300 Blog Followers and the Beauty Blogger Tag

I can’t believe I have 300 blog followers! Thank you to both all of you who have stuck with me for these past few months and for those that have just recently joined the ride. I appreciate all of your comments and support. For today’s post, instead of a post about a makeup or beauty product, I thought that I might talk a little bit about me in the Beauty Blogger tag!

1. Is your hair naturally curly or straight?
My hair is naturally curly. As a kid, I used to hate my curly hair because I got bullied for it and all the popular kids had straight hair. In high school, I straightened my hair for a long time until finally, I just got tired of it. It took some time, but I have learned to love my curly hair. It makes me, me. :)

two

2. Do you dye it yourself or go to a salon?
I have never dyed my hair, and I have no plans to. I have always liked my hair color, so I plan to keep it for a long time! Also, I feel like I would be terrible with keeping up with hair dye. I am lazy when it comes to hair maintenance.

3. Do you wear the same hair style everyday, or do you change it?
I mix it up depending on how my hair is that day. Curly hair is a bit of a wild card, so if it’s humid that usually means I am finding a way to put it up or push it back in a headband. I will straighten it occasionally, but I usually don’t have time. Let’s just say my hair has a mind of it’s own, so I have to bargain with it while styling.

hairstyles

4. Do you do your own mani/pedi or go to a salon?
I always do my own nails. The last time I went to a salon for my nail was probably…four years ago?

5. How often do you change your nail polish?
Ever since I’ve started using Essie, I haven’t had to paint my nails as much as I have in the past. I usually paint my nails whenever they start chipping. If there is even a tiny bit of a chip, I start peeling the polish.

6. Do you polish your toes in the winter or just the summer?
I hate painting my toes, so I only paint them in the summer. It’s just such a horrible process for me for some reason. I have no patience for it.

7. How long does it take for you to put on makeup?
It can be as short as ten minutes and as long as an hour. I really like when I can take my time and have the TV or YouTube on in the background, or I can talk to my friends as I am getting ready. Feeling rushed is the worst because then I just start getting clumsy.

8. What do you do first? Face or eyes?
I usually do my eyes first because 90 percent of the time I have just moisturized my face, so I wait for my moisturizer to sink in before doing my face.

9. Do you collect makeup or just buy what you need when you need it?
A little of both. In terms of nail polish, I am a collector. For the rest of makeup, because I am on a college student budget, I try to stick to only buying what I need. I don’t always succeed, but I try to manage my makeup spending ;)

nailpolish

10. How often do you wear false eyelashes?
I never wear false eyelashes because I have very thick lashes without them. I lucked out in that aspect.

11. Do you do a full face of makeup everyday?
Nope. I recently posted about learning to leave the house without makeup, and I have really started to embrace it. Don’t get me wrong, I love makeup, but there are times when it isn’t necessary, at least for me. If I am going out with friends or to work then I wear makeup. If I am just running errands or going to the gym, I have started to work on just going barefaced.

12. Do you wear makeup when you’re home alone or with family?
Like I said, I am learning to wear makeup when I want to wear it, not because I feel like it is required. So, no, I don’t wear makeup when I am home alone or with family unless I am trying to get a feel for a product and want to see how it holds up.

13. Will you leave the house without makeup?
I’ve already answered this. :)

14. How many high-end products do you have?
I have a few high-end products. I have my Urban Decay Naked 1 Palette, which was definitely worth the price. I also love bareMinerals, and I have their concealer, foundation, and blush. Honestly though, the majority of my products are drugstore brands because high-end products can be pretty tough on my wallet!

highendproducts

15. Do you plan your OOTD every night or decide when you’re getting dressed?
I only set out an outfit if I know that I won’t have a lot of time to get ready or it’s a big event for me, otherwise I just pick it out that day.

16. How often do you change your handbag?
I have one purse that I bought from Forever 21 that I have used forever. It’s just a classic black over the shoulder bag that has always worked fine for me. I’m not much of a purse person.

purse

17. What time do you wake up and go to sleep?
On the weekdays, I usually go to bed at 11:30, and I am up by 7:30. The weekends are all over the place, but I usually have a hard time sleeping after 8 o’clock regardless of what time I go to bed, meaning I might only get four or five hours of sleep. I have a weird sleep routine.

sleepinshowerI’ve been known to sleep in the bathroom while my family is on vacation to avoid my dad’s snoring.


18. How often or when do you workout?
I workout five times a week, but the time varies. I like working out in the morning, but I don’t always wake up early enough so I have to find time later in the day. I usually run 20-25 miles a week and then do one day of cross training on the elliptical. It may sound crazy, but I really love to workout. It is the best stress relief for me, and those 45-60 minutes help me organize all the crazy thoughts in my head.

I would like to start exploring new exercises over the summer particularly swimming and maybe even (indoor) rock climbing.

WP_000529

19. Left handed or right handed?
Righty.

20. How tall are you?
5’8″

21. Do you speak any foreign languages?
I can understand a lot of Spanish. Speaking is hard for me though. It’s like I know the words in my head, but I can’t articulate them.

22. How many pets do you have?
My parents have two cats, but I wouldn’t really consider them mine. They sleep on my dirty laundry, and I pet them sometimes. We don’t have a deep bond.

23. How often are you on WordPress?
Daily. The first thing I do in the morning is read blogs from my blog roll when I am eating breakfast. I also like to keep up with comments on my posts as quickly as possible otherwise things get tricky when I am trying to reply to comments and write a new post at the same time. I try to update three times a week.

24. Do you read comments posted on blogs?
It depends. If I feel like the post was a little controversial, I’ll look over what others have written just to see if there is internet drama brewing. I always make a point to leave a nice comment on a post I’ve enjoyed though. I know how happy comments on my posts make me, so I like to share that feeling whenever I can.

25. Do you keep a list of products to try as you see other posts?
I attempt to write things down on post-its, but I usually end up losing the lists. It’s probably better that I don’t remember every thing I want to try because my bank account would probably be zero if that was the case.

26. How did you come up with your blog name?
It’s just a combination of my first name and last name.

27. What kind of camera do you use for your photographs?
I use my Panasonic Lumix SZ7. It was only like $140, and it shoots HD video and takes decent pictures. It works great for me.

28. How often do you clean your house?
At school, my room is for the most part always clean. There may be piles of papers on my desk, but there are never clothes on the floor. At home, I tend to let my room get pretty messy. I clean whenever the mess gets so crazy I can’t walk across the room without tripping over something! My makeup area especially can get messy at home…

messy

29. What’s your favorite color?
I am a big fan of purple.

30. Do you swear?
Yes, when I am with my friends.

31. What are you doing with the rest of your day?
I might be shooting a vlog, continuing to unpack my stuff from college, go running, lift weights, and veg out a bit (I only have a week more of vacation).

Oi! That was long, but I hope now you know a little bit more about me. I would love to read more about some of you as well, so if you feel up to it I tag you all to do this tag!

How long have you been blogging?

19 thoughts on “300 Blog Followers and the Beauty Blogger Tag

  1. esterstalk May 29, 2013 / 9:51 am

    Congratulations on your 300 followers :)

    • Sam May 29, 2013 / 8:22 pm

      Thank you!

  2. nyrmirez May 29, 2013 / 11:54 am

    Congratulations on 300 followers!

    • Sam May 29, 2013 / 8:22 pm

      Thanks!

  3. Luchessa May 29, 2013 / 1:45 pm

    Congrats to the 300 followers sweetie, well done. And here’s to the next 300!!

    • Sam May 29, 2013 / 8:24 pm

      Thank you :) Right now, 300 seems like a lot!

      • Luchessa May 30, 2013 / 4:54 am

        If you keep blogging like that, soon there are going to be a lot more ;) Good luck sweetie.

    • Sam May 31, 2013 / 4:52 am

      Thanks :) If you keep working hard, you will be there as soon as you know it!

    • Sam May 31, 2013 / 4:52 am

      Thank you!

  4. Jen May 31, 2013 / 3:40 am

    I love reading surveys. :P And filling them out. I find it relaxing, haha!

    Congrats on your 300 followers! You’ve inspired me to blog more in order to catch up! ;)

    • Sam May 31, 2013 / 4:52 am

      Thanks, Jen. I’m glad you are back!

  5. Chriss May 31, 2013 / 5:38 am

    Congratulations on hitting 300 followers! I really enjoyed reading all of this since I’m a super nosy person ;)

    • Sam June 1, 2013 / 7:23 am

      Thank you, Emma. I love your blog too! You were one of the first people to ever comment on my blog, so I definitely appreciate all of your support.

    • Sam June 1, 2013 / 9:31 pm

      Thank you :) I think pictures definitely add something to a tag.

  6. glamourousagelessbeauty June 3, 2013 / 8:52 am

    Congratulations and well done on getting to 300 followers! xx

Leave a Comment

