Brighten Under Eye Circles in Three Easy Steps

finishedlook

Good morning and happy Monday! Waking up early for work hasn’t been doing wonders for my dark circles, and I don’t exactly have twenty minutes every day to blend and brighten up those dark shadows. So, I’ve come up with a quick routine to brighten my eyes in three steps which takes me about two minutes max.

I have to admit, my complexion is looking especially glowy thanks to the new bareMinerals foundation shade and the Real Techniques foundation brush I mentioned in Saturday’s haul. I am definitely loving both.

For this eye look you will need:

  • a concealer (preferably one meant for under eye darkness)
  • white eyeliner
  • a highlighter (white eyeshadow)
  • mascara

applyconcealer

1. Apply concealer under your eyes and your inner corners, and blend. Unfortunately, the concealer I used isn’t designed specifically for dark circles, but it basically does the job. For the best results, I would recommend something designed for under eye darkness. You want to make sure to get in the space above your inner corners because a lot of shadow comes from this area. This is also the time to cover up any dark veins in your eye area, which I tend to see when I am really tired.

applywhiteeyeliner

2. Apply white eyeliner to your inner corner and lower waterline, and blend. If anything else, do this step. White eyeliner is amazing for brightening the eyes, and it is a great quick fix.

applyhighlighter

3. Apply highlighter to your inner corner and upper brow bone, and blend. You want to bring as much light as possible to your eyes, and the highlighter works with the eyeliner to add a nice splash of white against your eyes. Make extra sure to blend out your highlighter because unless you are super pale, the white shadow is going to be noticeable if you don’t blend the edges.

 

4. Curl lashes and, apply mascara.

5. Smile. In the end, nothing will make you look younger, brighter, and happier than a grin.

thumbsup

There you have it. This process is a super quick and the end result is a natural look that’s perfect for a low-key makeup day or when you don’t have time to put on and blend three different eyeshadows, perfect your winged liner, or try not to mess up  smokey eye.

I hope you all have a wonderful Monday. I had an awesome low-key weekend, and as much as I don’t want to get back to the office, unfortunately the weekend wouldn’t be the weekend if it went on forever.

What’s your favorite under eye concealer/product? How was your weekend?

13 thoughts on “Brighten Under Eye Circles in Three Easy Steps

  1. Nicci July 15, 2013 / 9:26 am

    I love your success face! What concealer did you use? It looks like it did a great job covering.

    • Sam July 15, 2013 / 10:19 am

      It’s the CoverGirl Fresh Complexion concealer. However, I would recommend it more for redness or blemishes because it does awesome with removing redness around my nose. It’s okay for under eye, but I think it lacks the right brightness/pop of light.

  2. Notorious Beauty Blog July 15, 2013 / 11:06 am

    My favorite under eye concealer is definitely benefit erase paste! It’s the only thing I have found that really covers mine hah

    • Nicci July 15, 2013 / 11:22 am

      Same here! I’ve heard people say that it settles into their fine lines really badly, but I’ve discovered through trial & error that if I do a few super-thin layers it doesn’t crease.

      • Sam July 15, 2013 / 11:50 am

        It’s definitely on my list of things to try. :)

      • Notorious Beauty Blog July 15, 2013 / 12:55 pm

        Yeah I haven’t had a problem with that either! I just find that my circles can get really dark when I am tired and it doesn’t always cover them all the way but normally it works really well for me! :)

  3. budziak July 15, 2013 / 11:56 am

    Your eyes are so pretty in this post. The brightening works! I just figured out how to use my Maybelline Lumi Concealer :-) Love it.

    • Sam July 15, 2013 / 12:29 pm

      Thank you :) I haven’t heard of the Maybelline Lumi Concealer – do you like it? I honestly can’t wait until I am done with the concealer I was using in this post, so that I can buy a new one.

  4. jasminwbu July 15, 2013 / 12:49 pm

    I really love this post! I get awful dark circles/bags underneath my eyes. I will definitely try this :)

    • Sam July 15, 2013 / 12:53 pm

      Thanks :) You should definitely try white eyeliner. It really does a good job at brightening your eyes, and it’s such a simple step!

  5. Rebecca July 15, 2013 / 2:50 pm

    Your eyes are a really lovely colour :) I have a concealer which I am happy with for spots and blemishes but I need a decent under eye concealer, can you recommend one?

    • Sam July 15, 2013 / 8:53 pm

      That’s sweet of you to say. Thank you :) Unfortunately, I have yet to uncover an under eye concealer that I would feel comfortable recommending. I’m not thrilled with the one I’ve been using, but I have to use it up before I can buy a new one. Sorry :/ However, if you look up in the comments, people have been raving about the Benefit Erase Paste. I think that will be my next buy!

      • Rebecca July 16, 2013 / 2:49 am

        Ah yes, I think a friend told me about that the other day. I might try that too!

Leave a Comment

