John Frieda and Curly Hair

I’ve experimented with about ten million products for my curly hair. Shampoos. Conditioners. Mousse. Sprays. You name it, I’ve tried it. But time and time again, John Frieda has been one of the good guys.

I started using John Frieda Curl Reviver Styling Mousse ($4.84 at Walmart) in high school. Over the years, I jumped around a lot between mousses, but I kept coming back to this little silver John Frieda bottle.

moussemousse2

The thing I like about this mousse is it’s light and leaves my hair feeling weightless without that sticky/crunchy feeling that some mousses leave behind. It does a pretty decent job controlling frizz, but if it’s not a miracle worker. If it’s humid out then there is going to be frizz – that’s what happens with curly hair…

I think a lot of women have these huge expectations for anti-frizz products. But as a curly head, crazy amounts of frizz is probably an indicator of unhealthy hair (or summer in Maryland). Frizz happens, but if your hair is off the charts frizzy and unmanageable, then you might want to reconsider your hair routine.

Cue John Frieda Frizz-Ease Smooth Start Hydrating Shampoo and Conditioner.

shampoofrizzease

I picked up both of these at Walmart over spring break, and if you follow me on Twitter, then you know that I am loving them.

I run five times a week and afterwards, I always wash my hair. If I don’t, my hair just feels gross and tangled the next day.  John Frieda Frizz-Ease Smooth Start Hydrating Shampoo ($5.37 at Walmart) has worked really well for me in terms of the gentleness and the good overall clean it provides.

It’s a light mild shampoo, which works really well if you are looking to wash your curly hair mostly every day.

conditioner

Next up, the John Frieda Frizz-Ease Smooth Start Hydrating Conditioner ($5.37 at Walmart) is amazing. Seriously, I’m in love with this conditioner.

It really hydrates my hair, leaves it with a nice shine, and has really brought out my natural curl by upping the healthy factor. My hair feels so thick and healthy after using this conditioner three times a week for the past month, leaving it in for three or four minutes each wash. It also smells exactly like high quality conditioner, and when I wash it out, I feel like I am in the salon.

me

I feel so great about my curly hair after using this shampoo and conditioner, and styling with the John Frieda mousse just ups the awesome. I really recommend any of these products to any of the curly heads out there.

I used Herbal Essence Body Envy for awhile, but I will definitely be repurchasing the John Frieda shampoo and conditioner in the future. It’s definitely upped the healthiness of my hair, and it’s a great purchase for the price.

What’s your favorite brand shampoo and conditioner? What styling products do use?

3 thoughts on “John Frieda and Curly Hair

  1. Vikki Sorensen April 20, 2013 / 11:49 am

    I used this a lot when my hair was long. My hair tends to be super curly and very frizzy. This was wonderful. Pantene also sells a leave-in conditioner that worked very well also.

  2. Janice July 4, 2013 / 8:37 pm

    Interesting info, thanks! I may look into this brand next time I’m at Walgreen’s. Your hair looks cute, that’s a good testimonial!

Leave a Comment

