Sam Goes Horseback Riding + Vlog

If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter, you know that last Friday my roommate, Becky and I went horseback riding. We had both been talking about it last semester, and for my birthday (in Decemeber) she bought a Groupon so that we could both go.  Our appointment was at 10 a.m., and the place was an hour away, so we both had to be up before 8 a.m. (on a Friday no less).

I was a tiny bit nervous considering the last time I rode a horse I was probably ten years old, and it was a old pony.  When we got to the stables there were quite a few horses hanging out in the barn.  Since my school is in Baltimore, it was a bit weird to be out in the “country” with farm animals running around everywhere.

meandbeckyhorse1

Our guide, Mandy got the horses tacked up, and we were ready to go. The horses we rode were named Marco and Polo.  They were trained to follow Mandy’s horse, so we didn’t have to any real riding other than making sure we didn’t fall off or smack into trees. I vlogged along the way:


We rode for about forty minutes, and I was surprised at how relaxing it was.  I occasionally run on trails, but sometimes you forget how peaceful it can be to be in nature without your headphones blaring in your ear.  We rode through the woods and a couple of fields. It was very picturesque. 

After we made it through the course, we got off the horses, and Becky brought an apple to feed them. They slobbered all over her hand, and one of the horses swallowed almost the entire apple in one bite. Yikes.

meonhorsehorse

When we got back to school, it was only 11:30 a.m., so we hit up the dining hall.  Afterwards, we did some homework before crashing at about 2:00 p.m. and taking a nap. What can I say, all that sitting on the horse can wear a person out!

That night, I had a team dinner with my school’s running club.  All 14 of us squeezed into a long table at Olive Garden and demolished about eight baskets of bread-sticks and seven salads.  I mean, with a table filled of 20-something runners who run 20+ miles a week, a good majority of which were boys, you know Olive Garden was going to be losing quite a few bread-sticks.

runningclub

Yesterday was my last day of classes! Today is study day, so I’ve got to hit the books before my exams start. I found a place to live for the summer, and I start my summer internship in a few weeks. I am so excited for this semester to be over so that I can get some sleep, read a book for fun, and blog and vlog to my heart’s content.

Have you ever been horseback riding? How do you deal with exam stress?  If you could only pick one, would you go for soup, salad, or bread-sticks?

*WordPress is giving me a bit of trouble today, sorry about the double post!

4 thoughts on “Sam Goes Horseback Riding + Vlog

  1. Olga K'ay - water.color.silk May 15, 2013 / 12:49 pm

    I’m sooo envious right now! :D I’ve always wanted to try horseback riding! Sounds you had a wonderful experience!

    • Sam May 15, 2013 / 3:03 pm

      Yeah, my roommate bought a Groupon, which was nice because usually rides can be expensive. It was definitely a lot of fun!

  2. Emma @ Culturecopia May 16, 2013 / 11:07 am

    HORSES! <3 My first love – I basically started running to fill the void left from riding. I used to own two and compete for a Canadian national team :D… then uni started and I had to say goodbye (for now).

    • Sam May 16, 2013 / 10:05 pm

      Oh yeah! I forgot about the post you did about your horses!

Leave a Comment

