Haul – ULTA, Forever 21, and BareMinerals

Yesterday, I went shopping with my best friend. This sentence pretty much always means another subtraction out of my bank account, but the thing is…I needed these things! I haven’t bought anything beauty related in seven weeks and, I have been battling with my roommates (more to come about that in three weeks, when I move out) so some retail therapy was in order.

ultaforever21baremineralsbag

Our first stop was ULTA. I had never actually been inside an ULTA before because I’ve always just bought things online from them, but I have to say that I like the brightness of it. It seems a little more girly and fresh than Sephora, but Sephora beats ULTA in terms of number of consultants on staff at any given time – so, I guess it’s a trade-off.

ULTArealtechniquestravelessentialsrealtechniquesexpertfacebrush

Anyway, I was on the hunt for some Real Techniques brushes. They were my first choice because I needed reasonably priced (hint: less than $10 a brush) foundation and concealer brushes asap because my e.l.f. brushes have been falling apart after multiple washings.

So, I got the Real Techniques Travel Essentials for $17.99, which is a pretty awesome deal considering you get three brushes: a foundation brush, a multi task brush, and a domed shadow brush (which I am going to use with my BareMinerals mineral concealer). I also got the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush for $8.99, which I’ll admit was an impulse buy. I blame the beauty community! They’re all raving about this brush, and it’s sold out in a lot of places, so when I saw it, I grabbed it.

prestigeeyeliner

I also got a new liquid liner from Prestige Cosmetics for $5.99 after finally admitting defeat with my L’Oreal Telescopic liner. It was relatively cheap for a liquid liner, and had good reviews online, so hopefully I will have some success with it.

baremineralsmattefoundation

Next up, we stopped in bareMinerals so that I could get some more Matte Foundation with SPF 15. I had the consultant match me, just because I wasn’t completely sure about my shade the last time I purchased it (in Sephora), and she matched me with Fairly Medium instead of the Light I have been using. It looked really good from the swatch she did on my face, so I think she’s right about the pink undertones instead of the yellow I usually favor. We’ll see when I try it out myself.

The foundation was $27, but my last container lasted me almost six months wearing it almost every day, so it’s definitely worth the expense. I did a review on this foundation back in February.

forever21headbands

Finally, there is no way I am going in a mall and not stopping in Forever 21. I was actually looking specifically for more cute headbands like the ones I bought in another Forever 21 haul. I got these white and pink headbands for $3.80 each. I have been wearing my old one a lot while rock climbing because honestly, there are a lot of cute guys, it’s super cold in the gym so I don’t sweat at all, and I want to look as cute as possible while falling on my butt off the wall.

They are really great and easy when pulling up my hair in a bun or ponytail because they add instant cuteness to an otherwise lazy hairstyle. Also, for some reason these headbands don’t slide out of my hair like other decorative cloth headbands do. There is something different about the Forever 21 headbands that keeps them in place without having them so tight they are clamping down on my head.

forever21triangleearrings

Finally, even though I was looking for studs (my new obsession), I got these triangle earrings for $3.80. I thought they were really versatile for both casual and office outfits, and to be honest, I’ve kinda been obsessed with geometric patterns and shapes lately.

So, for four brushes, one liquid liner, one mineral foundation, two headbands, and one pair of earrings, I think it’s safe to say I was relatively controlled with my spending with a total of $75.65. However, it’s also safe to say, I’ll be staying away from the mall for awhile.

What products have you purchased lately? Have you used any of the products in this post?

18 thoughts on “Haul – ULTA, Forever 21, and BareMinerals

  1. joannahollyxo July 13, 2013 / 11:12 am

    I really want those Real Techniques Brushes set! I have a stippling brush and love it so much!
    Those earrings are pretty!

    • Sam July 15, 2013 / 8:47 pm

      Please do yourself a favor – go out and buy those brushes right this instant. They are totally worth the hype. They are so soft and amazing, and I think I may be falling in love with my Real Techniques brushes. ;)

  2. producthoochie July 13, 2013 / 11:17 am

    Forever 21 is great for accessories and the clothes are pretty inexpensive if you want something trendy. Good buys on the brushes!

    • Sam July 13, 2013 / 11:29 am

      I would live in Forever 21 if I could. It’s my favorite store by far. :)

  3. Steph Osmanski July 13, 2013 / 11:24 am

    Jolly good haul! I’m itching to get into an Ulta myself because I hear there’s a brow bar??? And they shape your brows according to your facial structure.

    • Sam July 13, 2013 / 11:30 am

      Thanks! They do have a hair/makeup salon inside each ULTA, so I would imagine they do brow shaping. I don’t know what the prices would be like though. ULTA can be a bit expensive, so it might just be more cost-efficient to make an appointment at a wax place.

  4. Carina July 13, 2013 / 12:09 pm

    YAY for new RealTechniques brushes! :) I know you’ve been wanting them for a while. Ugh, I really really want to just spend all my money at bareMinerals sometimes. I’m in love with their original foundation; it’s all I ever wear these days.

    • Sam July 13, 2013 / 2:13 pm

      lol. I thought of you when I was buying them because all I do is say I want to buy them whenever you talk about yours ;) I totally agree about bareMinerals. When I was in there yesterday I just had tunnel vision for the foundation. I love their stuff so much! I wish I could try it all.

      • Carina July 14, 2013 / 3:21 pm

        It’s so funny, there’s really this little microcosm of bareMinerals fans on forums and stuff all over the Internet. I’m surprised and delighted that it’s still SUCH a big thing for some people.

  5. Rebecca July 13, 2013 / 1:22 pm

    I’ve used that Prestige liquid liner and I got on really well with it. I love the applicator being more like a pen. Let me know how you get on with it!

    • Sam July 13, 2013 / 2:14 pm

      That’s great to hear! The reviews are great online, but I’ll let you know how it works out. :)

  6. catchaneye July 13, 2013 / 1:24 pm

    Your gonna love the real techniques brushes! Those head bands are so cute but i find ones like that just ping off my head :( x

    • Sam July 13, 2013 / 2:19 pm

      I used one this morning…oh my god…these brushes are AMAZING. I was shocked when I started using them. They blend so well! Usually, I have the same problem with headbands, but the Forever 21 ones I don’t have trouble with for some reason. I don’t know what is different about them…

  7. Alyx July 14, 2013 / 12:33 pm

    I’m so glad you like the Real Techniques brushes! I have a bunch of them and I LOVE them.

    • Sam July 14, 2013 / 1:44 pm

      They are so great. I actually get excited to use them! They are so soft and blend amazingly.

  8. Jen July 18, 2013 / 5:30 am

    I freakin’ love that Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. Love love love it. I would marry it if I could (okay, maybe not. But you get the idea).

    • Sam July 18, 2013 / 2:39 pm

      I’m right with you! I feel ridiculous because every time I use the dang brushes, I am just smiling like crazy. THEY BLEND SO WELL, and how are they so soft? Amazing for the price.

Leave a Comment

