Thrift Shop Haul – 11 Pieces for $44

totalhaulwithprices

Thrift shops can be amazing places. But, I have to admit, up until a few months ago, I thought all thrift shops were like the ones in my hometown – dirty and gross. However, I recently discovered that if you drive to a richer area the quality of the products at the local thrift shop infinitely increases. 

In Maryland, there is one major thrift shop chain called Goodwill. Over spring break my mom dragged me to the Goodwill in one of the richer areas of Maryland, and I was shocked at the quality of clothes and cleanliness of the store. There were barely used name brand shirts for $5 and $6 jeans that still had the tags on them. It’s like retail heaven and a broke college students dream.

All the clothes looked barely worn, and all they would need was a quick wash cycle before they would be good to wear. So, I made a trip back to the same thrift shop as I looked for business clothes for my new internship that I start tomorrow. I ended up getting 11 pieces for 43 dollars. WHAT? I’m still smiling from this amazing deal.

sweater

Cropped crocheted sweater with golden bead buttons: $5.00
Red sweater with ruffled collar: $2.50

skirt

Navy pencil skirt with belt: $4.75
Black business skirt: $4.75

shirts

Floral patterned shirt: $5.00
Pale yellow shirt with ruching: $3.50
Red orange sleeveless shirt: $3.50
Grey polka dot shirt with ruffled sleeves and tie at waist: $5.00

dressPatterned dress with bow: $7.00

Can you believe it? 11 pieces for $44. How does that even happen? Even at Forever 21, it would be at least $10 a piece, and I am telling you that these clothes have been barely worn, and some of them seem like they haven’t been worn at all. I am really glad I found such a great deal for some new clothes to wear to my internship.

I already own business pants and a few more business appropriate shirts, so all together I am ready to start my new internship tomorrow! I’m a little bit nervous but mostly excited. Today, I am moving in all my stuff to my new room for the summer.

outfitsfavoriteshirtI think I will be going with this shirt with the black skirt for my outfit tomorrow. The shirt is such a pretty pattern, and it’s a nice light fabric for the Maryland heat that I am positive will descend on us at any second.

Do you go to thrift shops? Would you ever buy clothes at a thrift shop or would it freak you out to wear someone elses clothes?

12 thoughts on “Thrift Shop Haul – 11 Pieces for $44

  1. ccfaschana June 9, 2013 / 9:41 am

    I find most of my clothes from thrift shops. It’s very inexpensive and if you only wear it once, you have no guilt… Also, I’ve found a total of 3 true religion jeans from Goodwill before. Which someone somewhere paid hundreds. Plus it’s fun for me, you can find some amazing items! :)

    • Sam June 9, 2013 / 11:22 am

      It is fun because whenever you find something at the thrift store in your size and it fits perfect, it feels like you’ve won some kind of special shopping prize! :)

    • Sam June 9, 2013 / 11:23 am

      Thanks :)

  2. Jen June 10, 2013 / 8:24 am

    I found two amazing blazers at a thrift store. One is a piped black schoolboy style blazer, and the other is a hunter green velvet military style blazer. The black one was $7, the green was $10. Steal!

  3. budziak June 10, 2013 / 11:18 am

    Wow! That is a great deal! Time to find some thrift shops in my area… :-D

    • Sam June 10, 2013 / 4:56 pm

      Definitely! Make sure they aren’t trying to rip you off though. I don’t care if it’s gently used or not, I’m not paying $20 for a used shirt! Unless it’s Marc Jacobs or something. lol.

  4. nyrmirez June 11, 2013 / 4:49 pm

    I love all of the outfits you put together. I absolutley love thrift stores 85% of my clothes in my closet have come from my local goodwill. People often wear things once or twice and get rid of that article of clothing. I always find hidden gems there.

    • Sam June 11, 2013 / 6:21 pm

      Thanks. I agree. A lot of people buy stuff, decide they don’t like it, and just bring it to the thrift shop. It’s all good, I’ll buy perfectly good clothes for 80% off the original price. lol.

  5. shopgirlcapetown June 14, 2013 / 9:46 am

    Lucky you! We don’t really have thrift shops in SA, more like 2nd hand stores with more of a vintage vibe- as in worn in clothes. I do like accessory shopping at secondhand stores though, I’ve bought some amazing handbags there!

    • Sam June 14, 2013 / 8:24 pm

      I can see that. One person’s trash is another’s treasure!

Leave a Comment

