky. I had to bump down to using it only once a day, every other day like Clinique recommends if your skin gets too dry from the product. However, because I like wearing mineral foundation, dryness is equivalent with a flaky disaster because mineral foundation highlights every patch of dry skin on your face,

I had to start mixing the Clinique with my Cetaphil moisturizer, to give my face enough moisture to apply foundation. But, I wasn’t ready to give up on the Clinique just yet. I tried slowly cutting back on the amount of Cetaphil and increasing the amount of Clinique, but my skin wasn’t having it.The Clinique was simply too drying.

box

It sort of sucks, that it ended up drying out my skin. On closer review, I’ve noticed that a lot of the reviews on the Clinique website mention having to put on another moisturizer on top of the Clinique moisturizer because it is so drying.

I did notice a difference in number of new blemishes I was getting, but I feel like that has more to do with me having started using Liz Earle’s Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser.

If you are have just a little bit of dryness and are oily prone then this is probably a good moisturizer for you because it is light, it smells nice, and it has blemish fighting ingredients. However, if your skin is as dry as mine, I would say this probably isn’t the best choice of moisturizers for you.

Rating: 7/10

What’s your favorite brand of moisturizer?  Do you have dry skin?  Do you moisturize everyday?  

9 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Acne Solution Moisturizer

  1. icedwavez March 13, 2013 / 10:57 am

    I think we have the same problem with our skin. Try The Body Shop Vitamin E moisturizer. I use the over nigt one but during the day, since it’s a bit thicker. And I put it on right after I shower, since the pores are open and it seeps in better. And if you don’t like it your can return it easily, and all their items are all natural.

    • Samantha March 14, 2013 / 3:50 am

      Thanks for the recommendation, icedwavez (what is your actual first name?) I will definitely look into it. Good idea about the shower, I never thought about moisturizer in that sense.

      • icedwavez March 14, 2013 / 5:05 pm

        My name is Jenn. Give it a try, a good alternative is ponds moisturizer. It’s a bit cheaper but I use to use to use it a lot.

        • Samantha March 14, 2013 / 9:17 pm

          Hi Jenn. I’ll keep a lookout for it. I know that Ponds moisturizer is also a favorite of Zoella (if you don’t know, she’s an awesome beauty blogger/vlogger). Thanks for the advice.

  2. Olga K'ay - water.color.silk March 14, 2013 / 3:43 am

    It does strike me as odd that a moisturizer would dry your skin! They do say it’s oli-control and light hydration though, so maybe just not suitable for dry skin. Hey, maybe try using it only on the areas that tend to get oily?

    • Samantha March 14, 2013 / 3:55 am

      Yeah, that is a good idea about sort of using it for certain areas. I guess it kind of depends whether I pick up a new moisturizer next week when I am on spring break. We’ll see. I really just wanted to bring up the drying effects because I sort of wanted anyone considering purchasing this moisturizer to know. Personally, I always just thought it was a given that a moisturizer would primarily be focused on moisturizing. Wrong assumption. LOL. :P

      • Olga K'ay - water.color.silk March 14, 2013 / 4:06 am

        Oh, I keep forgetting you guys in US can just return skin care and make-up products that’s not working right for you! Here in Europe, you bought it – you keep it ;) Unless it gives you a bad rash or something LOL

        Hell yeah, moisturizer should moisturize! :D Specially considering it’s the last step product and the other two would likely dry your skin.

  3. MenakaSach March 14, 2013 / 3:46 pm

    Hey Samantha! I absolutely love CLINIQUE! Currently, I use the Clinique 3-Step system which includes the cleanser, toner and moisturizer and it works wonders. My skin feels more soft, shiny and hydrated! P.S: Thanks for the review!

Leave a Comment

