What’s the Deal with Witch Hazel? and 400 Blog Followers!

In my journey to more natural skin care, I came across witch hazel, but I really had no idea what it was even meant for. I mean, really, witch hazel? I didn’t know if it was some kind of voodoo potion disguised as a beauty product or what. After some Googling though, I picked up Thayers Alcohol-Free Unscented Witch Hazel with Aloe Vera for $8 at a natural store, but you can also buy it at certain drugstores like Walgreens. 

witchhazel1

Witch hazel gets it’s name from a the witch hazel plant that it is made from, so you don’t have to worry about getting warts and having black cats following you around town. This product is fragrance-free, paraben-free, naturally preserved, and hypoallergenic aka all good on the natural front –  no witchy powers included.

I use this witch hazel as a toner twice a day, and it’s really good at removing any leftover makeup and refreshing my pores. It’s completely non-drying, and the weirdest thing about it is that it’s almost moisturizing despite being very mild.

It works wonders on breakouts and redness, and that might be where the aloe vera comes into play. After applying to a cotton pad, wiping my entire face with it, and letting it dry, my skin and any breakouts look less red.

witchhazel3witchhazel2

It’s not going to cure acne but, in my opinion, a non-abrasive toner shouldn’t aggravate acne prone skin either. I can’t see this breaking anyone out, mostly because it’s almost water-like in texture and smell. However, I have read that scented witch hazel has a very distinct smell, which people either love or hate (like the smell of tea tree oil).

I’ve never used a toner or astringent that is so gentle on the skin. This would be an ideal toner/astringent for anyone using abrasive skin care treatments (like salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide) or anyone who has sensitive skin. It can also be used for a whole bunch of different uses like reducing eye puffiness (I use it all the time on my eye area without problems), reducing the appearance of varicose veins, cleaning a wound, tightening pores and healing bruises (Source).

400followers

In other news, I hit 400 blog followers yesterday. I can’t even begin to express how thankful I am for all of you that comment on, tweet, share, and read my posts. Honestly, I sometimes look at my growing follower count in awe. There were only 250 people in my graduating class in high school, and just trying to imagine 400 people reading my posts just blows my mind.

Thank you all so much for reading and supporting me. I can’t believe I’ve only been on this journey for six months and, I have loved interacting with all of you, some of whom, I feel like we could be great friends outside the blogosphere.

I am going to give a quick shout-out to some of the ladies who have been a great support along the way. They are all part of my list of top commenters, but I also love reading all of their blogs and definitely recommend them:

Emma from CultureCopia
Emma has been commenting and supporting me since the very beginning. I loved reading her study abroad posts, and I am looking forward to posts about her new job in Africa!

Jen from barely organized chaos
Jen’s beauty posts are always fun to read. She’s a big supporter of cruelty-free products and at the moment, she is only purchasing cruelty free products, so check her out if you are interested in cruelty-free.

Jenn from A Little Bit of Girl Geekery
Jenn shares my inability to go into Target without spending more than $20. She is a beauty blogger, but just recently started a movie reviewing blog on the side. She’s super fun, and I love talking to her via comments.

Budziak from Budziak Beauty
Her blog is so much fun, and she’s just started posting YouTube videos too, those of which I find super cute and fun to watch. She’s only got a few subscribers on her YouTube channel, so go check her out, and subscribe if you like what you see. I think with a bit of practice, she could be a great vlogger!

Happy Fourth of July! Do you have any fun plans for tonight? Have you ever used witch hazel? What beauty blogs do you recommend?

17 thoughts on “What’s the Deal with Witch Hazel? and 400 Blog Followers!

  1. Jenn July 4, 2013 / 9:21 am

    Wow 400 that’s so amazing congrats!! Just the other day I was wondering where you have been since I hadn’t seen anything. I hope you have a great 4th and stay cool if it’s hot there as it is in VA! I’m going to go see World War Z (crazy movie to see on this day LOL!) and stay in and chill. I’m hoping I’ll be able to watch the fire works from out balcony so we can stay cool.

    I’m not sure if you follow these blogs but they are two of my fave girls

    http://beautyinformer.wordpress.com/

    http://estycare.wordpress.com/

    Happy 4th!!

    • Sam July 4, 2013 / 4:27 pm

      I’ll definitely check them both out. :) I’ve been posting at least every two days, but it’s been a busy summer, so it has been tough! Have a nice 4th! It’s a scorcher here in MD, so I have been enjoying the AC.

    • producthoochie July 4, 2013 / 11:09 am

      Congrats! I’ve used Dickinson’s WH for years. It’s good for EVERYTHING- bug bites, skin care, etc.

      • Sam July 4, 2013 / 4:32 pm

        Thanks :) I’ve been using it on a burn, and it’s working wonders.

    • Sam July 4, 2013 / 4:30 pm

      Thanks. I’ll check out the toner for when I run out of the Dickson’s. The reviews for it certainty seem positive online. Thanks for all your support, Jasmine. I have definitely have noticed all your comments and support over the past few weeks :)

      • All Things Jasmine July 4, 2013 / 4:42 pm

        No problem, I love reading you’re posts because they’re so real and sincere. I really feel like you let your readers in on some of the more personal stuff and I can relate to a lot of your stories. I’m a redhead and was bullied throughout my childhood for that. It’s good to know others that have been through similar stuff have become stronger as well. Also, I just love me some great beauty products, heheh. Keep up the good work! ;)

        • Sam July 4, 2013 / 6:13 pm

          :) Thanks. Your comment just made my day.

  2. All Things Jasmine July 4, 2013 / 9:29 am

    (PS: The three top blog links don’t work.. At least, they don’t here. :p)

    • Sam July 4, 2013 / 11:38 am

      Fixed. Thanks you :)

  3. TooManyMuffins July 4, 2013 / 10:16 am

    Congrats on 400 followers. I remember I used to use Witch Hazel a lot but then I stopped. Maybe I need to return to it again!

    • Sam July 4, 2013 / 4:31 pm

      I really like it. :) It’s so gentle on the skin. I especially like that I can use it near my eyes without any dryness/sensitivity.

  4. budziak July 4, 2013 / 5:35 pm

    Congrats on hitting 400! That’s exciting! I might try witch hazel, I had a weird reaction to hotel spa soap and it made me breakout, which never happens so I’m trying to recoup from that. It’s slowly going away but a less abrasive toner might work better than the Clinique one I’ve been using. Thanks for the shoutout and the tip! :-) Happy Fourth of July!

    • Sam July 4, 2013 / 6:15 pm

      Thank you :) I would definitely give it a try if you are looking for something mild. It’s not really expensive either. And no problem for the shoutout. You’re a good blogger, and I’ve been liking your videos too. It’s always good to recognize people who are good at what they do!

  5. Jen July 5, 2013 / 7:41 am

    I recently bought pure witch hazel to mix with some essential oil (tangerine) to use as a toner. However, my family and I still need to get through our commercial toners before starting on the witch hazel. The aloe vera one sounds good, and I’m also interested in the rose water (?) one.

    Congrats on 400 followers, and thank you so much for the shout out!! I love reading your posts too, you’re very insightful. :)

    • Sam July 5, 2013 / 9:38 am

      Yeah, I’ve seen the rose water version too. Thanks, Jen. You’ve been a great support over the past few months :)

  6. Jenn July 6, 2013 / 9:33 am

    You got a shout out and nominated for a Shine On Award on my post :)

Leave a Comment

