Tutorial: Pop of Color on the Lower Lash Line

It’s summer(!) and while I am usually a fan of more neutral eyeshadows, summer is always a fun time to branch out in the color spectrum. I’ve been noticing the new trend of putting a pop of color on the lower lash line in order to bring attention to the eye. I really like how purple plays up the color of my eyes, so I decided to try out a pop of purple on my lower lash line.

beforeandaftermaterials

For this look, I used:
Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original (pictured top left)
Maybelline ExpertWear Eyeshadow in Natural Smokes (pictured top right)
Rimmel Color Rush Trio Eyeshadow in 720 Dreamy (pictured bottom left)
Maybelline ExpertWear Eyeshadow Duo in Lasting Lilac (pictured bottom right)

1and2

1. Apply concealer to hide any under-eye darkness. It helps if your concealer is applied in a downwards triangle under the the eye. This helps draw attention away from the circles and brightens the entire area. If desired apply eye primer to your lid.

2. Apply a light matte shadow to your lid. I would recommend sticking with a more neutral shade. I used a light matte pink.

3and4

3. Apply a darker shade to your crease and the outer third of your eyelid. I used a medium glittery purple shade, but you could use a neutral matte shade too. I wanted a bit of a light smokey effect.

4. Apply liquid liner, if desired, and then apply your bright pop of color to your lower lash line. I used a vivid purple and used a angled eyeshadow brush to apply it to my lower lash line. You may want to dampen your brush to get a cleaner line and reduce fallout.

I also applied a bit of the shadow to the beginning of my upper lash line, just close to the corner of my eye. Then, I applied mascara, and I really liked how it turned out!

me

I hope that this helps anyone who is looking to try out the pop of color trend. It is really a fun thing to play with. I don’t have a lot of eyeshadows that aren’t neutral, but I am definitely going to play around with the vivid shades I do have because the pop of color is a cool look!

Here are some other examples of people rocking the pop of color trend:

P1100045-2
Source: http://www.anniejaffrey.com/

blue-under-eye-blonde-hair

350x700px-LL-1e95d8ba_neutralpop
Source: http://www.makeuptalk.com/t/127801/contest-bh-cosmetics-back-to-school-contest-closed/150

Have you ever experimented with a pop of color on your lower lash line? Do you tend to use neutral shades or more colorful shades with your eye makeup?

9 thoughts on “Tutorial: Pop of Color on the Lower Lash Line

  1. zanspence May 31, 2013 / 11:15 am

    I’m definately feeling the lower lash line mascara that’s trending now. I’m going to do it in blue or purple.

  2. withprettythings May 31, 2013 / 6:26 pm

    That looks great! And it really does bring out the colour of your eyes. I’ll definitely give it a go, it’s one of my favourite makeup trends this summer.

    • Sam June 1, 2013 / 7:21 am

      Thank you very much. It’s definitely a fun way to play around with eyeshadow.

  3. thinacruz May 31, 2013 / 11:59 pm

    You look great!

    • Sam June 1, 2013 / 7:22 am

      Thanks!

  4. comfortablyychic June 2, 2013 / 7:24 pm

    Wow that look is seriously gorgeous! I’ve got to try this! Will let you know how it goes. :)

    xx,
    Jen

  5. shopgirlcapetown June 5, 2013 / 8:01 pm

    I mostly use neutral shades on my eyes, but I’ve been playing around with purple eye shadow as it looks good on my brown eyes as well. I am definitely going to be trying this trend! Thank you for the tutorial!

    • Sam June 5, 2013 / 8:49 pm

      No problem. I think color eye shadows can be great for all eye colors, but it’s definitely all in how you apply it!

Leave a Comment

