Rainbow Tag

rainbow

Budziak from Budziak Beauty tagged me to do the Rainbow Tag. Basically, the gist of the tag is that you pick products that correspond to or have packaging that corresponds with the colors of the rainbow. I decided that I was going to stick with only beauty related products because I wanted to challenge myself to find some fun things to match all the colors.

redRed
This red is Maybelline Color Sensational lipstick in Are You Red-dy. I talked about this lipstick a few months ago in a review, and while it is a little bit drying, this an awesome pigmented red lipstick. For everyday, I tone this down by applying lightly and topping with a translucent lip gloss. It’s a bold color, but a good red if you are on the lookout for one.

orangeOrange
You may be wondering what place baking soda has in a beauty tag, but baking soda can be pretty useful. Every two or so weeks, I mix in a tablespoon of baking soda into my shampoo and it eliminates all of the product buildup in my hair. It leaves my hair squeaky clean and shiny. You can also use baking soda as a gentle exfoliater and, it removes dead skin without being harsh on the face.

yellowYellow
Alright, yellow is tough color. I had to cop-out and go with a nail polish. I bought this gold nail polish a few weeks ago in the shade Butter-fly Stroke. It’s a nice yellow for summer because it’s more golden than yellow, which can be unflattering for some skin tones.

greenGreen
I talked about Rimmel’s Volume Flash The Max Bold Curves Mascara in my May Favorites video, but I have definitely enjoyed using this mascara. It’s volumizing, lengthening, and doesn’t smudge, which is a home run for me. It was relatively inexpensive, but has proved to be a solid product.

lightnightcreamBlue
I have been using this night cream for several weeks. It is a solid night moisturizer. You only have to use a small amount because if you pile it on, as in applying more than a bean sized amount, your face will be greasy. It’s hypoallergenic so it doesn’t cause breakouts. It has helped with my dry skin. It was a little more pricey, $10 at Walmart, but after using it every night, I have barely made a dent in the pot.

purplenailblockPurple
This is nail file block which I have been using since I got back from school. I stole it from my mom, so I guess I’ll have to leave it behind when I move into my new apartment next week for the summer. It’s nice for shaping nails because the different levels of buffer have helped to keep my nails from flaking.

pinkPink
These are my two recent obsessions and, they both just happen to be pink. First, Revlon’s ColorBurst Lip Butter in Sorbet is an awesome lip product. It doesn’t dry out my lips at all, has great pigmentation, and is long lasting. Next, I just bought this Essie polish in Mod Square and, I am obsessed. It’s one of those polishes that I look down at my nails and just smile at how cute the shade is.

This tag was a lot of fun! Anyone who is interested in doing the colors of the rainbow tag should definitely go for it, I tag all of you to do so! Vacation is officially over for me as I am scheduled to work all day today. Oh well, gotta make that money if I want to buy new beauty products!

7 thoughts on “Rainbow Tag

  1. All Things Jasmine June 5, 2013 / 9:50 am

    Fun tag, nice products and great tips! :)

    • Sam June 5, 2013 / 10:19 am

      Thanks :)

  2. helloiammariam June 5, 2013 / 2:01 pm

    I’m a bit obsessed with the revlon lip butters at the moment too! Love this Essie shade too!

  3. Emma @ Culturecopia June 6, 2013 / 5:38 am

    Since you are a makeup queen, I want to ask you: what’s your favourite pink coloured lipstick (I love darker shades of pink) and mascara? Both of these items I need.

    • Sam June 6, 2013 / 2:33 pm

      For lipstick, I would check out the Revlon lip butters. They are honestly the best lip product that I have tried in awhile. For mascara, I would go either Maybelline Falsies or the Rimmel Max Factor in this post. They are both good for volumizing without smudging.

  4. Jen June 6, 2013 / 8:16 pm

    I think I’ll try that baking soda with shampoo trick! I hate product build up on my scalp. :S

Leave a Comment

