Move Over, Sally Hansen – I Love Essie

In February, I wrote a post saying that I was, “quite happy with my cheap nail polish.” Part of me wishes that I could go back to being as nail polish naive as I was then, but the other part of me is happy to have discovered the awesomeness that is Essie.

I bought my first Essie polish back in April in Bikini So Teeny, and it is still my favorite nail polish and shade to date. The first time I painted my nails with it, I couldn’t believe how long the polish lasted. With Sally Hansen, I was used to my nails chipping in two or three days even with a top coat. The Essie lasted for almost a week.

essie2

I just remember looking down at my nails everyday, waiting for any signs of chipping. But besides a little bit of wearing on the tip, the polish didn’t even begin to chip until a week after I painted my nails. When you are used to painting your nails every other day or every three days, it’s a little bizarre when suddenly you only have to paint your nails once for the whole week.

It’s safe to say that Essie has become my favorite nail polish brand. The only drawback is that it’s expensive, at least in the terms of my wallet. Essie usually retails for $8, which is pretty pricey for a drugstore nail polish. However, stores do put Essie on sale every once and awhile, which can make it a little cheaper.

essie1

Kohl’s in particular will put all Essie shades on sale for about $6.50, which can be brought down even further with a coupon. That way, at least it only ends up being $6 instead of $8. Maybe I am just cheap, but $2 is worth the added effort for me. You can also find it on Amazon for a reduced price.

However, just because I have found a new love in Essie doesn’t mean that I am ready to abandon Sally Hansen entirely. I still have like 15 bottles of Sally Hansen, and a lot of the time, I am not thrilled about spending the extra money for Essie, so I just get a similar shade in Sally Hansen. That doesn’t mean I don’t drool over the Essie display on a regular basis though.

essie3

In other news, my new job is going really well. I’ve really gotten into the swing of things, and I am enjoying it a lot. It’s only been three weeks in, but I can already tell this this internship will be not only great in terms of resume building and experience but also making professional contacts.

The living situation is going okay. I haven’t exactly clicked with my new roommates, and I don’t know many people in the area, so it’s a little lonely at times. Luckily, work is keeping me super busy, and by the time I’ve finished work, worked out, made dinner, and packed my lunch for the next day it’s usually 8:30, and then I work on blog stuff until bed.

My best friend is coming to hang out for the whole weekend, so I am excited for that. Working full-time, is a little bizarre. I guess this is officially the end of being a kid as in no more “summer vacation” for three months. Oh well, at least I get paid.

What’s your favorite nail polish brand? Do you like Essie? 

37 thoughts on “Move Over, Sally Hansen – I Love Essie

  1. bethanyworrall June 27, 2013 / 9:33 am

    I love Essie! I ordered Bikini So Teeny and it arrived this morning. I’m even more excited to use it after reading this post :)

    • Sam June 27, 2013 / 9:45 am

      I warn you though. It’s an addiction. Once you start buying them, you can’t stop. ;)

      • bethanyworrall June 27, 2013 / 9:47 am

        Haha I bought another one too, they are in my latest blog post :)

  2. GeekinPink June 27, 2013 / 9:49 am

    Essie hands down is my fave and Fiji and bikini so teeny are my two faves!! <333 love your post! Xx

    • Sam June 27, 2013 / 9:55 am

      I haven’t tried Fiji, but I will definitely look for it the next time I am drooling over the Essie display! :)

      • GeekinPink June 27, 2013 / 9:57 am

        Yeah I know what you mean. I’m always drooling especially their new summer collection! Eep! Fiji is just such a feminine colour and so good for summer! :)

        • Sam June 27, 2013 / 9:58 am

          I know, right! Essie and their freaking summer display. All the colors are so gorgeous, and I just want to buy them all!

  3. producthoochie June 27, 2013 / 9:51 am

    Essie makes great polish. There is a brand they sell here in NYC. It’s called Brucci and I swear it is the best polish, though it isn’t 3-free or anything. It’s about $3 a bottle and my sister and I use it like crazy.

    • Sam June 27, 2013 / 9:57 am

      I’ve never heard of it. I live in Maryland, so I wonder if they sell it here. I’ll definitely look for it next time I am in the drugstore. lol. You are lucky to have summers off. It’s probably best I am working all summer. I have trouble getting back into the swing of things when I have been off/working part time for 3 months and then I have to go back to full-time school and a part time job!

  4. producthoochie June 27, 2013 / 9:51 am

    Oh! And welcome to the land of adults. I’m a teacher so I still get summers off.

  5. plainjanemcgough June 27, 2013 / 9:53 am

    I really like all of those colors! Bright and sunny like today. :)

    • Sam June 27, 2013 / 9:57 am

      Thanks :)

  6. nyrmirez June 27, 2013 / 10:43 am

    Essie polishes are amazing! I find mine at TJ Maxx and Ross if you live close to those stores. They usually retail for $3.99- 4.99 and sometimes you get lucky and they have a few good shades. I have only paid full price for Essie 4 times and I own about 13 different shades. I am glad you are enjoying your job!

    • Sam June 27, 2013 / 5:56 pm

      I didn’t know they sold them at TJ Maxx and Ross! Thanks for the tip! There is a Ross near my place. That’s definitely a great deal if they are so cheap!

  7. budziak June 27, 2013 / 11:08 am

    I used to go to a place in East San Jose to get Essie polishes for $4. The place was a salon supplier store but you didn’t need a cosmotology license or anything. Try searching cheap or wholesale nail polish on yelp in your area. The place I went to (US Nail Supply) sold a ton of China Glaze, OPI, Zoya, Color Club and a bunch of other brands too for around $4-5. Essie and China Glaze are my favorite :-) I love Essie’s dark metallic shades.

    • Sam June 27, 2013 / 5:57 pm

      Oh man. When I find a place with cheap Essie, I am going to go crazy. $4 is a great deal when they are normally $8!

  8. Rebecca Anderson June 27, 2013 / 2:25 pm

    I’m really tempted by Essie and this post is not helping :P

    • Sam June 27, 2013 / 6:08 pm

      I would say sorry, but once you discover the amazingness of Essie, you won’t look back ;)

  9. kourtmariexo June 27, 2013 / 6:16 pm

    Thank you for the info! Around here Essie nail polish goes for around $12 so I wasn’t sure if I wanted to spend that much if it wasn’t going to last. ( I’ve never had luck with my polish lasting, even OPI) I’m excited to try some Essie out for myself now !

    • Sam June 27, 2013 / 9:52 pm

      $12! Yikes! Keep your eye out for a sale! It’s definitely worth a try!

  10. All Things Jasmine June 28, 2013 / 5:53 am

    I LOVE Essie! The quality and coverage is truly amazing.

    It’s funny you should mention how they’re pricey, because in Belgium they’re about 10-12 euro, which is about 13-15 dollars – and it’s one of the cheaper ones around! The whole thing is different altogether, though, because here they mostly sell Essie (and O.P.I as well, for example) in salons and specialty beauty stores. When I come to the US I always literally bring dozens of bottles of nail polish, because you guys can just buy them in the supermarket! :))

    Anyway: Essie is awesome and I’ve often found myself grabbing the Essie polishes from my collection because I know they’ll last so long!

    • Sam June 28, 2013 / 10:15 am

      Yay! I’m glad everyone is so pumped about Essie! I’ve definitely been reaching for these three Essie colors more than any polish I own in the past couple of months just because I know how long-lasting they are. You are making me feel spoiled that it only cost $8 here and it’s more than double in Europe! Then again, Europe has Barry M polishes and for that, I will always be just a little bit jealous :)

      I had to laugh about your supermarket comment! I used to work in a supermarket, and we literally sold everything – mops, medicine, diapers, laundry detergent, pet food, you name it! Although, supermarket prices for non-food items tend to be much more inflated than just shopping at Walmart or something.

  11. All Things Jasmine June 28, 2013 / 5:56 am

    Also: you’ve inspired me to do an Essie post as well! Might be coming up soon! :)

    • Sam June 28, 2013 / 10:20 am

      I just checked out your post. Those are great 4th of July colors. You’ve inspired me to deck out my nails for 4th of July! Now, I just have to buy a new Essie red… :D

  12. Carina June 28, 2013 / 8:16 am

    I’ve never really been particular with nail polish, but I recently got two from Butter London and I love them a lot. I’ve been meaning to try Essie, but wasn’t really able to. Glad you like them. :)

    • Sam June 28, 2013 / 10:21 am

      Is Butter London worth the hype? I know it’s on the pricier side, so I was wondering if it was really worth the cost. It’s a costly addiction to form. :)

      • Carina June 28, 2013 / 10:26 am

        Oh yeah, it’s great because of their “three-free formula”: so there’s no Formaldehyde, no Toluene, no DBP, which are supposedly toxic chemicals usually found in polishes. They’re also cruelty-free and go on mostly opaque in one coat. I like to put on two coats for a real solid color, though. :)

        It’s way, way better than a Bobbi Brown polish I got, lol. Stay away from them!

        • Sam June 28, 2013 / 10:28 am

          Will do. I might give it a try if I can catch it on sale/discounted somewhere. I’ve heard other bloggers talk about it, and they always have good things to say!

          • Carina June 28, 2013 / 11:44 am

            Definitely worth it, especially since you seem to wear polish regularly. :) hope you find it discounted soon!

  13. randomparadise June 30, 2013 / 3:40 pm

    I have Bikini so teeny as well! Such a perfect color! Loving it <3

  14. Notorious Beauty Blog July 1, 2013 / 8:56 pm

    I love Essie polishes as well :) other great nail polishes that are up their in price are OPI and Zoya…but definitetly worth it. I feel the same way haha I wish that such a thing as summer vacation without the need for full time employment still existed…so not ready to grow up.

    • Sam July 1, 2013 / 10:05 pm

      I’ve heard good things about OPI, but the only OPI I ever see is the Nicole version in Target. lol. Full time employment isn’t amazing, but getting paid for full time hours is :)

      • Notorious Beauty Blog July 2, 2013 / 1:42 am

        Haha I know, I don’t like working all the time…but I definitely do on payday! Yeah I don’t have any of the Nicole versions. I like the original though :)

Leave a Comment

