Review: Nail Polishes From Target

Target is a dangerous place for me.  We’ve talked about my nail polish addiction. Give me $10 and the Target beauty section, and you know I am picking up some new nail colors.

As a quick recap, I am terrible at waiting for nail polish to dry.  It seriously is impossible for me to sit still for longer than two minutes.  I also like cheap polishes, and I really won’t pay more than $5 for a nail polish. I just can’t understand the benefits of paying more when there are a lot of good cheap polishes out there.

maybellinefront

maybellinetop

First up, was Maybelline’s Color Show nail polish, which I got on sale for $2.99 in both Tenacious Teal (330) and Pink Shock (220).

The pink is super neon pink, the perfect shade for summer time.  The teal I bought as replacement for an old teal from Sally Hansen that has since dried up.

Pros:
• I love the shades of both of these. :)
Cons:
• For the Teal, the polish was really thin.  It took me three coats to match the shade in the bottle.  The Pink was a little better, it only took two coats.
• Thin coats took a long time to dry.

Rating: 7/10
Would I buy again?: No.  I’m too impatient to wait for a super thin coat of nail polish to dry for five plus minutes especially when you multiply that times three.  I ended up screwing up the both the pink and the teal because I’m such a clutz.


nyc

Next up is NYC In a New York Color Minute Quick Dry Nail Polish in Fashion Safari (201) which I picked up for $.99.  Yeah.  99 cents.  There was no way I wasn’t trying this.

This is my first nude nail polish. I know. Where have I been?  Anyway.  I can say I am a nude lover now.  That sounded awkward.  Do you know if you google “nude nail polish” it will filter out nude as part of of Google’s “safe search”?  Yup, still awkward.

nude

Pros:
• Cheap! Cheap! Cheap! You can’t go wrong with $.99!
• Dried quickly.
Cons:
• It chipped really easily, like as in the same day I painted my nails.
• It took three coats for good coverage.

Rating: 7/10
Would I buy again?: Maybe.  If there was a shade from this collection I really liked, I would definitely buy it again.  You could always use a lot of top coat to preserve the polish for longer if needed.


sallyhansenfront

hansentop

The last polish I picked up was, Sally Hansen’s Insta-Dri in Blue Away for $3.59. If you know me, you know that there is a special place for Sally Hansen Insta-Dri in my heart. It’s cheap, long lasting, and quick dry.  If this nail polish was a man, it would be George Clooney.  No, that was weird.  Dang. I am awkward this morning.

Pros:
• Decent price. I wouldn’t consider $3.59 a big investment.
• You only need to use two coats max.
• Dried quickly.
Cons:
• It doesn’t last forever.  Chipping will occur after two or three days.

Rating: 9.5/10 (Surprise, surprise)
Would I buy again?: YES. This collection is definitely a keeper.  This will be the ninth shade I have from this collection.


index

Have you picked up any new nail polishes?  Do you tend to invest in more expensive polish brands or do you stay with the cheaper brands?  Any big weekend plans?

12 thoughts on “Review: Nail Polishes From Target

  1. subtle dancer March 22, 2013 / 9:47 am

    I also really don’t understand investing in expensive nail polishes. Like you, I won’t pay more than $5. I’ve never tried expensive nail polishes (so I guess I don’t know what I’m missing out on) but the big thing for me is how long the nail polish lasts, and I can’t see any nail polishes lasting longer than my Revlon polishes do. Most recently I picked up Teak Rose and I painted my nails with it over a week ago and it’s still perfectly on my nails with barely any chipping. I cheated yesterday and clipped my nails to get rid of the few chips at the tips and now it looks like I just freshly painted my nails. I’m pretty sure these polishes are $3.99 at Target.

    As for weekend plans, I’m going to the lake house with my boyfriend. We don’t live in the same place right now, so I’m pretty excited for this mini-vacation. Hope you have a great weekend/are having a wonderful spring break! (and not too many 200-page reading assignments…)

    • Samantha March 22, 2013 / 10:27 am

      I’ve never tried Revlon, but I’ll definitely keep an eye out for it next time I am in the store. I am always looking for something long lasting. I don’t think it’s cheating to clip your nails to get rid of chips! (I do it all the time). ;)

      Have fun on your mini-vacation! That’ll be a good break since you’ve been so stressed lately! I have been doing quite a bit of work over spring break, but I don’t mind it much. At least right now, stuff isn’t piling up, it’s just a matter of taking things off the pile. lol. Have a good trip!

  2. fortheloveofgloss March 22, 2013 / 10:04 am

    I tend to stay away from cheap polishes because of the cons you’ve mentioned: slow drying, easy chipping, needing to use three coats to get the desired color, etc. I honestly find OPI to be the absolute best quality polish, and the colors are so great. I’ve used Chanel polish and found it chipped very easily, although the color is lovely. Sally Hansen is a great drugstore brand. I’d say pay the extra couple of dollars for some decent OPI polishes, you won’t have to waste time waiting for 3 coats of polish to dry!

    • Samantha March 22, 2013 / 10:33 am

      My mom swears by OPI’s Nail Envy, which is a nail strengthener. Would you say that with the OPI you are using less coats and it lasts longer? I’m not surprised by the Chanel being not the best. I haven’t heard great things about their cosmetics. I’m actually planning on doing a bit of experimenting with some of the more expensive brands vs. my beloved Sally Hansen. It’ll take a bit of time to do an accurate experiment, but I’ll probably be posting about it two or so weeks. Thanks for your advice. :)

      • fortheloveofgloss March 22, 2013 / 11:34 am

        I would say that I use less polish and its longer lasting with OPI. I’m interested to see what you find with your experiment – I’ll be watching for your results!

  3. themakeuphound March 22, 2013 / 10:45 am

    Ohhhh I wish the UK had a target! Those colours are INSANE. Love your idea of the little colour chart too, and a video! You are spoiling us. :) Subbed for more nail news! x

    • Samantha March 23, 2013 / 9:03 am

      Oh no! How do you guys live without Target? (I’m trying to imagine a Targetless world right now, and I just can’t even go there.) ;)

  4. Jenn March 22, 2013 / 1:21 pm

    Honestly if I like the polish I will buy it if it’s under $20. Sad I know. I bought one of those Color Show ones in Sapphire and it was like a blue ink pen exploded on my hand. I actually wrote into the company and they had me call them and they sent me a $5 coupon for any of their product. So if your unhappy drop them an email. And Target is addicting. When I’m bored I go there, well any mood I go there, its like 5 minutes away from me. I’m going Saturday lol.

    And tonight I’m going to sephora so I’m pretty sure I’m goign to be dropping some money since I got paid today and had a little extra.

    • Samantha March 23, 2013 / 9:08 am

      Yeah, most of the time if you write a company they’ll send you a nice little coupon in return. I remember writing Wrigley in high school about their new gum being terrible, and they sent me back like $10 of coupons. Win.

      Target is addicting. In fact, I really don’t like to go in there if I don’t have to. I literally have to turn the other way when passing the clothes section otherwise I’ll be there for like an hour and end up spending way too much! I hope you get lots of goodies at Sephora. That’s another place I don’t like to go into unless I have to ($50 does not give you much to buy in that store)! ;)

      • Jenn March 23, 2013 / 7:55 pm

        This is true. I ended up getting a fat bonus from work so I splurged!!

  5. anadventurersdream March 23, 2013 / 1:55 am

    I will say, I definitely love those Insta-Dry nail polishes out there. I am impatient, too, and I really hate having to wait for my polish to dry – I usually end up ruining it in some way.

    I do like that blue color! Very pretty.

    I will have to say, it was funny to see this post right now because I just finished doing my own nails. It sounds like it is a nail polish kind of weekend! :)

Leave a Comment

