My New Best Friend, Liz Earle: Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser Review

There is a secret love in my life and her name is Liz Earle.  We met a few weeks ago on a cold, gloomy day in February.  I walked up to the front desk at my dorm and there she was, a little worn from the trip across the pond, but as soon as I saw her I knew we’d be good friends.

lizearleinbox
I ordered both Liz Earle’s Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser ($21.50 for 3.3 fl oz) and Instant Boost Skin Tonic (review to come – $21 for 6.7 fl oz) online . They were pricey, but with face products, I am willing to spend a little extra, and Liz Earle’s reputation precedes it.

logo

I’ve been using the Cleanse and Polish (cleanser) for about six weeks now, and let me tell you, it’s fabulous. I have dry, acne prone skin which I use a Retin-A  for, which can be harsh and drying on my skin, so I need a gentle cleanser that won’t dry out my skin more so then the Retin-A already does.

If you’ve been hanging around the beauty community for awhile then you’ve seen this product before, beauty bloggers everywhere rave about it, but the first time I came across it was watching a Zoella vlog.

Usually, I am reluctant to jump on beauty bandwagons.  But after a few weeks of using the Cleanse and Polish, you can consider me officially a Liz Earle wagon jumper.  I’ve got a button, t-shirt, autographed poster, and everything.

both

To apply Cleanse and Polish, you pump out the product into your hand (one pump has been good for me), apply it to a dry face with your makeup still on, and rub in all over your face (leave your eyes until last).  It shouldn’t be completely absorbed into your skin like a lotion, but it should be somewhat absorbed.

It’s a little bizarre at first, applying a cleanser without any water especially when you get raccoon eyes from smearing around your mascara.  But after a few times, I started enjoying not splashing water all over my face to get off my makeup.

cleanseandpolish

It is a cream based cleanser, and if your skin is extra dry or if you have a lot of makeup on, you might have to use two pumps because your skin will most likely absorb it.  There isn’t any smell to it, the texture is nice, and when you rub it in, it feels like you are getting a mini-spa treatment.

As a gentle cleanser it does very well with removing eye makeup, the exception being waterproof mascara.  I have no problem getting off waterproof eyeliner with it, but waterproof mascara tends to leave behind a bit of a residue.  I don’t really consider it a huge deal considering waterproof mascara is notoriously a pain in the butt to get off.

cloths

The 3.3 fl oz pump comes with a free muslin cloth which is basically a thin cloth used to wash the product from your face.  You wet the cloth with warm water, wring out the cloth, and start wiping the cream from your face.  Using the cloth does some nice gentle exfoliating as well.

After all the cream is gone, and you’ve made sure that your face is clear, you splash your face with cool water to close your pores.  The Cleanse and Polish has lasted me for six weeks, the first month I used it night and day (one pump each time), but now I am only using it at night and using Cetaphil’s Gentle Daily Skin Cleanser in the mornings.

It would be up to you how much you use it, Liz Earle suggests twice a day, but I think it’s kind of a waste to use it when I don’t have any makeup on.

beautysticker

This definitely is an awesome cleanser. It’s won about a kazillion beauty awards, and I would say that owns up to this type of recognition.  It removes every speck of makeup off of your face (with the exception of waterproof mascara), and leaves your skin feeling fresh, clean, but not dried out at all.

I have already ordered and received another bottle of the Cleanse and Polish for when it does finally run out (I can’t tell how much is left, so I have no idea).

As I mentioned before, I bought the Liz Earle toner as well.  Since I haven’t used it much, I will definitely post a review of the toner after a few weeks. I want to wait a bit to review, because I like to see the long term effect of face products before I make a definitive judgement.

front

Pros: Not drying, makes my skin soft and smooth, cruelty free company, comes with free muslin cloth and sample when ordering the 3.3 fl oz bottle, nice texture, removes makeup very well.
Cons: Pricey, must ship from UK ($7.50 shipping to US)

Overall Rating: 
9.5/10 (if only they sold it in the US)

Have you ever purchased from Liz Earle? What’s your favorite cleanser? Do you use toner?

9 thoughts on “My New Best Friend, Liz Earle: Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser Review

  1. Pages and Perfume April 2, 2013 / 11:53 am

    I’ve tried the Hot Cloth Cleanser before and I thought it was fantastic at removing make-up, felt really gentle on the face, and smelt great!
    I didn’t find that it helped my blemished skin much though, which I was a bit disappointed about… Nevertheless, seeing your review has made me want to get another bottle! Gemma, xo

    • Sam April 2, 2013 / 3:37 pm

      I have acne-prone skin, which I use Retin-A for, which can be super drying on my skin, so cleansers for me have to be pretty mild otherwise they just sting. I will say that the fact that this removes makeup so well is probably a plus for acne prone skin because you don’t have any makeup gunk left over to clog your pores. I used to use Cetaphil which was so gentle that I don’t think it was removing as much makeup as it could.

  2. Emma @ Culturecopia April 2, 2013 / 2:27 pm

    This looks so good, but I feel like I’ve tried SO many products already because I still deal with acne at 21! I finally started a daily medication as treatment, which I’m not a fan of, but so far I haven’t found anything else useful.

    • Sam April 2, 2013 / 3:42 pm

      I still struggle with breakouts as well. It’s definitely a pain. Like I mentioned in another comment, I use a prescription cream that is harsh/drying on my skin, so I need a gentle cleanser otherwise my skin just gets wayyyy too dry and this has worked perfectly for me.

  3. jemmaylees April 3, 2013 / 6:18 am

    I LOVE Liz Earle! Me and my mum have been using her products for about a year and a half now and cannot say a bad word about them! I use the cleanse and polish like you, the combination to oily skin moisturiser, and the eye bright (to remove make-up and make my eyes feel lovely!). I have/have had really bad acne in the past and her natural products are great! They may be a little expensive but they’re so worth the price! :D Great post by the way!

    • Sam April 4, 2013 / 9:26 am

      I got a sample of the moisturizer with my most recent order. I haven’t tried it yet, mostly because I don’t want to fall in love with it and then have to pay $7.25 to have it shipped to the US. ;)

Leave a Comment

