Fourth of July Nails & First Time Rock Climbing

It is the week of the July 4th, and for those living in the US, the time for fireworks, flag Jello molds, and patriotism, is among us. I have to admit, 4th of July has never been a very exciting day in my family. The only real tradition that we have is that my dad and I have gone out for pancakes every 4th of July morning since I can remember.

In fact for the past four holidays, I have spent 4th of July trapped at my old job as a grocery store cashier. However, this year I actually have a paid holiday instead of spending 8 hours ringing up ice and 2 liter soda. Hurray for actual job benefits.

Anyway, since the 4th of July is on it’s way, I decided I’d dedicate a little nail art to the occasion.

bottles

oneandtwo1. Paint your nails with a nice red polish. I used Essie’s Hip-Anema, which if any of you have seen my last post, you will know I am a bit obsessed with Essie.

2. Dot your nails with a white polish. For dotting, I actually like to use the tip of a mechanical pencil. I just put a drop of the color I want to use on a index card, dip the tip of the lead of the pencil into the polish, and dot to my hearts content.

This way I can just break off the lead after I am done with the color, no mess. The trick is a very light application, otherwise the polish just gets funky. For these dots I used my Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear polish in White On.

3. Apply a blue stripe tip. I used Essie’s Bikini So Teeny on the tip of my nail, and cleaned up the edges by drawing a straight line with my mechanical pencil tip dipped in the polish. Normally, I would have used the scotch tape trick, but I wasn’t confident that the red had set enough.

final

And there you have it. I ended up doing blue and white dots on my thumb instead of the blue tips because I am really bad at doing nail art on my thumbs for some reason.

Moving on, this weekend was such a blast for me. Becky stayed in the spare bedroom in my apartment, so we got to hang out for three days straight. If you follow me on Twitter, you might have saw that Becky took me to an indoor rock climbing center yesterday for the first time.

I am definitely glad that I am in shape because rock climbing is freaking hard so I feel like already having somewhat stronger muscles helped a little bit. Overall though, it was a super fun workout. My hands and forearms are so sore, but I love finding something new to push myself at, especially because I am kind of in a rut with running at the moment.

rockclimbing-sign
No pictures of me on the wall. Sorry, I was concentrating on not falling to my death. ;) Next time, I’ll snap one.

For the most part, I just attempted the easy routes while bouldering (climbing without a harness with a maximum of a ten foot drop on a crash pad), but Becky is a climber so she also belayed (controlled the rope, supported for repelling) for me when top roping (climbing with harness about four stories or 44 feet).

I will definitely be making a few more trips back to climb, even though it is a little bit costly. We’ll see. I only have five weeks left in the area before I head back to my parents place before school starts again. I might buy one of the cheaper packages to explore climbing a bit more until I have to go back to the nest.

Any 4th of July plans? Have you ever rock climbed? Do you coordinate you nails to holidays?

6 thoughts on “Fourth of July Nails & First Time Rock Climbing

  1. budziak July 1, 2013 / 2:06 pm

    I love your 4th of July nails! I want to do a 7/4 manicure when I get home :-) As for rock climbing, I used to have a few friends that went all the time and even did real climbing, like up in the mountains and stuff, it was crazy. Come to think of it, they had HUGE broad shoulders and callused hands. I think I’ve only done it once but I went to a place where the whole floor was padded and it was probably only 10ft high with no rope. It was tough and I remember hating how dry my hands felt afterwards, the chalk super dried out my hands and even just washing them hurt. I’m too much of a weeny to rock climb, haha.

    • Sam July 1, 2013 / 2:11 pm

      Thanks :) Climbing outside seems super hard, especially because it’s so hot and humid this time of year. It was definitely hard on my hands. I was having trouble getting the car door open because my fingers and forearms were so sore. lol. I’m a marathon runner, so I’ve sort of had to adapt the mentality of pushing through when your muscles are dying, which I think helped a bit in terms of climbing. I’m definitely ready to go back and try again. ;P

  2. Jodi July 1, 2013 / 4:09 pm

    Those red nails are adorable!

    • Sam July 1, 2013 / 9:33 pm

      Thank you :) It’s a beautiful red.

  3. stephinthescreentime July 8, 2013 / 2:45 pm

    I so love your patriotic nails! I’ve always wanted polka dot nails! Now I know how to paint them.:)

Leave a Comment

