ULTA Haul

During spring break last week, I did a bit of ordering from ULTA.  To be honest, up until that point I didn’t even know ULTA existed until a sales flyer came with the Sunday paper.  I saw they had some competitive prices compared to Sephora, especially in terms of their store brand, so I’d thought I’d try them out.

I had been wanting to order the Naked 1 Palette from Urban Decay, but I saw that ULTA had a coupon and a free sample when you ordered through them.  I couldn’t help but add a few extra items to my cart.

haul

openpalette

First up is obviously the fabulous Urban Decay Naked 1 Palette ($50), which I posted a bit about yesterday.  I used it yesterday for the first time, and as ridiculous at it sounds I was a little nervous about breaking in a new palette.  This is the first real palette I’ve had, and it has a great reputation. It’s silly, but this palette is some serious makeup business.

I will say that it is definitely as fabulous as everyone says.  The pigmentation is very high.  It also came with a free bottle of sample eye primer, which I haven’t tried yet. 

blush

I also ordered some bareMinerals blush in Vintage Peach ($19).  As some of you may know, I am a big fan of the bareMinerals brand, so I am definitely excited to try out this blush. I’ll be doing a review of it in the upcoming weeks.

For the past few weeks or so, I have been using CoverGirl Cheekers blush, but it wasn’t until recently that I realized I’ve been breaking out right along the area where I had been applying it. I’m pretty sure this is just unique to my skin because a lot of people use this blush and love it.

mascaramascarawand

Next up is Essence Get BIG! Lashes Waterproof Mascara (on sale for $2.99).  I’ve never used waterproof mascara before, so we’ll see how this goes.  I haven’t used this yet, but my first impression was DANG! This is a big freaking brush.  I have small hands, but this brush is huge!  It is going to be interesting to use. I’ll let you know the final verdict.

nailpolishAnd of course, it wouldn’t quite be a real Sam blog post without some nail polish.  I picked up both of these ULTA Salon Formula Nail Lacquers ($1.99 each) in a Base Coat and Sun of a Gun.  I’ve used the base coat, and it’s quick dry and so far it has seemed to be a good base coat.

I bought the orange for summer because what is summer without some nice bright nail shades? I am getting a little antsy for the warmer months, especially because it’s still in the lower 40’s here in Maryland.

beautybalmThe order also came with a free sample of Urban Decay Beauty Balm.  I did a quick swatch, and it matches, but oh my god, this product is very scented.  I really have a phobia about highly scented face products, so I definitely won’t be using this.  It has a very odd chemically smell.

I also got two fragrance samples from Juicy Couture and Dolce & Gabanna.  I haven’t used perfume much. I have always been a body spray and scented body lotions girl, so we’ll see how I like using perfume.

What products did you pick up this weekend? Have you ever shopped at ULTA? Do you use perfume or have any good recommendations?

21 thoughts on “ULTA Haul

  1. Rubymanuela March 24, 2013 / 10:05 am

    I have the UD naked palette and I love it so much! I use it almost every day. And the Essence mascara worka really well, I used it last summer and my lashes were fabulous haha :D

  2. bohocadence March 24, 2013 / 11:43 am

    I have never shopped at ULTA, but hey, thank you for the article, now i know about it, and i hope i`ll be able to shop there. Looks like you`ve got a nice purchase :) Someday i hope i will get my UD Naked palette, everybody is just crazy about that palette! xx

  3. subtle dancer March 24, 2013 / 12:44 pm

    Yaaay I’m glad you got your palette! I’ll be getting mine next weekend and I’m pretty excited to start experimenting… I’m sure I’ll use it every day. That bare minerals blush looks nice, love that color. Looking forward to some FOTDs :)

    • Sam March 24, 2013 / 6:21 pm

      You’re getting one too? Yay! That’s so exciting! How was the lake house adventure with the BF?

      • subtle dancer March 24, 2013 / 7:40 pm

        Yep, it was a birthday present request, so I’ve had to be patient. The weekend was just perfect, lots of relaxing, cooking, crafting, reading, & lounging. Thanks for asking :) How was your weekend/spring break?

        • Sam March 25, 2013 / 2:24 pm

          Spring break was good, lots of studying, but it got even better because we had no classes today because of snow. Yay for an extra long spring break!

  4. Olga K'ay - water.color.silk March 24, 2013 / 3:35 pm

    I have MUA Undressed palette, it’s NAKED dupe and I love it :) I hear you on breaking in new makeup products. I used to be like that too! Now I just stick my fingers into everything before I have time to consider holding off LOL

    I have one of Essence mascaras (I love extreme volume) and it’s really nice! Mine’s not waterproof though. I’d rather have mascaras that smudges than the one that’s pain the ass to take off. Really not a fan of a lot of face and eyes rubbing ;)

    Sucks about strong chemical smell on Urban Decay’s BB! It would put me off too!

    Big fan of perfumes here. I’m very picky with what I want to wear, but once I find a new scent I love, it becomes permanent in my collection.

    • Sam March 24, 2013 / 6:25 pm

      LOL. It was a very intense moment when I used the first shade. :P

      I used the Essence mascara this afternoon, and it is really nice at getting all the lashes, and it’s not clumpy at all. I got the waterproof so that when I have to workout at night, my mascara isn’t running down my face. lol.

      I haven’t used the perfumes yet, but I guess I’ll see what I think. Perfume is quite the investment, so I guess I’ll have to be crazy about a scent before I buy it.

  5. The Duchess March 25, 2013 / 1:36 pm

    I’ve wanted to try vintage peach for a very long time, and so I look forward to that review!

  6. Silvia Flores March 26, 2013 / 11:03 pm

    Im so jelly! ><

    Anyways- I bought an essence mascara a while ago and I could NOT get over the smell- so I gave it to my sister.. It smelled like chemicals, very bitter.. Don't know if it was just that one bottle but let me know how you liked the one you bought :)

    • Sam March 27, 2013 / 5:37 pm

      I actually like the Essence a lot. Mine doesn’t have a bitter smell, but I can understand why you didn’t like having a chemically smelling product. Doesn’t exactly seem like the healthiest thing to be putting so close to your eye. lol.

  7. Jen March 27, 2013 / 5:01 pm

    Unfortunately, we don’t have an Ulta here in Hawaii. They do ship here, but “free shipping on a $50 purchase” doesn’t apply. I’ve ordered from them once, because they had a Benefit blush set that neither Macy’s nor Sephora had, and it was limited edition, and I had to have it. :P

    Although I’m not really attracted to Juicy Couture as a brand, I like their original perfume. I had the same sample. I like sample sized perfumes! It’s a great way to try a new scent for a few days before you decide you’ve found a new favorite. :)

    • Sam March 27, 2013 / 5:34 pm

      I mean, I think I would trade Ulta in a heartbeat for having a big beautiful ocean so close by ;) I’ve never actually been in an ULTA store, but I hear that the beauty consultants are nowhere near as nice as they are in Sephora. I haven’t tried the Juicy Couture perfume yet. I’m not usually huge into scents (I haven’t really found anything I’m totally wowed by), so maybe I’ll save it for a special occasion.

  8. thinacruz April 4, 2013 / 10:25 am

    I wish Ulta would ship to Asia! It pains me every time I visit online because I can’t even do anything! I’m definitely going to hoard when I go to the States in August!

    • Sam April 4, 2013 / 10:51 am

      They don’t ship to Asia? That’s weird. Where are you planning to visit when you are in the US?

      • thinacruz April 4, 2013 / 10:53 am

        Yeah, they don’t ship internationally. :( I’m going to Washington and New York. I hope to find an Ulta store there. :)

        • Sam April 4, 2013 / 10:54 am

          That’s exciting! Have fun. I’m sure you’ll run into an ULTA or Sephora along the way.

  9. brittyell May 24, 2013 / 10:22 am

    Oooooh! Such a lovely haul! I have been lusting over that palette Aswell!
    And the essence mascara is interesting! In Australia essence is a really low end/cheap brand and I have only ever purchased a few of their products! It will be interesting to see how it goes! Deffinetly could be money saver for me if it is good!

    • Sam May 24, 2013 / 10:39 am

      The palette is definitely amazing. The Essence mascara turned out to be a pretty good mascara, but I’ve noticed a bit of smudging when I wear it. It was cheap in the US too, so I might try out another mascara of theirs when I run out of the waterproof formula.

Leave a Comment

