American Girl in Britian? Study Abroad Update

Once upon a time, I wrote a little post called Sam Applies to Study Abroad. I talked about how scary even the possibility of study abroad was and questioned whether or not I could do it, live in whole another country for a whole semester. Time passed, I made my decision, put in an application to study abroad in Britain for the fall 2013 semester, and before spring break I got an email from the study abroad office.

Fullscreen capture 452013 93231 PM

They were having some trouble figuring out how many students they could send to the UK, and I would have to wait even longer to find out whether or not I was accepted on behalf my own college’s study abroad office.

I waited another two weeks, and then on Wednesday I got an email. As far as my college is concerned, I’m in.

Uh. Holy crap.

Big BenCourtesy of http://www.ciee.org

Now, there is an application for a British university sitting in my inbox, and after it’s all filled out, I’ll send it off, and there is a good possibility that’ll I’ll be accepted. Basically, because I applied for an exchange program (someone from the school I am applying will take my place at my school while I go to the UK) there is already a spot allotted for me at the host university.

There’s always a chance I might not get it, but I’m going to go out on a limb and say chances look pretty good. It’s pretty darn scary when you think about it.

It’s also really exciting.

IMG_0159Courtesy of Tumblr

I don’t know how this is all going to work out, but I can officially say that I am in the process of becoming a study abroad student. Wow. That was kind of scary to even to write.

I’m going to be a nervous wreck before I get on that plane.

Have you ever studied abroad?

14 thoughts on “American Girl in Britian? Study Abroad Update

  1. liagoesvintage April 6, 2013 / 10:57 am

    Will you be based in London? If so, you’ll love it, if you like ‘chaotic’ cities. There are endless choices entertainment-wise and if you love tea, welcome to the right country! Weather-wise it is not the sunniest place in the world but hey ho! We can’t have it all! I love London the way it is :)

    • Sam April 6, 2013 / 1:03 pm

      Actually, I’d be an hour out from London because it is wayyy to expensive to do an exchange to London. lol. Seriously, I would be paying like a years worth of school for one semester!

      • liagoesvintage April 7, 2013 / 5:27 am

        I know exactly what you mean! But if you are only an hour from London, you’ll be able to visit the city on a regular basis and discover its beauty.

  2. Jenn April 6, 2013 / 11:44 am

    Such an amazing oppertunity! The best of luck! Im sure you will have the time of your life. My bf visited twice and brings it up often since he loved it there.

  3. subtle dancer April 6, 2013 / 1:22 pm

    Awesome!!! I wish I had taken the initiative to study abroad in college… what a great experience that’s going to be!

  4. notquitecarrieb April 6, 2013 / 3:38 pm

    What an awesome opportunity! I wish I’d done that while I was there but…live and learn. Your blog/vlogs will be so exciting while you’re over. Can’t wait!

  5. ASuperiorMe April 6, 2013 / 11:58 pm

    Reblogged this on A superior Me. and commented:
    “WE ONLY LIVE LIFE ONE TIME, WHY WOULD YOU SPEND IT DOING SOMETHING YOU HATE”

  6. Vikki Sorensen April 6, 2013 / 11:59 pm

    I’ve never studied abroad before however, I will be traveling to England and Ireland this fall. I’ve wanted to be an exchange student and hope and pray my girls get opportunities like that when they get a little older. Congrats!!! This is wonderful!!!

    • Sam April 8, 2013 / 11:29 am

      That’s exciting! Maybe I’ll pass by you while your in England, but we’d never know. lol.

  7. Jen April 7, 2013 / 7:59 am

    Study abroad is an amazing experience! My sister studied abroad in London for a semester, and it was definitely really expensive, but she constantly talks about her time there, so I’m sure you’ll have fun!

    As for me, I studied abroad twice, for a summer only, once in Spain and once in Germany. And to attest to awesome experiences, I met the love of my life in Germany while studying abroad and we’ve been dating for two years. So, who knows? ;)

    • Sam April 7, 2013 / 1:00 pm

      Do you speak Spanish? Wow, that sounds awesome getting to go to two separate countries and live there for awhile! Hopefully there are some good looking guys in the UK. lol. But, who are we kidding, they’ll have accents so that instantly gives them bonus points. :P

      • Jen April 7, 2013 / 6:01 pm

        Yep, I actually have a minor in Spanish. And my boyfriend is Spanish. But! I barely practice it anymore. :S

        Accents are definitely cute!

        • Sam April 8, 2013 / 11:30 am

          I bet you can still understand a lot of conversation though? I am minoring in Spanish now, and listening is a lot easier then having to speak it! lol.

  8. esterstalk May 27, 2013 / 8:34 am

    I have studied abroad last year – in the US. I am still in high school but it was an amazing experience. I’m sure you will really like it and have so much fun :)

Leave a Comment

