e.l.f. Mineral Eyeshadow Review

A few weeks ago, I did some ordering from e.l.f. and since e.l.f. is always running a special because I spent $30, I was able to receive 10 e.l.f. mineral eyeshadows for free. Score.

closedpyramid

In my former post about e.l.f., I mentioned that I had a bit of trouble with my first order, namely the fact that I only received two of the ten eyeshadows I ordered. But after a quick email to e.l.f., they sent me a new order two days later with all the shadows.

These eyeshadows are made of all natural ingredients, so there are no nasty chemicals inside.  Each shadow retails for $3 for a .03 ounce container, and because this is a mineral shadow, the powder is loose inside the container.

one two

I got mostly glittery shades, just because a lot of the mattes were sold out when I ordered, but I ended up liking these shadows a lot. I will say that they do crease after a few hours, but to be honest, don’t all eyeshadows? Is there really an eyeshadow out there that stays perfect all day long without primer?

Anyway, combined with Urban Decay’s eye primer the e.l.f. eyeshadows will last all day long with minimal fading. I actually purchased e.l.f.’s eye primer as well, but the formula ended up making my eyes water like crazy.

Overall, I would say these are solid eyeshadows for being a free gift! They are worth $3, especially because the pigmentation is so good that you only need a little bit. Honestly, I can see these lasting a really long time.

closedwithtags

However, if any of you buy these shadows, make sure that you only remove half of the piece of circular tape that is on top of the holes inside (so you only leave two of the four holes open for the powder to come out). Otherwise, after a few times there is going to be so much powder in the top of the container it’s going to be overwhelming.

For the sake of saving time, I put a little dab of each shadow on the lid and sealed it with some tape so that I could identify each shade by just skimming over the caps in my makeup drawer.

Pros: all-natural, high pigmentation, cruelty free, cheap, long lasting in combination with primer, easy to apply
Cons: will crease without primer, container can get crazy if you have all four of the holes open which is how the container is designed

Overall Rating: 9/10

Have you ever used e.l.f. eyeshadows? What’s your favorite eyeshadow brand? Do you use eye primer?

6 thoughts on “e.l.f. Mineral Eyeshadow Review

  1. notquitecarrieb April 8, 2013 / 11:55 am

    Love the idea with the tape and the color on top! I did the same thing with some bare essentials eyeshadows before…just pulled the sticker and then was like “crap” oh well live and learn :)

    • Sam April 8, 2013 / 2:03 pm

      I have two of them that I didn’t tape, and it’s just crazy. There is so much powder that I’ve got to tap just the bit I need in the lid to keep the rest of it from flying everywhere. (Let’s just say there is a lot of glitter eyeshadow in the carpet of my dorm. :P)

      • notquitecarrieb April 8, 2013 / 2:27 pm

        Hahaha far worse things have been spilled on those dorm floors…I don’t think they’ve updated there in a while…they’ll be fine haha

  2. iMax April 9, 2013 / 7:04 am

    Great post, it’s helpful to see the colours on skin.
    I’ve just discovered how to order ELF online for UK delivery, and I’m counting the seconds until payday!

  3. Jen April 12, 2013 / 8:09 am

    Wow, the tape on the lid idea is brilliant!

Leave a Comment

