The Tale of Three Mascaras | Review: Maybelline, Rimmel, & Essence

I’ve been experimenting with three different mascaras for the past two months. I have pretty long eyelashes so, when I am looking for a mascara, I am usually more interested in a product that primarily thickens and adds volume.

I hate to admit it but, I don’t have much brand loyalty when it comes to mascara, mostly because I haven’t ever really found a mascara that just totally and completely blows me out the water. Also, I don’t really see much of the point of paying big money for a pricey mascara, when most drugstore mascaras work more than fine for me.

All the pictures of me wearing the mascara are with two coats of each product and, I did not curl my lashes beforehand.

beforeafters

all

First up, is Rimmel London Volume Flash The Max Bold Curves which I bought at Target for about $5. This is the first mascara that I have ever bought that has a curved brush instead of a straight one. It was pretty weird to use at first, but eventually I got used to it.

rimmel

rimmelbrush

beforeafterrimmel

This is a pretty decent mascara. It’s not waterproof, and I can’t wear it when working out without half of it ending up on my cheeks by the end of my workout. I would probably repurchase this in the future in the fall or winter when I don’t have to worry about the sun melting my makeup so much. I haven’t had any problems with clumping and it does a pretty good job at thickening my lashes. Nice mascara.

Rating: 9/10

maybelline maybellinebrush

bamaybelline

Next up, was Maybelline Great Lash Washable Mascara which I bought at Walmart for $4.44. I like this mascara for a washable formula. It doesn’t clump or flake, and it does a good job thickening my lashes and adds volume. Even though it removes easily with soap and water, it doesn’t end up halfway down my face when I am working out, though there will be minimal smudging around my eyes.

I would say that this is a pretty decent buy. I like it for every day makeup, or when I am rocking a bolder lip. I would repurchase.

Rating: 9/10

essenceessencebrushbaessenceFinally, I have been reaching for Essence’s Get Big! Lashes Mascara on days when I know that I will be working out at night, but I want to wear mascara during the day. I bought this at ULTA for $2.99, and some of you may have seen it in my ULTA Haul. This mascara is a waterproof formula and stays perfect even after I sweat through my workout, but I don’t have any trouble getting it off when I use Ponds Dry Skin Cream.

I really love how thick that this mascara makes my lashes, but since the brush is so fat you do have to kind of be on the watch for clumping. The only real trouble I have with it is that sometimes it smudges just during everyday use. The weirdest thing is that it smudges way up on my brow bone. I honestly have no idea how in the world it gets up there but, it happens almost every time I wear it!

I don’t think I would repurchase this, simply because of the smudging issue, and I know there are better waterproof mascaras in the sea. It’s too bad because this really is a nice volumizing, thickening mascara.

Rating8.5/10

What are your favorite mascara brands? Do you splurge on mascara or prefer drugstore brands?

12 thoughts on “The Tale of Three Mascaras | Review: Maybelline, Rimmel, & Essence

  1. Molly May 10, 2013 / 9:31 am

    Try Essence’s Multi-Action mascara!

    • Sam May 10, 2013 / 1:13 pm

      I’ll give it a try because I really did like how thick the Essence made my lashes, just not the smudging.

      • Molly May 10, 2013 / 5:15 pm

        Yeah, I would top it with a swipe of waterproof mascara! That should keep it in place :)

    • Sam May 10, 2013 / 1:15 pm

      I never thought about using more than one mascara, I guess because one usually does the trick. I see that you use the Great Lash as well. It’s a good mascara, very long lasting and not much flaking.

  2. styleondemand May 11, 2013 / 6:07 am

    You have amazing lashes -any mascara would look good on those :)

    • Sam May 12, 2013 / 7:53 am

      Thank you very much. :) I am very lucky to have long lashes!

  3. Carina May 11, 2013 / 8:25 am

    I like Majolica Majorca’s Lash King the most, so far, but I don’t know if they are sold there. I think maybelline is pretty good with mascaras, but they are not CF. I really liked The Falsies variant.

    PS Great job with the shots! Eye close ups are so hard to take!

    • Sam May 12, 2013 / 7:51 am

      Thanks. I actually bought the Falsies for my roommate the other day, and it looked good on her even though her lashes aren’t super long. I have to give it a try for myself once I run out! I looked up the Majolica, and it’s like $23 here, which is pretty pricey compared to drug store formulas!

  4. cherryblossompretty May 12, 2013 / 7:43 am

    I use a mix! One layer on top and bottom of Rimmel Super Lash. I then use Maybelline Volume Express Falsies only on my top lashes.

    • Sam May 12, 2013 / 7:53 am

      I never even thought about doing more than one layer of each mascara until reading the comment from sweetchicwrites. It’s pretty ingenious. I don’t know why I never thought about it. I really need to try the Falsies for myself! I bought some for my roommate the other day, and it looked great on her!

Leave a Comment

