11 Questions Tag: Uggs, the 50’s, Spray Tan, & More

11questionstag
I am a total brat when it comes to doing tags. I totally appreciate being tagged in different stuff, but I am basically I am a spoiled ten year old when it comes to actually doing tags. The thing is, I like to pick tags where I feel like I can give a fun, interesting answer to the questions and, I know I can incorporate a visual element too.

So, I am sorry if I haven’t done a tag that you tagged me in. It’s not that I don’t appreciate it…I’m basically just a tag snob. Anyway. I was tagged by notquitecarrieb to do the 11 questions tag, and my tag snobbery gave me the thumbs up, so here we go…

1. What’s you’re favorite era?

1950swomensdress

In terms of style, my favorite era is the 1950’s. It was the age of dresses cinched at the waist, gloves, and cat-eye glasses. This era is literally my stylistic dream. I like to dress conservatively and, I love the classiness of an hourglass silhouette. Sigh. It’s so glamorous.

2. What trend do you hope doesn’t return?

uggs

I am so glad to say that I never participated in the Ugg trend. I’m sorry, but I think Uggs are Ugg-ly. I don’t care how comfy they are, wearing Uggs with a miniskirt is pretty much equivalent to wearing bunny slippers with a miniskirt. No. Just no.

3. How do you make time for your blogging?

watchTwo words: time management. When I have spare time, I am on WordPress. However, that doesn’t mean blogging consumes my life. Blogging fits into my life. I don’t plan my life around blogging.  In total, I probably spend 10 to 15 hours total doing all things blog related. People who think blogging is easy, have no idea! It’s a lot of work, but it’s well worth it and, I love it.

(Yes, I am one of those weirdos who wears an actual watch.)

4. What would you change if you had the opportunity and resources?

This is going to sound so lame considering world hunger, poverty, and all the terrible things in the world, but it’s my post so, I would change the modern food industry. I have read about and studied the modern food production system and, I have slowly begun to realize the costly effects of the chemicals and preservatives in our food on our bodies and planet. This summer, I have made a bigger effort eat clean meaning – reading a lot of labels, limiting processed foods, and upping my veggie and fruit count. Overall, I feel happier, healthier, and my training and energy level has improved.

In my opinion, the US has gotten out of control with how we produce our food. We sell food that is super cheap, but we are destroying our bodies and planet in the process. We are also degrading not only the animals who feed us, who are treated with cruelty from birth to death, but also employees who are forced to work under harsh conditions with minimal pay. If you are interested in this topic, I would strongly recommend watching Food, Inc.

Long rant over.

5. How many make up brushes do you have?

brushesSeventeen, but that number is going to be increasing sometime soon because I just discovered the Real Techniques brushes, and they are AMAZING – totally worth the hype.

6. What’s your favorite lip products?

vaselineliptherapy

I’ve currently been obsessed with my Vaseline Lip Therapy in Cocoa Butter. I don’t really like wearing or worrying about reapplying brighter lip shades in the office, so this is a nice moisturizing product with the right bit of shine. On the other hand, my Revlon lip butter is also a strong contender. It is moisturizing, has great pigmentation, and is inexpensive – aka amazing.

7. What overseas brand/product do you wish you had on your home turf?

lizearle

Liz Earle – uh. duh – with the runner up being Bourjois. I get so frustrated hearing the European bloggers rave about Bourjois knowing it’s not available in the US.

8. What kind of base coat do you use for your nails?

ultabasecoat

ULTA Salon Formula Nail Lacquer. I got it on sale for $2, and it does the job perfectly – well worth the price.

9. Do you have a favorite hair product? If so, what is it?

johnfrieda

I raved about my John Frieda Frizz-Ease Smooth Start Hydrating Shampoo in another post, but trust me, if you are struggling with your curly hair try this. It was less than $6 a tube at Walmart, and it has totally changed my hair. I can’t say enough good things about both of these.

10. If you could travel anywhere where would you go and why?

parispicturesIn reality, I have been dreaming of visiting my Paris my whole life. In a fantasy world, I would want to travel to some random planet in the Tardis. With Matt Smith as the Doctor. Just me and Matt. Matt and I. Just to be clear.

11. What beauty habit do you just not understand?

annehathawayspraytanI don’t and will never understand fake tan or spray tan. Being pale or tan or anything in between has never bothered me. I don’t care about tan lines or how pasty my skin is in the winter. Like everyone I have beauty hang-ups, but being tan is not one of them.

I’m tagging:
Jenn @ icedwavez.wordpress.com
Jen @ http://barelyorganizedchaos.com/
Carina @ http://softly.nothingspaces.com/
Budziak @ http://www.budziakbeauty.com/
Michelle @ http://nyrmirez.wordpress.com/
Tori @ http://notoriousbeautyblog.com/
Rebecca @ http://aperfectmasquerade.wordpress.com/

My 11 questions for you: 
1. What got you interested in makeup?
2. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life what would it be?
3. What is your favorite book or TV show?
4. What beauty habit do you just not understand?
5. What’s your favorite nail polish brand?
6. What’s your favorite part about being a blogger?
7. What’s the first thing you do when you get up in the morning?
8. If you could only wear either jewelry or lipstick for the rest of your life which would you choose?
9. Who’s your top celebrity crush?
10. You’ve just become queen of the world, what’s the first issue you tackle?
11. What’s one thing people wouldn’t realize about you at first glance?

Everyone else is welcome to jump in on the tag fun, but no pressure as I know some of you are probably tag snobs like me. ;)

22 thoughts on “11 Questions Tag: Uggs, the 50’s, Spray Tan, & More

  1. producthoochie July 24, 2013 / 9:37 am

    Bourjois used to be sold in Sephora but they no longer carry it. Paris is my favorite city in the world!

    • Sam July 24, 2013 / 9:38 am

      :( It’s so sad. I wish they sold it here. Luckily, I will be in the UK in less than two months so I can buy it all up. lol.

  2. plainjanemcgough July 24, 2013 / 10:13 am

    1) When I chopped off my hair, I had to make my face prettier. :) 2) Is seafood too broad? 3) TV show would be Game Of Thrones. 4) Plucking out all eye brows and penciling them in. 5) So far, Sephora/OPI 6) I can say whatever I want, and not feel like I need to censor myself or be judged. 7) Stretch and hop in the shower. 8) Jewelry, I feel like it expresses who I am better. 9) I don’t really have a crush, but I think Jason Schwartzman is pretty awesome. 10) All the war and hostility. Very unnecessary. 11) I am actually kind of shy.

    • Sam July 24, 2013 / 10:24 am

      I DON’T UNDERSTAND WHY PEOPLE SHAVE OFF THEIR EYEBROWS. I honestly cannot understand what logical thought process has them conclude that they can convincingly draw in their brows with pencil. Can you imagine how awkward the growing back in process would be? You would have these weird little stubbly brow hairs, and … why? lol.

      I have never really tried OPI polishes, but it’s on my list of products to try. I know they sell OPI at Target in the Nicole version, but I’ve never understood whether that was the same formula as the original OPI.

      • plainjanemcgough July 24, 2013 / 10:37 am

        Hmm, you know, I am not sure. I just got a really awesome nail polish from Sephora, but it says Sephora OPI, so I don’t know what’s going on. I have usually thought that OPI was kind of over rated, because it chips just as easily as any other polish. I should have said Spa ritual, because that polish is amazing, and harsh chemical free. Fake eye brows really bother me, and I feel like a jerk, because I know I stare at the people who have them, even though I try not to. :)

        • Sam July 24, 2013 / 10:43 am

          Any time I see really bad eyebrows I just cringe. Cringe. Cringe. Cringe. I just get distracted thinking – what possessed you to leave the house like that! I sympathize though. Eyebrows are really hard to do right, and I am not perfect with them either, but sometimes they are just done so wrong you just can’t imagine what they were thinking!

          • plainjanemcgough July 24, 2013 / 11:10 am

            Very true! I could use some help on mine, that’s for sure. But I will never shave them off. :)

  3. EyeOfTheBeholder July 24, 2013 / 11:05 am

    Totally with you on the tanning! I’m super pale and proud of it! Sure I need to watch out when it’s sunny, but on the plus side that means I won’t turn into a prune!

    • Sam July 24, 2013 / 11:21 am

      Very true! Before I started running, I was always pale, and my family and friends always used to tease me, but I always just didn’t care. lol. I would put on SPF 50 and, they would laugh and say it was SPF-Albino. :'( They are so mean. ;)

  4. jen July 24, 2013 / 9:55 pm

    This is such a fun post! I am not a fan of tanning either – I believe in rocking the pale skin and would rather have nice skin someday than a tan tomorrow!!! That and any attempt at tanning has always left me burnt! lol I’m going to do your tag over on my page.

    • Sam July 25, 2013 / 9:06 am

      Thanks. I mean, I think people look nice when they have a nice tan, but I don’t necessarily think people look bad when they are pale. Some people get hung up on their “tan-ness” or lack of tan though. The idea of laying in a tanning bed terrifies me – hello skin cancer city.

  5. alice July 25, 2013 / 1:44 am

    Totally with you on the uggs. Just… no. And especially with skirts! Like you spent time getting dressed, did you really have to just go pull on the uggs when there’s probably a bunch of other options in your closet? haha -.-

    • Sam July 25, 2013 / 9:10 am

      I agree. They totally ruin an outfit. I never liked them even when all the popular girls in my school were wearing them. I had to look away when people would be wearing them in the middle of summer. Like, why are you wearing FURRY BOOTS in the dead heat of summer? I don’t care how comfy they are!

  6. AxStyle July 25, 2013 / 1:28 pm

    What a great post!!! I never liked uggs. Being a European blogger, I really want to try wet and wild, mainly because everyone raves about their eyeshadows. Oh, and what is the name of that lip butter? I have sorbet and cotton candy!:) great post:) x

    • Sam July 25, 2013 / 2:02 pm

      Thank you :D Wet n’ Wild is pretty decent for being so cheap. I didn’t realize it wasn’t also available in Europe. The Revlon lip butters are definitely amazing, especially being as cheap as they are.

      • AxStyle July 25, 2013 / 2:13 pm

        I think you can get it from some shops and you might be able to get it in different countries. The lip butters are my favourite lip product for quick and efficient colour. :)

  7. Emma @ Culturecopia July 29, 2013 / 8:09 am

    Hahah, I also hope the Uggs trend doesn’t return – and I don’t get the fake tan thing either! Also, I loooove my watch!! I hope you get to visit Paris someday, it’s so beautiful!

  8. Jen August 6, 2013 / 4:27 am

    Oh, ha! I didn’t even see that I was tagged. Yay, new post idea! :P

Leave a Comment

