Ordering from e.l.f.

Last week, I did some ordering from e.l.f. (Eyes Lips Face).  If you don’t know what e.l.f. is, it’s a makeup website that sells super cheap beauty products ($1 eyeliners, $3 blushes, things like that).  It’s really nice when you just want to experiment with some new products or you can’t afford to break the bank just to buy some new lipstick.

motto

I really needed some new makeup brushes because up to this point I had four brushes (a concealer, eyeliner, foundation, and blush brush).  However, I wasn’t really all that interested in spending $20 for one brush at Sephora.   While I understand the quality of the expensive brushes are a lot better, I was willing to sacrifice quality for quantity in this instance.

brushboxI ordered the e.l.f. 11 piece brush collection for $30. It came in a nice little carrying case which individual compartments for each brush.The brushes themselves are nice. The bristles are soft, and I would say the quality is actually quite high. These are nice brushes for such a cheap price.

brushesIncluded in the set there is a blush brush, contour brush, concealer brush, eyeshadow “c” brush, complexion brush, angled foundation brush, powder brush, fan brush, small precision brush, small smudge brush, and a small angled brush.

Considering I only had four brushes before, it’s sort of overwhelming now that I have all of these new brushes. I am still trying to figure out what they are all good for.  It’s definitely exciting though!

stencilkit

I also ordered this handy e.l.f Essentials Eyebrow Stencil Kit for a low low price of $1. I have always had trouble shaping my eyebrows, so this has definitely been a cool addition to my makeup kit.

I suppose you could use them as a guide when you pluck your brows, but I have been using them to help shape my eyebrows when I fill them in. I use powder to fill in my brows so this is a nice addition.

browpattern2

There are four stencils which are made of a flexible plasticy material and are reusable. You get one stencil for each of the four brow types which are full arch, curved arch, structured arch, and soft arch. I’ve been using the structured arch stencil the most.

eyeshadowpkg

Now, of course with e.l.f. they are always running some promotion when you order through them. When I ordered, they were running a buy $30 worth of products get ten e.l.f. Mineral Eyeshadows for free. I picked out my ten, but when I got the package they had only included two of them. Sigh.

The two I received were Flirty (left) and Smoldering (right). They are actually nice  eyeshadows to get for free ($3 normally). They are all natural, which was a nice surprise, and as you can see they are pretty pigmented. I haven’t tried them yet, but I will let you know what I think about them once I get the remaining eight shades.

swatches

The thing about e.l.f. is that even though the products were super cheap, they really did screw up my order. I ordered 14 products from e.l.f., and only four of the products they included in my package were correct.They also included got three other random products: a blush, lip gloss, and an eyeshadow stick.

I emailed e.l.f. about the mess and they said they would be sending the products that weren’t included in my order. I mean, to be honest, I wasn’t too annoyed by it. Like I said, I did get three products that I didn’t pay for, they said they would be sending the right products soon, and everything was super cheap after all.

Hopefully, I get all the right products in the next shipment! Although after this mess, I’m not quite sure how excited I would be about ordering from e.l.f. in the future.

Have you ever ordered from e.l.f.?  What was your experience? What’s your favorite makeup brush? Do you use brow stencils/fill in your brows regularly? 

P.S. – Last week I picked up a few extra hours at work so that I could order my very first Naked Eyeshadow Palette! I’m so excited – hopefully it gets here soon!

12 thoughts on “Ordering from e.l.f.

  1. subtle dancer March 17, 2013 / 12:47 pm

    Those eyeshadows look nice! I want to see what other colors you got (but didn’t get…boo). I’ve been skeptical of e.l.f. since it is so cheap, but I want to try the eyeshadows out now

    • Samantha March 17, 2013 / 5:53 pm

      The way I see it, I can afford to experiment with their stuff because it’s so cheap. I mean, how upset can you get over a $1 eyeliner? Yeah, the mineral shadows seem nice. I haven’t worn them yet, but I’ll keep you posted.

  2. Vikki Sorensen March 17, 2013 / 1:36 pm

    I’m a total believer in Elf! One thing, I do prefer the Studio brand brushes to their Essential brand. The Essential brand brushes tend to shed and the tips often detach from the handle. The different in cost is $1.00 for Essential brushes to $3.00 to Studio so the Studio brushes are very, VERY affordable.

    • Samantha March 17, 2013 / 5:55 pm

      Yes, the ones I got are the Studio brand. They seem rather nice so far, so here’s hoping they stay nice for a long while! :)

  3. Jenn March 17, 2013 / 5:49 pm

    I haven’t ordered from them but I might have to give them a look especially when I’m running low on fund and want some new makeup. That stinks what happened but I hope they do get you straight. I need to start filling in my brows as well, the older I get the lighter my brows get, which is wear, it’s like they are fading, so I’m going to look into those stencils. As for brushes, I don’t really care for them, thou I know I need to get one to use for a contour for my lids. But I really like using sponge tip applicators, I feel like I can get more color on it.

    • Samantha March 17, 2013 / 5:58 pm

      Yeah, I wasn’t too happy about it, but oh well. It’s not like I spent a lot of money like I would at Sephora or something. Yeah, I have been filling in my brows for a couple months ever since I started using powder. The powder looks so much more natural to me, and it is a lot longer lasting. If you haven’t already, you should give it a try if you fill in your brows a lot. It’s definitely not as intimidating as it seems.

      • Jenn March 17, 2013 / 6:07 pm

        I really need to. I get paid this week so I think I’m going to get the small Naked Pallet and use those for my brows. I’m so fair skinned that I think it’ll work the best rather then a pencil.

        • Samantha March 17, 2013 / 6:19 pm

          It takes a bit of experimenting, but once you find the perfect shade, you’re golden. Make sure that you run your fingers or a clean brush over your eyebrows after you’ve applied the powder. That’ll keep any stray particles from falling out.

          • Jenn March 17, 2013 / 8:34 pm

            Thanks I’m going to try it this week!

  4. notquitecarrieb March 19, 2013 / 6:53 pm

    E.l.f has some really nice products and some that are…not so nice. But when you don’t spend more than 3 or 5 dollars not too bad. They have a blush/bronze duo that’s similar to nars orgasm and Laguna. You can also find them at select targets which is nice…get to see things up close. The bent gel liner brush is, by far, my favorite that I own.

    • Samantha March 19, 2013 / 9:45 pm

      They sell e.l.f. at the dollar store too! It was pretty weird seeing it there. I just like them for their cheapness factor. You can afford to buy something for $2 because if you don’t like it no big loss. You know? I’ll have to check out the blush/bronze duo especially if you are comparing it to Nars.

Leave a Comment

