How NOT to Fill in Your Eyebrows

Let me start off by saying, I am really not all that great at doing my own eyebrows. I only just learned how to maintain and shape them, and being the broke college student that I am, I’d rather pluck my brows myself rather than fork over $10 to have them waxed. I am by no means an eyebrow expert.

But, let’s face it, when eyebrows go wrong, they go wrong, and when they are right, they define your face.

So, eyebrows are darn important, which can’t be more obvious than when you see a woman’s eyebrows filled in all wrong. Some mistakes aren’t that noticeable, but sometimes you just look at someone’s brows and have to wonder – what was she thinking?

hownottodoyourbrows1and2

1. If your hair is not black, your eyebrows shouldn’t be either. Obviously there are exceptions to this rule, however, I am not a personal fan of black brows on those who don’t have dark hair. A lot of the time when brows that are naturally lighter are filled in with black, the brows look too dark and heavy. Brown hair and black hair are not interchangeable, so the shades used to fill in brows shouldn’t be either. Take notice of your natural brow shade and go from there.

2. Glitter eyeshadow is meant for your eyelids not your brows. No matter how amazing and pigmented a shadow is, and how well it may match your brow shade, if it has glitter in it, do not put it on your eyebrows. Seriously. Stick with matte eyeshadows or even buy brow powder for filling in your brows if you want to avoid looking like a disco ball.

3and43. Do not use pencil to draw your brows in as thin lines. For one, if your brows are already so sparse that you are able to line them with the thickness of a brow pencil, put down the tweezers and walk away. You’ve got to let those babies grow out a bit. Skinny, pencil-drawn brows don’t really give you a chance to accentuate your eyes and highlight the bones of your face because everyone is just going to be wondering where your brows have gone.

4. Blend in your brow powder and avoid outlining. I have totally been guilty of this brow foul, but I will also admit it is my biggest pet peeve when looking at other women’s brows. You have got to make sure your brow powder is blended in. Brush them through, use a Q-tip, whatever it takes. Also, getting just a tad lighter with your application towards the beginning of your brow (closest to the inner corner) just makes everything look more natural. Avoid the geometric, boxy brows at all costs.

Like I said, I am not a brow expert. Go with what you think looks best on your face and what you are most comfortable with. If you are struggling to shape your brows, go get a wax or buy a shaping kit. The thing is, you don’t have to have bad brows if you don’t want to. I use brow powder because my brows are sparse, but pencil works too. For those intimated by brow powder, I did a tutorial on how I fill in my brows a few months ago

Make sure your brow shade is one or two shades lighter than your actual hair color. Don’t over pluck and most importantly, do not use glitter eyeshadow to fill in your brows. Ever. I’ve seen it in real life and, it is not pretty.

Happy weekend!

What is your biggest eyebrow pet peeve?

20 thoughts on “How NOT to Fill in Your Eyebrows

  1. producthoochie July 20, 2013 / 10:21 am

    I do my own brows, too. As much as I love cosmetics, they stay as natural as possible!

    • Sam July 20, 2013 / 10:31 am

      I agree. It can look scary if you go too heavy on your brows with the products lol.

  2. White Pearl July 20, 2013 / 11:44 am

    I am scared of getting my eye brows done, the most lol It can change the shape of your face ! Love the post ….. great effort ! xx

    • Sam July 20, 2013 / 11:51 am

      You mean, you’re scared of having them waxed? I’ve done it as a teenager and, it’s not bad at all. The waxers have done a million brows, so they have a pretty good idea what will suit your face best.

  3. EyeOfTheBeholder July 20, 2013 / 12:22 pm

    I think your glittery eyebrows would be a big hit at a Studio 54 party or big New Year’s Eve bash!

    • Sam July 20, 2013 / 3:11 pm

      Lol. ;) They were cool looking. They’d be cool for Halloween.

  4. gatorglamgirl July 20, 2013 / 12:39 pm

    The WORST are people who draw them in. They look permanently surprised.

    • Sam July 20, 2013 / 3:13 pm

      It can be rather cringe worthy. I think most women just don’t know what to do with their brows, and they get stuck in a routine of filling them in the wrong way.

  5. myclosetnbeautyfinds90 July 20, 2013 / 4:26 pm

    I have dark brown hair and my eyebrows are naturally black. Not dark black but not brown so I fill them in with a charcoalish color. I feel that looks best on me. Brown just looks weird.

    • Sam July 20, 2013 / 4:44 pm

      Again, there are exceptions. I think the thing about black powder and pencil is that it can be hard to control in terms of if you go even a little too heavy it tends to look unnatural. It’s definitely a practiced art.

  6. Rebecca July 20, 2013 / 5:08 pm

    Great post! Eyebrows is the one thing I avoid like the plague! I obviously keep them well groomed but I don’t fill them in at all. I just know I’d end up looking like your examples!

    • Sam July 20, 2013 / 5:11 pm

      Some people don’t have to fill in their brows! Mine are just sparse, and they look better with some filling in. It’s hard to get the hang of filling, but the more you practice the better you get at it. :) If you were really interested in trying it out, you could get a Sephora/ULTA consultant to show you some brow powders and how to apply them.

        • Sam July 20, 2013 / 5:17 pm

          They look good to me. Like I said, mine are naturally sparse, but yours look like you have a good amount of brow so your brows pop out without powder. Filling in is more for accentuating your brows when they need some extra help. From the photo though, yours look good to me!

  7. bubliibeauty July 21, 2013 / 4:06 am

    Loved all your tips :) Such a informative post ! Its funny to see when plp overdo their eyebrows … ! Thanks a lot for sharing this post with us !

    • Sam July 21, 2013 / 9:55 am

      Thanks. Filling in eyebrows is hard! It’s definitely a practiced effort.

Leave a Comment

