Banish Tan Lines with Sally Hansen Leg Makeup

Despite the ice cream sundaes, sunshine, and fireflies that summer brings, sometimes summer tans go wrong and leave behind some pretty bad tan lines. Personally, being tan or pale has never bothered me much. I tend to tan easily when I spend time outside, and usually running takes care of a slight tan, but not so much that tan lines are an issue.

However, when I was home for the holiday weekend, my mom was raving about how amazing Sally Hansen’s Airbrush Leg Light Glow Leg Makeup has been working for covering her tan lines. I recommended it to her after hearing MissGlamorazzi rave about it on YouTube, and we found it at Walmart for about $12. My mom works outside and because of this, she has pretty bad tan lines from wearing sneakers, and since she has given up tanning, she has been experimenting with different fake tanning products.

fullbottle

I have to say for being skeptical of products that make you look tanner, I was pretty amazed at how well this worked. For $12, it looks flawless and according to my mom, it doesn’t settle into wrinkles or creases in skin like fake tan does. It’s water resistant, but removes easily with soap and water, but I wouldn’t expect it to hold up perfectly if you jumped in a pool or something. Also, after letting it sit for a minute after applying, it doesn’t rub off on clothing (which would personally be my biggest concern).

There are four different shades available, so finding a match may or not be an easy process especially since this a drugstore brand, meaning you’ll have to use some guess work when choosing a shade. My mom didn’t mention any problems with this wearing off, and overall it seems like a pretty long-lasting product.

beforeafter

However, the best thing about this “makeup” is that it’s so easy to apply. First, you will have to wash your legs, so you have a clean surface to apply (much like when applying makeup on your face). Then, you shake up the bottle and spray it on the area you wish to look tan whether that’s your whole leg or just your feet. Then using your hands, rub in the product, making sure that everything is blended. Let it sit for 60 seconds, and you’re good to go – perfect legs, no pantyhose required.

stepbystepprocess
Overall, even though this kind of product isn’t my thing, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who feels uncomfortable with their leg tan lines.  It is a good value for how well that it works. It’s actually kind of bizarre how natural that it looks. I know this is categorized as “leg makeup”, but I wonder how well it would work for bikini lines on the shoulders and back for special occasions.

Special thanks to my mom for helping me out with this post!

Have you ever tried leg makeup? Do you use fake tan, go tanning, or prefer natural tan?

14 thoughts on “Banish Tan Lines with Sally Hansen Leg Makeup

  1. llewsoba July 9, 2013 / 9:42 am

    I’m not a big fan of self tanners, they are fun to play with though.

    • Sam July 9, 2013 / 12:28 pm

      Me neither. Personally, I wouldn’t have the patience for making sure it was blended in all over my body.

  2. glitterandgirlpower July 9, 2013 / 10:39 am

    I used to use this stuff all the time before I gave into my natural paleness! For anyone who is fair who just wants a natural glow its so much better and easier to apply than most fake tans. Good post!

    • Sam July 9, 2013 / 12:29 pm

      Thanks. I am totally down with rocking the natural skin tone, but I know a lot of people feel weird about their tan lines. This is definitely a nice step-down from the semi-permanence of fake tan.

  3. plainjanemcgough July 9, 2013 / 10:48 am

    And this just washes off after you shower then? I was really looking to try this because my legs are so pale, but was afraid to.

    • Sam July 9, 2013 / 12:35 pm

      Yes, you wash it off with soap and water at the end of the day/night and, it comes right off. It’s nice because you can use it whenever you want without having to deal with the semi-permanence of fake-tan.

  4. budziak July 9, 2013 / 11:07 am

    Wow, that’s kind of amazing… I wouldn’t have known it was spray tan in that photo if you weren’t writing about it!
    I bought St. Tropez in the beginning of summer and used it twice before it started getting patchy :-(
    Instead I’ve been going to the pool after work and on weekends (Toby & I even hate a waterballoon fight with these kids in our comlex). That being said, I’ve purchased/used more sunblock than I ever have in previous years!

    • Sam July 9, 2013 / 12:50 pm

      It’s a pretty awesome product! I’ve never used self-tan, but I always imagined it being a huge pain in the butt. Just the matter of blending it in must be time-consuming. It’s great that you are spending lots of time outdoors as long as you are wearing lots of SPF! :)

  5. Natalie July 9, 2013 / 12:28 pm

    This stuff is a miracle worker, I totally agree. Sometimes I mix it with a little lotion in my hand and then apply. It covers up my bug bites nicely!

    • Sam July 9, 2013 / 12:36 pm

      Mixing it in with lotion is a good idea. Thanks for the tip :)

  6. cupcakes and cardigans July 14, 2013 / 7:59 pm

    I agreed with mixing it with lotion. I usually spray it into my hands, then rub it onto my legs, following with a quick coat of lotion.

  7. idreaminstyle July 25, 2013 / 3:11 pm

    This is one of my favorite summer products! I recommend it to anyone who feels insecure about their legs! Its amazing. Great review!!

    • Sam July 27, 2013 / 9:20 am

      Thank you :)

Leave a Comment

