New (Small) Room – New Job – New Roommates

I am no longer in my parents house…for the summer that is. I have my own shelf in the fridge, a cabinet for myself, and a single room all my own. It’s weird having a kitchen and having to cook for just myself instead of my whole family. The concept of only cooking just enough for me is just bizarre.

I have two new roommates as well, but I have been so busy with moving in and my new job that I haven’t gotten to hang out with them much yet. My room is super tiny, but it’s the first time that I have had a room to myself while renting so it’s nice having my own space (as tiny as it may be).

room5room4room1I’ve got all my makeup and pictures set up. Luckily, since I don’t have any school books with me, so I can fit all my makeup stuff on my desk. I mean, having mascara in reaching distance is obviously priority number one.

The pictures on the wall tend to follow me from place to place. They are from a Paris calender that I had a few years back, but it was made on a thicker paper so the pictures are more durable. It’s weird to look up at them and think that one day I may be standing in one those exact spots.

I’ve always have my three stuffed animals in my bed. The tiger is the most important possession that I own. He’s been everywhere I have traveled and every room I have ever lived in since I was in the fourth grade. Yes, I am aware I just referred to a stuffed animal with a pronoun. Don’t judge me. That tiger is my bro.

room3room2Since the room  is already small, I wanted to be able to hide my clothes if anyone stops by. I think the curtain adds dimension to the room instead of having a big empty doorway and all my clothes falling off the hangers.

I started my internship yesterday, and it went pretty well. It seems like it’ll be a good company to spend eight weeks working for. I’m going to have to shift around the times when I can write my blog posts, but I’ll make it work.

Summer seems so long right now. In June it always does. It’s not until September that you look back and wonder how it passed you by so quick!

Would you rather have a tiny room for yourself or a big room that you share with someone else? Are you working this summer?

5 thoughts on “New (Small) Room – New Job – New Roommates

  1. Jenn June 11, 2013 / 5:14 pm

    I like having my own room. I’ve always had one, until this past year now that I moved in with my boyfriend and we have his son part time. It seems like I don’t have my own space, except my bathroom. This is why it’s important when you move in with someone always look for more bathrooms then bed rooms. This is why I’m constantly taking long baths and reading books in there a lot. As for work, yes all the time, full time job. Love how you arranged your room, it looks a lot bigger then you described it.

    • Sam June 11, 2013 / 6:24 pm

      The room isn’t huge, but it works. I’ve got a desk and bed so it all works out. I can understand the wanting your own space thing, even when you live with someone you love. After work my parents usually spend time apart with one upstairs and one downstairs, and eventually they watch TV or something together after 8-9. I think it’s just good for people (even in relationships) to have their own space on a somewhat regular basis. It keeps everyone sane. lol :)

  2. bepcity June 11, 2013 / 8:09 pm

    Tiny room all the way! : ) Yours looks very cozy!

  3. bethan June 12, 2013 / 5:38 am

    I’m currently doing an internship too and looking for a room in a shared house! Still haven’t found one yet which is worrying as I have to move out in 3 weeks…!

    • Sam June 12, 2013 / 10:29 pm

      I hope everything works out!

Leave a Comment

