Products I Didn’t Like

Even though 99 percent of the time this blog is sunshine, rainbows, and products that tickle me pink, sometimes I don’t always end up liking the products that I buy. I always purchase with the best intentions and most of the time, online reviews steer me in the right direction but sometimes, products are just not what I want or expect

Now to be fair, just because a product didn’t work for me doesn’t mean that it isn’t going to work for you. The success or failure of a beauty product is ultimately up to the individual, their body, and what they are looking for in a certain product. So, I am going to do my best to explain why these products didn’t meet my expectations.

productsididn'tlikebarefootscrub

I bought this Freeman Bare Foot Foot Scrub for $3 at Walmart two months ago in the hopes that it would soften my feet for the upcoming summer. However, I was pretty disappointed with it . For one, it’s probably my own fault that I bought something scented with peppermint and plum, but this doesn’t smell very nice.

The product itself has tiny exfoliating beads that you are supposed to massage into the tough areas on your feet. However, they had no effect on me whatsoever. The beads dissolved almost immediately and acted more like a gloopy body lotion more than anything else. 

covergirlcleanfoundationlorealfounationpackaging

I bought this CoverGirl Clean Foundation for Oily Skin three months ago, and I have used it three times since. To start, the most annoying thing about this is the packaging. It comes in a lovely glass bottle, but there is no pump and, the foundation does not come out of the bottle unless you use a q-tip or something to scoop it out. Why CoverGirl decided that this was okay is beyond me. You can literally hold the bottle upside down forever and no foundation comes out (HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE?)

Overall, I thought this was an okay foundation. It wasn’t what I was looking for in terms of coverage, and the lasting power is okay (6-8 hours). But, it also has a very strong chemical scent that I was not a fan of.

equatefloss

You may be wondering why floss got included in this post, but I have to say, this is the worst floss I have ever used in my life. I’m sorry, Walmart, I love you, really, but trying to yank this out from between my teeth is impossible and, it hurts. My advice? Spend the extra $1 for the Equate Extra Comfort floss. You may get less floss in a package, but trust me, save yourself the aggravation.

cliniqueacnesolutions

I did a full review on this Clinique Acne Solutions Moisturizer a few months back so, I won’t spend a lot of time talking about it. Overall, I wasn’t impressed by this at all, especially for the price I paid ($19.50 at Sephora). It dried out my skin, which is kind of bad for a product claiming to be a moisturizer, but I did like the natural scent that it had.

elfeyeprimer

Oh e.l.f., I don’t feel too bad about this purchase considering it was only $1, but this e.l.f. Eyelid Primer was a fail for me. The formula made my eyes water so badly. I actually had to wash it off because my eyes wouldn’t stop tearing up and ruining my eye makeup.

However, you might want to try this if you are looking for a cheap eye primer because the reviews online are really positive so, my reaction to the formula might be the minority.

lorealparistelescopic2

Last up is the L’Oreal Telescopic Liquid Eyeliner, which some of you may have seen in my Target haul. I’m glad I only paid half price for this because it really was disappointing. For one, the brush is huge for a liquid liner. As you can see from the swatch (please ignore my very dry hands, climbing chalk sucks all the moisture from your skin) the far left is the actual thickness of the brush with light pressure. The middle is very light pressure and, the right is the lightest pressure I could manage. Overall, this is incredibly difficult to handle and, it’s basically impossible to do winged liner with this due to the rigidity of the brush. Sorry, L’Oreal, love your eyeshadows but your eyeliner let me down.

So, I hope the negativity of this post wasn’t too much of a killjoy. I don’t like to be the Debbie Downer in the blogosphere, but sometimes I want to put my two cents in if it could end up saving you some money in the long run. Don’t worry though, my next post will be back to the sunshine, rainbows, and showcasing products I adore. And, I’ll be countering this post with a favorites post next week. :)

Have you used any products that disappointed you lately? Have you used any of the products in this post and had a different or similar experience? 

30 thoughts on “Products I Didn’t Like

  1. brazennell July 11, 2013 / 9:22 am

    Love your honesty….my main worry can be that I sometimes don’t like products that every other person in the world loves…so I’m like….what is wrong with me!

    • Sam July 11, 2013 / 9:30 am

      Thanks :) The way I see it, products are so unique to the individual. Something that works for one person may be horrible for someone else. That’s why I am always a bit wary of cult products. It’s easy to give into the hype and not even consider – is this product really ideal for me?

      • brazennell July 11, 2013 / 5:07 pm

        exactly…. love your work as always

  2. plainjanemcgough July 11, 2013 / 9:57 am

    The cover girl foundation and the dental floss I have tried and I do not like them as well. I also thought the cover girl make-up seemed a little oily on top of being impossible to get out of the jar in the right amount. :)

    • Sam July 11, 2013 / 10:30 am

      Oi. It’s so annoying that CoverGirl released a product that you can’t get the makeup out of the container. lol. Who approved that? ;P

      • plainjanemcgough July 11, 2013 / 11:31 am

        They must have been leaving for vacation the next day and just decided, meh, that’s good enough. :)

        • Sam July 11, 2013 / 11:42 am

          Just laughed out loud. ;) I could totally picture that.

          • plainjanemcgough July 11, 2013 / 11:44 am

            So could I, that’s the best part. Enjoy your day.

  3. Jenn July 11, 2013 / 11:10 am

    Man I feel totally jipped when that happens even when its $1. As for the foot scrub, I give up I can’t find anything for my feel/heels. Dr Scholls does make a woments line for feet that helps with the dryness some, they have an all day and over night. I have the over night and I like it. I try to pair it with my Korres lotion especially after I take a shower and try to scrub some of the dead skin off.

    I don’t buy Cliniue anymore. Their products have become to fragrence like and they have a moisturizer that is suppose to be hypoallergenic but I broke out terribly with it.

    I just bought a BB L’Oreal cream and I was kind of disapointed in it. It did it’s job but my skin reacted funny where my eyes watered and my face itched. And I don’t have sensitive skin really unless it’s highly fragrenced and this wasn’t.

    • Sam July 11, 2013 / 11:50 am

      I was really surprised by Clinique. People always used to say such good things about it and now, it seems like their products aren’t what they once were.

      I agree – it always annoys me when I spend money and a product isn’t what I want. I know you can just return a lot of the stuff if I don’t like it, but I always feel really lame doing that. I would feel like I was penalizing the store selling the product not the company..

      L’Oreal is always hit or miss for me. Some things I love, some things…not so much.

      • Jenn July 11, 2013 / 5:01 pm

        I use to use Clinique religiously for years. Then gradually they started changing a lot of their products.I’m not sure why but they even started retiring popular colors and years later bring it back because the people were demanding it. I switched to The Body Shop because they are natural and and care about their product. Their Vitamin E is the only moisturizer I use now.

  4. budziak July 11, 2013 / 11:26 am

    I’m surprised you had such a reaction from the ELF primer, I actually kinda like it. Not nearly as much as my Too Faced one but it’ll do when I’m in a rush and want to grab the first primer I see.
    As for disappointing products, I purchased a bottle of Biotin (Vitamin B7) because it’s known to make hair & nails grow. My hair gets to a certain length and then just stops so I figured it was worth a try. It should be said that I’m a tiny bit of a hypochondriac (more for my cats). Whenever I would cough or sneeze, I would have a tight pressure in my chest and it would hurt, I didn’t think anything of it and assumed it would go away. One morning I woke up with a sore throat but I felt completely fine otherwise and that was the last day I took it. I think I might be allergic to it, the sore throat went away and the pressure isn’t there most of the time. It really sucks though because I know it works, tons of people can vouch for it and my bottle of pills was $15 -_- They now just sit there, taunting me.
    I already told you about my St.Tropez tan experience, that was pretty disappointing. Dior AirFlash foundation was a disappointment too; the MUA put it on me and in the store it looked awesome so I bought it but as soon as I got outside I noticed it looked incredibly greasy, a week later the spray broke so I just returned it.

    • Sam July 11, 2013 / 11:54 am

      Yeah, I remember reading about how the e.l.f. primer worked so well for you. I guess the formula just didn’t work with my skin. Oh well. Guess I’ll have to stick with my Urban Decay primer. ;)

      That sucks about the B7, but it does sound like you were having some kind of reaction to it. I laughed at the part about the pills taunting you. The worst part of this whole post is that no matter that I didn’t like these products, I won’t throw any of them away. After I took a picture of them, I just put them back in their place. lol.

      I feel like throwing the product away is like the ultimate failure. :P

  5. Olga K'ay - water.color.silk July 11, 2013 / 11:53 am

    I have that ELF primer, and while it doesn’t tear me up, I did notice it pinches my skin a bit while drying up. I thought it was acceptable for the kind of product it is, but now having read your experience, I don’t want to use it anymore. No loss for me, as it was about to come to its expiration date anyway (and while I don’t care for expiration dates on powder products, I do pay attention when it comes to skin care or cream based stuff).

    • Sam July 11, 2013 / 12:53 pm

      I mean, it must just be the formula. My eye area must just be too sensitive for it. I am getting better about expiration dates for products mostly because now I blog about a product when I buy it, so I actually know how old the product is by just looking at old posts. lol. I’m horrible at remembering dates.

  6. producthoochie July 11, 2013 / 1:16 pm

    I am with you on the primer. I like the NYX HD one- it is cheap and way better!

    • Sam July 11, 2013 / 2:59 pm

      Never tried it. I’ll keep a lookout. My Urban Decay primer is reaching its end.

        • Sam July 13, 2013 / 11:28 am

          Darn! I was just there!

  7. thetillyvanilly July 11, 2013 / 5:51 pm

    That foot scrub sounds like it smells gross!
    Who thought of putting those scents together?!
    I need to hunt it down and sniff it now…
    T
    xxx

  8. Rebecca Anderson July 12, 2013 / 4:50 am

    I always think its worth spending a little more on things like toothpaste and floss. Your teeth are so important and having nice teeth can totally transform how you look, you need to take the best care of them you can!

    • Sam July 12, 2013 / 11:54 pm

      That makes sense. I usually stick to Crest or Colgate. To be honest, I think it’s the mouthwashes that really push dental hygiene over the edge. Luckily, I don’t drink anything but water, so I avoid a lot of staining that way.

  9. Carina July 12, 2013 / 1:42 pm

    I hate the eyelid primer, too! Haha and I have experienced a similar yucky floss! That liner looks awful. D:

    • Sam July 12, 2013 / 11:55 pm

      The liner was definitely a failure. Oh, L’Oreal…sigh.

  10. maybeitsaboutroro July 12, 2013 / 7:53 pm

    I also have the Elf Eye Primer. I wasn’t impress with it and doesn’t even prevent creasing. It was a total let down since a lot of beauty gurus and junkies were raving about this. Thanks :) kisses from roro

    • Sam July 12, 2013 / 11:57 pm

      I have a theory with e.l.f. I think that all their products are basically just luck of the draw. They are manufactured really cheap and when you are on a low-end of products, the attention to detail in terms of formula is just going to slide to the wayside. I think it’s total hit or miss. I really like their eyeshadow, but the primer is terrible. Luckily, everything is so cheap so, I can afford to experiment!

      • maybeitsaboutroro July 13, 2013 / 8:10 pm

        I so agree with you! ELF products are definitely a matter of hits and misses. Although that’s a major turnoff, it’s not enough form me to stop try some ELF products some time in the future. And good thing it’s cheap! LOL, Thanks Sam :)

        • Sam July 13, 2013 / 9:46 pm

          No problem :)

  11. Jen July 13, 2013 / 5:29 am

    I had to LOL at the dental floss. Mostly because I know how annoying it is to use crappy dental floss. :P

Leave a Comment

