Study Abroad Update: I’m Going to England For 3 Months

It seems bizarre that one of the first posts I wrote on this site was about my decision to apply to study abroad, and now I am writing about getting my acceptance letter. I am going to England for 3 months. Europe. American girl. An ocean between my family, my friends, and me.

Um. Cue alarm bells.

Fullscreen capture 2162013 123855 PM

Of course, I am scared. Who wouldn’t be? I am going to a foreign country for 3 months to live and study…on my own. I’m not going to say that I am not nervous. I’m not going to pretend like I don’t think it would be easier to just stay in the same place and go back to the same school with the same people. I won’t – because that would be a lie.

However.

I won’t pretend like I am not entirely psyched. I am going to Europe! I’ve only been dreaming of this for my entire life. As a kid, I grew up with pictures of the Eiffel Tower and Big Ben on my wall. As a teenager, I got European guide books from the library, and I would read them, pretending like I was boarding a flight the next day, learning all the do’s and don’ts of international travel.

englandshops

So, yeah. I’m scared, but I’m also excited too. Good things can only come if you pursue them, and here I am, pursuing new things and new adventures. I’ll be leaving in mid-September and won’t be back to the US until mid-December.

I can’t wait to experience Europe, but more importantly, I can’t wait to share my adventures with all of you. I can already tell there will be many cheesy tourist pictures, posts about how I never want to come home, posts about how I want to go home right now, and Boots, Topshop, and Lush hauls in my blogging future. I’ll keep you guys updated as I get ready for my trip, and I’ll definitely have a lot to post about while overseas.

Have you ever studied abroad? Any tips?

41 thoughts on “Study Abroad Update: I’m Going to England For 3 Months

  1. Jenn July 6, 2013 / 9:39 am

    This is so amazing!!! I know your going to have the best time and I can’t wait to watch your adventure on here :)

    • Sam July 6, 2013 / 9:42 am

      Thanks, Jenn. I’ll definitely never have a lack of things to post about during those months!

    • Sam July 6, 2013 / 9:42 am

      Thank you :)

  2. jocelynd123 July 6, 2013 / 9:54 am

    Cannot wait to read about all of your experiences. Enjoy it because three months will FLY by!

    • Sam July 6, 2013 / 10:05 am

      Have you studied abroad?

      • jocelynd123 July 6, 2013 / 10:12 am

        No, I really wanted to, but unfortunately it didn’t fit into my plan of graduating early. I have travelled abroad for long periods of time and it always flies by, though. I’m sure you’ll really enjoy it, especially since you speak the language. Not speaking the language is usually the most stressful part!

        • Sam July 6, 2013 / 3:19 pm

          True! At least there won’t be a language barrier other than English slang.

  3. catchaneye July 6, 2013 / 11:23 am

    Aww awesome the weathers gorgeous here at the moment. Do you know which part of England your going to x

    • Sam July 6, 2013 / 3:21 pm

      I’ll be in Leicester. :)

  4. Alyx July 6, 2013 / 12:19 pm

    Congrats, Sam! That is so exciting! I am thinking about randomly packing up my New York City life and moving to Paris in January, so I can definitely empathize.

    • Sam July 6, 2013 / 3:26 pm

      Wow! That’s exciting :D Definitely keep us updated!

    • Sam July 6, 2013 / 3:27 pm

      Thank you :)

  5. liagoesvintage July 6, 2013 / 2:17 pm

    I moved to London on my own five years ago and it’s one of the best decisions I have ever made. It will be a great experience for you (and your pocket of course…lots of shopping!) :)

    • Sam July 6, 2013 / 3:27 pm

      That was very brave of you! I’m excited to get to experience everything over there. :)

      • liagoesvintage July 6, 2013 / 3:49 pm

        I think you are going to love it! As you said, get ready for lots of boots and Topshop visits! :)

  6. Kristian Alguire July 6, 2013 / 5:08 pm

    So jealous! I’d go back in a heartbeat! Enjoy every minute of it :)

    • Sam July 8, 2013 / 8:33 am

      Thanks, Kristian. :)

  7. thatbritishbabe July 7, 2013 / 3:18 am

    That’s great! I’m happy for you! Are you gonna be in London? Maybe I could recommend stuff? Xxx

    • Sam July 8, 2013 / 8:34 am

      I’ll be like an hour away from London, but I’ll definitely be making some trips to see it!

  8. nyrmirez July 7, 2013 / 11:53 am

    Congratulations Sam! I am so excited for your adventures and all the wonderful memories you will make. One tip I have is to document as much of your time there as possible. Trust me 3 months fly by and at the end you’re only left with pictures, cheesy touristy souvenirs and lots of memories. I remember when I came back from my study abroad from Morocco. I was glad I took a bajillion pictures because I knew it was something I could always look at and cherish. I am so excited to keep up with your adventures because I will be going to Europe in April of next year :).

    • Sam July 8, 2013 / 8:35 am

      Thanks :) That’s awesome you are going to Europe in April! Morocco sounds like such a blast. It’s a good idea to take lots of pictures. Luckily, I’ll also have my blog posts to help me document the trip.

  9. stephinthescreentime July 7, 2013 / 11:07 pm

    It’s so funny you say you used to get European Guide books as a teen! I used to as well. Except I was in my early 20s. One time the librarian actually thought I was doing a project on England I checked out so many books from there. Ha! I also love, love, love how you say good things only come if you pursue them. This rings true for me lately! I’m sure you’ll have so much fun and Europe! Can’t wait to read about it.

    • Sam July 8, 2013 / 8:36 am

      Talk about rising from the dead! Stephinthescreentime is back. Iol. I used to read guidebooks for all over the world. I wasn’t a very normal teenager. How have you been? Good to see you back in the blogging world. :)

      • stephinthescreentime July 8, 2013 / 2:31 pm

        Lol! You crack me up. It’s good to be back and good to see you too! I’ve been great! I blame partially being gone from the blogging world on moving. I had a terrible time with my old neighbors. There were terrible fights and they were doing drugs every night. So I moved and now I feel so much safer. I’m going to have to get caught up reading your blog!

  10. All Things Jasmine July 8, 2013 / 5:51 am

    Are you going to be in London? London is really an amazing city, I love it there – and you will too. :) If you ever plan on visiting Belgium: let me know, heheh. Have fun!

    • Sam July 8, 2013 / 8:41 am

      I’ll be near London, but I won’t be living in London (mostly because of the expense of living and attending university there). I will definitely be making multiple trips to the city though. Luckily, I’ve been told the transportation system in Europe is a million times better than here in the US, so who knows, I might be in Belgium at some point :)

  11. budziak July 8, 2013 / 1:09 pm

    How exciting! Can’t wait to read about it and see all your photos. Hopefully, you’ll still have some time to blog! :-)

  12. shashasyed July 9, 2013 / 5:18 pm

    Congratulations Sam! It’s nerve wracking, allow yourself that it’s normal. I’d hook up to the Net and Skype to keep my sanity (time difference allowing). Time will fly by so quickly

    • Sam July 9, 2013 / 5:26 pm

      Thanks. It’s scary, but I am excited! :)

  13. justanotherlisa July 9, 2013 / 5:43 pm

    This excites me greatly as you’ll be in the same country as me! Get used to rain although it can be beautiful and if you need any help with slang let me know haha!

  14. Emma @ Culturecopia July 10, 2013 / 4:58 am

    WOOOOOOOO I’m behind the times on this one but congrats!!!! I’m so excited for you!!! As you know studying abroad was one the best life decisions I’ve ever made!

    • Sam July 10, 2013 / 4:12 pm

      Thanks :)

  15. Jen July 10, 2013 / 6:22 am

    Congrats, and have a fantastic time! You’ll be just fine as long as you keep your wits about you and keep an open mind. :)

    • Sam July 10, 2013 / 4:13 pm

      :) I’ll do my best!

  16. Notorious Beauty Blog July 11, 2013 / 8:42 pm

    That is seriously so exciting! I studied abroad in high school and it was such an amazing experience. Topshop and Boots I am sooooo jealous!!! If I had studied abroad in college I would have gone to England :)

    • Sam July 11, 2013 / 10:05 pm

      I’m just lucky that the university in England costs the same amount in tuition at my college here in the US. I know some study abroad programs are astronomical in cost. I’m stoked about all the British stores I’ll get to go to…and the studying…right…studying. ;)

Leave a Comment

