FOTN, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis Concert Recap, and a Mobile Dance Party

macklemoremacklemore3

This weekend my college had freaking Macklemore & Ryan Lewis come to campus. It was only $15, which is obviously an amazing deal for two really well-known artists. If you don’t recognize the names, I bet you a million dollars if you live in the US, you know them. They are the rapper and producer team who came up with Thrift Shop (I’m gonna pop some tags, only got $20 in my pocket…).  Not ringing any bells? This video should jog your memory:

Anyway, the show was so awesome. It was a really dynamic set up, and Macklemore and crew were all jumping up on the speakers, moving around the stage, and jumping up on side tables. See the guy in the white shirt standing on the speaker? I was a little scared he was going to fall to his death right in front of us.

trumpet

Last year, I went and saw Gym Class Heroes, and the room we were in forced us all to stand in front of the stage i.e. a lot of bumping, bad smells, and getting pushed around.  

While I would definitely advocate that experience, at least once in your life. I was happy to stand in the bleachers this time and not suffocate to death with everyone elses sweat and B.O. 

I was especially glad we made the choice to be on the side because a lot of people started crowd surfing, and I really wasn’t trying to get kicked in the head or have some random person thrown on top of me. I was really surprised when midway through the concert Macklemore himself jumped off the stage and started surfing the crowd.  See the man in the crowd in the picture below? That’s Macklemore.

crowdsurf

Overall, it was an amazing experience. I knew four or five Macklemore & Ryan Lewis songs before I went, so it was pretty neat to see them played live.

However, before the concert even started we had a bit of a warm-up party. To start, my makeup for the night was minimal because I wasn’t trying to sweat it all off at the show.

makeupbeforeconcert

I primed my eyes with Urban Decay Primer Potion that I got in a sample size with my Naked 1 palette.  This stuff is over-the-moon amazing. When I got back after the concert, my eye makeup had not budged one inch. I will definitely be repurchasing in a full size when I run out.

For the rest of my face, I stuck with my bareMinerals foundation, some waterproof Essence mascara, a quick swipe of NYC lip gloss, and my L’oreal eyeshadow palette in Desert Sunrise. It held up pretty well for dancing the night away.

decentralizeddancebeckywithradio

Our pre-concert activities for the evening included a decentralized dance party where we roamed campus with boom boxes and dancing, picking up people along the way. It was pretty fun, but my friend and I bailed early so we could get in line. We were glad we did because the line was super long already.

Overall, it was a super fun night. I had to do homework all Friday and Saturday night to get my studying out of the way, but it was so worth it. If you ever get a chance to see Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, go for it!

If you want to check out some of their music some of my favorite songs include (links to music video included): Thrift Shop, Same Love (awesome video for gay civil rights), Can’t Hold Us, and Wings.

macklemore2Have you been to a concert recently? Do you get dressed up for concerts or just wear the usual? Have you ever seen or participated in a mobile dance party?

2 thoughts on “FOTN, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis Concert Recap, and a Mobile Dance Party

  1. nyrmirez April 24, 2013 / 7:21 pm

    Lucky you! Macklemore and Ryan Lewis came to the University in my town and I had to work so I missed it. Great pictures.

  2. Jen April 25, 2013 / 6:37 am

    UDPP is pretty amazeballs. I’ve tried Too Faced and NARS, but I keep going back to Urban Decay. I want to try the NARS one again, though. I think I was applying my eye cream on my eyelids (which apparently you aren’t supposed to do — who knew?) so I think that affected the primer’s performance.

Leave a Comment

