Review: Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque – Reduces Oil, Fights Acne

If you are looking for a good clarifying face mask and are used to spending big bucks for new masks, let me tell you, there is a gem hidden in your local drugstore. Queen Helene’s Mint Julep Masque is formulated to dry up blemishes, shrink pores, and take care of pesky blackheads, and you can pick it up at most drugstores.

I purchased my bottle at Walgreen’s for a measly $4, and even after using it weekly for two and a half months, there is still plenty to go. This mask can be drying, so I limit my use of it to once a week and always moisturize after using. Since I started using it, I have noticed decreased oil production and shorter life cycles of blemishes.

mintjulepclosemintjulepThis mask definitely works to draw out the impurities in your skin. The coolest thing about it is that after you apply the mask and let it sit, you can actually see the darkened spots where oil has been expelled from the pores and soaked into the mask. You can see the mask working, which I think is pretty cool.

I wouldn’t necessarily say the mask, “dries up pimples”, but it definitely shortens their lifespan by drawing them out quicker. This is very much a purge kind of mask. So, if you have a big event coming up, I would do the mask a week before not the day before the event. It’s going to bring up all the gunk out of your skin, which means that your skin might “purge” or breakout after the first application. This eventually lessens after the first or second application because a lot of the gunk has already been drawn out during the previous weeks.

masqueswatch frontofjuelpI’m not going to take a picture of me wearing the mask because if you follow me on Twitter, you will know that pictures of people wearing face masks freak me out. It’s not so much wearing a normal/basic mask, but it’s the masks that have chunks of fruit in them or the person has stuck tissue paper all over their face. It gives me the creeps for some reason. Anyway, as you can see from the swatch, the mask has a thick green consistency, but it also smells like mint.

Now, I guess I am eating my own words here about not liking scented face products with but I actually find the mint smell to be refreshing. When you apply the mask it feels a bit tingly (it doesn’t burn, it just makes your face feel tingly for a minute) then, after it has sat for ten or fifteen minutes, once you wash it off, your face is super refreshed. It works to combat redness and, for the rest of the week after applying, I notice that my face is a lot less oily.

I would recommend this 100 percent. For only being $4, I will definitely be repurchasing. This is a great drugstore product, and I would recommend it for all those who have the occasional pimple or full blown acne. This is definitely something to try. There are clarifying masks out there for $40+, and I think before you shell out all that money, you owe it yourself to give the drug store route and Queen Helene’s Masque a try!

Pros: cheap, reduces oil, nice mint scent, one bottle goes a long way, CRUELTY FREE!, reduces acne, shortens duration of blemish
Cons: drying (moisturizing afterwards is a must!)
Rating: 9.9/10

What face masks do you use? Do you use a mask on a daily basis?

21 thoughts on “Review: Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque – Reduces Oil, Fights Acne

  1. lurkingcaro June 13, 2013 / 10:58 am

    Thanks so much for posting this. My skin is so broken out right now!! I will have to try this.

    • Sam June 13, 2013 / 5:46 pm

      No problem. Like I said, it might make the breakout worse the first week, but eventually it gets better.

  2. budziak June 13, 2013 / 11:24 am

    I bought a bunch of tubes of Freeman face masks from Ulta for my bff’s upcoming bachelorette party in Vegas. 12 girls in masks, lol. Anyways, I was going to get this one and another one from this brand buuut the Freeman was BOGO free. I like your detailed review :-) Definitely going to have to try this one of these days.

    • Sam June 13, 2013 / 5:47 pm

      Yeah, you can’t beat BOGO. Have fun in Vegas! That sounds exciting.

  3. Jenn June 13, 2013 / 8:09 pm

    Love it! I’m going to try it. I am posting a blog about the awards I’ve been nominated for, and I’ve nominated you for all 3 :)

    • Sam June 13, 2013 / 9:41 pm

      Thanks Jenn!

  4. lacarashelette June 14, 2013 / 1:48 am

    Thanks for this. I’ve been looking for a great mask. :)

  5. Natalie June 14, 2013 / 11:29 am

    This is a great masque! Have you tried the grape seed one by Queen Helene? I hear that one is good too.

    • Sam June 14, 2013 / 8:28 pm

      I haven’t tried it. I will keep a lookout next time I am in the store though. Thanks for the tip!

  6. Chriss June 16, 2013 / 6:45 am

    Lovely review, too bad they don’t sell this in my country! I don’t know if you’ve seen it yet, but you won the giveaway on my blog ;)

    • Sam June 16, 2013 / 10:41 pm

      I just emailed you. :)

  7. producthoochie June 16, 2013 / 12:00 pm

    I’m 33- I have been using this since I was 12! It really is a great mask for the price and Queen Helene makes other great products.

    • Sam June 16, 2013 / 11:31 pm

      It’s definitely a great product. I will have to check out the rest of their product line! The best part about it is how cost effective that it is!

  8. Pingback: How to Spend a $30 Amazon Gift Card | Beauty and Lifestyle of a Broke College Girl

Leave a Comment

