Your Happiness is Your Responsibility

I got an internship. A paid internship. I can officially attest that paid communications internships do in fact exist. I will be working for a company in Baltimore, doing marketing and public relations work for them over the summer.

I applied to ten different internships, interviewed for four, and spent about a million  hours customizing my resume and perfecting my cover letter. It wasn’t a fun process. However, I can safely say that I am much more comfortable with the interview process now that I’ve been through it a few times.

Right now, I am currently looking into places to sublet for the summer. It’s a little crazy. Since when am I a grown up looking for an apartment? Paying rent? What? Since when was that a thing?

Throughout this whole process, I’ve been thinking a lot about being a humanities major. Awhile back, I made a vlog about the stigmas and attitudes associated with being a humanities major, but like every good English major, sometimes you’ve just got to write it out.

P1020977

With a high emphasis on science, technology, mathematics  and engineering (STEM) in the United States, there is an all consuming stigma that the humanities are a waste of time.

People, even those who didn’t go to college, act like it’s their responsibility to tell me that as an English major my only option out of college will be to be a secretary or a teacher. Excuse me? Since when does learning how to write and communicate with people narrow my career choice to two options?

Yeah, I am an English major, but I can also write some pretty good HTML and am proficient in design and editing. A college major doesn’t define who you are – you define who you are.

In my opinion, college is supposed to teach young people to be independent and to learn to deal with stress, challenges, and responsibility on their own – no mom and dad to hold their hand. As far as I am concerned, who cares if you are studying biochemistry if you spend four years hating every moment of your existence.

Some people will read this and tell me that I am naive – that I will never find a job once I get out of school. All I can say to this is, stop worrying about me. Stop worrying about what other people do with their life, and worry about your own.

That being said, don’t be afraid to push out of your comfort zone. You never know what lies around the corner, and learning a new skill is just one more step to furthering yourself as a person and setting you apart as an employee.

People might criticize you. They might not tell you what you want to hear, and it’s your responsibility to be confident enough to look past them. Remember, it’s your life to live, and ultimately you are the one responsible for your happiness. Be the person you want to be.

9 thoughts on “Your Happiness is Your Responsibility

  1. lateshacouncil May 1, 2013 / 4:42 pm

    Congrats on your internship!! You are right, do what makes u happy because u r the one living your life everyday!! I majored in something that was “employable” but I suffered for 8 years once graduating because I hated it :(. Glad u got the right idea at a young age!!

    • Sam May 2, 2013 / 7:57 am

      Thank you!

  2. Carina May 2, 2013 / 1:21 am

    Congratulations on your internship! :)

  3. Emma @ Culturecopia May 2, 2013 / 4:25 pm

    This is AMAZING and just another reward for your hard work! I’m a business major, and I completely agree with everything you’ve said!

  4. Jennie Mei May 5, 2013 / 10:01 pm

    Congrats on your internship. I’m a communication and business major and I cant agree more on what you say. by the end of the day, you are the only person to say whether you are happy or not.

    • Sam May 6, 2013 / 12:28 pm

      Thanks :)

  5. beautybybrinka June 6, 2013 / 12:50 pm

    Oh my gosh,I can relate to you on so many levels! Every since my freshman year in HIGH SCHOOL,everyone around me has been throwing their “life knowledge” at me about what caeers pay the most,what are the most prestigious,and why I should go into that field. I am now a sophmore in college and have changed my major from undeclared,to psych,and now to business. It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to do with my life,career wise,but I’m glad that in the end,it was my deccision and nobody else’s.

    Congrats on your intenship,and sry bout the novel-long comment.

    XOXO,
    Brinka
    http://www.beautybybrinka.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment

