Six Things: Cereal, Essie, Ending my Diet Soda Addiction, and More

luckycharms&soda

flowers

essie&shoes

applications

1. My roommate has me hooked on breakfast cereal as dessert in the dining hall. My favorites are Lucky Charms, Cocoa Puffs, and Cap’n Crunch. The way I see it, a small bowl of sugar cereal is better then eating a piece of cake. There is only 10 grams of sugar and 1 gram of fat in a cup of Lucky Charms as opposed to 24 grams of sugar and 13 grams of fat in a Hershey Bar. Whatever. Don’t judge me.

2. As a former diet soda addict, it has been 75 days since I last drank a diet soda or juice, or added any artificial sweeteners (I miss you Splenda) to any of my food or drinks. Obviously, there are still all kinds of artificial sweeteners in processed foods, but I have really been making an effort not to add artificial sweeteners when I can control it. I’ve also been caffeine free except for one frappuccino.

3. Maryland has decided to skip over spring and go straight to summer. It’s going to be 88 degrees (33°C)  today. Last week, it was 40 (4°C) degrees and gusting 17 mile per hour winds. Even as a native, Maryland weather makes no sense to me.

4. I got some new running shoes last weekend. I am an extreme overpronator, so I have to replace my shoes every four months or otherwise my knees and hips start acting up and make running impossible. They are pink (and were on sale at Khol’s), and I feel like I can run 4 minute miles when I am wearing them. I actually ran my fastest 5K time, 26:55, with them on Sunday.

5. I bought an Essie nail polish in Bikini So Teeny, and I have to admit, I love it. Even though, I have always thought expensive nail polish was overrated, Essie has definitely exceeded my expectations.

6. I started filling out my application for the host university in England where I am applying to study abroad. I was looking at a copy of my passport the other day, and I realized that the next time I am holding my passport I could be at immigration in the UK. Oi.

8 thoughts on “Six Things: Cereal, Essie, Ending my Diet Soda Addiction, and More

  1. Gillian April 10, 2013 / 9:19 am

    Great post! I hope you love your time over here in the UK (although it’s definitely colder!) – there’s lots of great nail polish brands over here too :).
    xx

    • Sam April 12, 2013 / 7:16 am

      Yeah, it’ll be really interesting to get to try out so many new makeup brands!

  2. Steph April 10, 2013 / 11:27 am

    Your mother has taught me that ceral is an exceptable meal for breakfast lunch or dinner. I actually had a bowl of cheerios for dinner last night :)

    • Sam April 12, 2013 / 7:18 am

      lol. She would have cereal every night if she could!

    • Diane and Don April 18, 2013 / 11:58 pm

      You learned from the best~~Your mom’s dream~~a “party” with a cereal bar~!!

  3. BoxSubscriptionGoddess April 10, 2013 / 9:58 pm

    Oh wow! Are you flying into Heathrow? Heathrow is the worst airport ever!! I recently flew in for a layover around spring break for a study abroad and it was awful. You had to take a bus from your plane to your section of terminals and then from that section you had to take another bus to your terminal and then believe it or not another bus to your plane. It was crazy. Then… while we were on the bus we saw a luggage fall off one of the carts and the workers in passing vehicles didn’t do anything. Lol

    • Sam April 12, 2013 / 7:19 am

      lol. I have no idea where I’ll be flying in, but one of my friends flew in through Heathrow just so she could avoid the craziness of London’s airport.

  4. Jen April 11, 2013 / 5:49 am

    I LOVE Essie’s Bikini So Teeny! It’s such a perfect summer color!

Leave a Comment

