What’s in My Bag

When I am at school, I don’t carry a purse. Instead, I carry a twenty pound lump on my back, shoved full of “necessities”, books, and every piece of technology I own.  You may have heard of this thing before, on the street it goes by the name of  “backpack”.

My backpack is a Swiss Gear Ibex 17-inch Notebook Computer Backpack, and I have to say it was a pricey little sucker retailing at about $75 on Amazon. However, after using this backpack almost everyday for over four years there is literally no wear and tear. It it comfy to wear, and there is a nice protective laptop compartment that cushions my laptop and keeps it safe even when I drop set my bag on the ground every day.

backpag

When I am going to class, I carry a whole bunch of books with me and my laptop, but I didn’t take pictures of that because that’s just kind of boring. Still, this backpack can hold so much stuff, I find it weird when I do have a normal sized backpack because I can only fit like 1/3 of the stuff I normally bring with me.

Even though I live on campus, I rarely have time to bounce back and forth between my dorm, work, and class, so I have to carry everything for the whole day in my bag. So everything I might need between 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. needs to fit.

sidepockets

First up, I always carry my Camelback Eddy water bottle and this handy little Totes collapsible umbrella, both from Target. If you are a water bottle user, seriously, the Camelback water bottles are the best. They may be pricey, retailing at $15, but they never leak, even if it falls down in your bag i.e. no soggy books and papers when your water bottle leaks everywhere.

techNext up, I’ve got my phone (Nokia Lumia 920), iPod touch, Burt’s Bees, ibuprofen, and a Masterlock. I always carry around a lock so if I want to hit up the gym, I can store my bag and not have to worry about stuff getting stolen.

I love my Nokia Lumia 920. I was up for a phone upgrade in January, and I thought about getting an iPhone, but I really liked my old Windows phone so I figured I’d stick with Windows (and it was cheaper ;). It doesn’t have all the apps that the iPhone does, but I’m not really a big app user other then watching Netflix and YouTube on my phone every once in awhile.

makeupbagSince I’m usually out of my room the whole day, I bring along some makeup for touch ups. Usually that includes, my bareMinerals concealer, NYC lipgloss, Burt’s Bees Lip Balm (this is a different tube, but there are like four total in my bag in random pockets), and Rimmel White Kohl eyeliner.

I like to carry the white eyeliner because towards the end of the day, I might start getting that tired, sad, is-it-Friday yet? look, and white eyeliner offers a nice little wake me up. I just apply it to the inner corners of my eyes, and it’s an instant eye brightener.

sunglasses

I always bring a long a notebook because I like to write things down – ideas, quotes, lists, reminders, thoughts, whatever. I also like to carry pairs of cheap sunglasses around in my bag because I usually forget to bring a pair in the morning if the sun isn’t out yet. This particular pair was a freebie from Google that my roommate got a conference. Then, I’ve got my banana change purse from Forever 21, which I use to put earrings, chapstick, and other random stuff in when need be. I can’t find it online, so they must not sell it anymore.

walletwallet2Last up, is my keys. I’ve got my mini wallet attached to my lanyard, since I don’t carry cash at school, just my school ID and license. I keep a number 8 playing card inside because I am always finding playing cards on the street, and I’ve gotten into the habit of holding on to them. My parents bought me this Storm Trooper flashlight for Christmas this year, and I fangirled over it for about three days. I’m a bit of a Star Wards nerd.

So, that’s my bag, a random collection of items used to distract me when I should be paying attention in class. Kidding. I just like to be prepared.

I also can’t believe that I am so close to having 200 blog followers. Wow. That’s crazy. I saw the number the other day, and I almost spit my water out on my laptop. Thank you all so much for reading. I appreciate every one of your comments, and I love reading all of your blogs.

By the way, I tag all of you to do a what’s in my bag post, so I can see what kind of goodies you all carry with you! I love seeing what’s in everyone’s bags/backpacks/wagons/cars/whatever. I think it’s a really cool way to learn more about someone’s personality by seeing what they choose to carry with them.

Do you carry a bag with you everyday? What’s your number one essential you make sure to have with you?

13 thoughts on “What’s in My Bag

  1. Jen April 25, 2013 / 10:21 am

    I love seeing what’s in other people’s bags too. This post has cemented my suspicion that you’d be awesome to know in real life. Love the Star Wars keyring.

    I’ll do a what’s in my bag post when I get home, but since I’m currently using a very tiny bag, it won’t be very interesting!

    Also, your backpack looks brand new. Dang. I’m sold, I’m going to look for one for when I get into grad school.

    • Sam April 26, 2013 / 7:35 am

      lol. :) It really is a good backpack. If you are planning on bring your laptop with you to school a lot, I would definitely recommend it. The best thing about it is that it’s pretty much water resistant. Even if it rains, I don’t have to be super worried about my books getting wet.

  2. notquitecarrieb April 25, 2013 / 11:25 am

    I always like seeing what’s in other peoples bags too…its like that place you can’t look but want to.
    I’ve been meaning to put up 2 of them…one from conference and then a normal one…now I guess I have more of a push to.

    Great post! Definitely looks like my backpack when I went to..the same school…haha

    • Sam April 26, 2013 / 7:41 am

      lol. You should definitely put them both up!

  3. klyse3 April 25, 2013 / 7:05 pm

    The must-have in my bag is….my bag. Seriously. When I go home, I have no idea what to do without a notebook, pens, pencils, wallet, checkbook, credit card, ID card, bobby pins, lip gloss and balm, hair clips, kleenex, snacks, stuff to keep me occupied when bored, a planner, a homework notebook, and on and on and on! I don’t feel like any of it is interesting, but it certainly a sort of security blanket for me!

    • Sam April 26, 2013 / 7:42 am

      I agree. It’s always weird when I go to a party and all I can bring is like my phone and keys. I have to remind myself that I probably won’t need half of my possessions in 4-5 hours. lol.

  4. Jenn April 25, 2013 / 9:29 pm

    I love this post! I am totally going to do what’s in my bag post this weekend! BTW I love the Storm Trooper! I had a Darth Vader one that I got at Lego Land years ago and then it lost its leg for awhile I called him UniVader. Now he is just a dangle on my mini Star Wars Christmas tree.

    • Sam April 26, 2013 / 7:43 am

      Yeah, I’ve seen that they have a whole bunch of different ones. It’s actually a decent flashlight, very bright.

    • Sam April 26, 2013 / 7:44 am

      lol. I tend to carry a lot of random things. :)

  5. forcefullyexpressive April 26, 2013 / 7:25 pm

    Love the white eyeliner tip! My current bag is so tiny I can only carry the essentials: wallet, lip gloss, hand lotion and phone. Love keeping it simple. Less to look through!

  6. Carina April 29, 2013 / 9:10 am

    I absolutely enjoyed this post! :D

Leave a Comment

