Walmart Haul

It’s been six months since I have gone a week without blogging, and I have to admit it was weird not clicking on WordPress every morning. However, with my internship over, my stuff in a new apartment, and a “stay-cation” on the horizon, things will definitely be slowing down this week, meaning I’ll be back on track in terms of blogging.

I had been running low on some products and with my internship over (and pay check in hand), I stopped by Walmart to pick up a few new products.

walmarthaulrevloncolorburstlipgloss

I have a confession to make – I lose lip gloss all the time. Honestly, in the first week of owning a lip gloss it disappears only to never be seen again. It is my goal to hold onto this Revlon Colorburst lip gloss for at least a month. This was $6.48, but I had a $2 off coupon. I would say Revlon is one of the best makeup brands when it comes to finding coupons.

I like this gloss so far. It’s not sticky and, it has a nice shine even though it’s not very long lasting. I was looking for something a little more natural than a lipstick and, this works perfectly.

neutrogenacreaseproofeyeshadow

I picked up Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow in Constant Copper. It was $6.97, but I had a $2 off coupon. It says that it has a built in primer, so we’ll see how well it holds up. I’ve gotten pretty spoiled by my Urban Decay primer potion – I’m still using the sample size, six months after first getting it – so, I am interested to see how well the formula works in terms of creasing.

cakebatterchapsticknycpumpinglipgloss

Okay. I didn’t necessarily need Cake Batter smelling Chapstick, but it was $.99 and, Walmart was tempting me with them at the checkout. It smells like Cake Batter and, I’ll probably lose it by the end of the week. Don’t judge me. You would have done the same thing.

I also bought the NYC Big Bold Lip Gloss for $3.57. I wanted something that I could apply without having to look in the mirror that was just light and natural. I don’t know about everyone else, but summer doesn’t really inspire me to wear tons of bright lip shades. I kind of just want something simple.

nycsparkleeyedust

I would imagine this NYC Sparkle Eye Dust is supposed to be some kind of dupe for MAC Pigment powder. I haven’t used the pigment powder, but I have to say, I really liked using this for the first time!

I have been using white eyeshadow in the corners of my eyes as a brightener lately, and I was looking for something with a bit of shine to it. This is a white loose powder with a concealer-style applicator.  It was only $2.74, and I am pretty sure it will last me forever, and I like that it has that bit of sparkle to brighten the eye area even more than just matte white.

hardcandyglamoflauge hardcandyconcealerpencil

I was looking for a new under eye concealer, and I came across Hard Candy Glamoflauge for $6.00, which also came with a concealer pencil. I used the concealer for the first time under my eyes this weekend and, it is amazing! I would say this is high-end quality coverage for a drugstore price. It really works to conceal under eye circles, and while I haven’t tried it on any blemishes, I feel like this would work really well.

All in all, Walmart is a pretty good place to pick up drugstore brands if you are strapped for cash. I don’t agree with a lot of their business practices, but unfortunately I don’t have the means to buy all high-end and, Walmart is a frequented place by money-strapped college students like myself.

Also, if you are buying drugstore brands, use coupons if they are available! I saved four dollars during this trip, but you can save even more if you are willing to try out different brands.

What are your favorite drugstore brands? Where do you get the best deals for beauty products near you?

21 thoughts on “Walmart Haul

  1. jen August 5, 2013 / 9:29 am

    Love the color of the revlon gloss! (What color is it?!) I love lip glosses and lose mine but they seem to reappear for me weeks or months later! lol

    • Sam August 5, 2013 / 10:36 am

      Thanks, Jen. The shade is Peony. I will rarely find a lip gloss in my purse sometime after the fact, but usually they just seem to disappear all together! lol ;)

  2. budziak August 5, 2013 / 10:33 am

    I like picking up the Color Tattoo cream shadows at Walmart, they’re ~$5 vs $7 at regular drugstores. You should try NYX lip glosses from Ulta, they’re cheaper than Revlon and aren’t sticky at all. I don’t know why I didn’t try them earlier! I have a ridiculous amount of lip products and I am the person that wears crazy bright colors in the summer ;-) They’re just fun.

    • Sam August 5, 2013 / 1:29 pm

      I have heard a lot of good things about NYX, but I have never bought anything from them. I guess I tend not to wear many lip products in the summer because I am afraid I will leave them out in the car and, they will melt into a lipstick puddle. lol.

  3. nyrmirez August 5, 2013 / 10:36 am

    I have been meaning to try the Glamoflauge concealer and I am glad you like it. Did you have a issue with how it matched your skin tone? I know they only have a couple shades, well at least at my Walmart they have about three different shades. Next time I am at Walmart I am going to have to pick it up! I’m glad you got a much needed break from blogging it sounded like you really needed it :) Glad to have you back!

    • Sam August 5, 2013 / 1:31 pm

      Thanks :) I think the shade I got (medium-light) is a little light for my skin tone, but it works well for under my eyes. I would definitely give it a try if you are interested. It’s only $6 at my Walmart, which is really cheap for a concealer.

  4. Natalie August 5, 2013 / 1:07 pm

    The Glamoflauge really is a great product, huh? I use the concealer pencil as reverse lip liner, when my lipstick bleeds out too far and it works like a charm. I totally am gonna keep an eye out for the Cake Batter chapstick, what is better than that?

    • Sam August 5, 2013 / 1:33 pm

      Yeah! I was really surprised I haven’t heard anyone talk about it before considering I like it so much. It’s a really heavy duty concealer for the price. $6 is quite a bargain for an okay concealer, but for a really good concealer, it’s a steal!

  5. producthoochie August 5, 2013 / 2:45 pm

    I like the NYC shadow- I bought two and there was a little fall out but not enough to not use it.I saw the Neutrogena shadow stick, too, but didn’t pick it up. I am curious how it goes! You need the NYX HD Eye Primer. It really is my favorite and is cheap.

    • Sam August 5, 2013 / 3:35 pm

      You’re the second person to recommend NYX today. I definitely need to get on that. There is definitely a bit of fallout with the NYC shadow, but it’s nothing too drastic. I like that it comes with an applicator instead of just having it loose in a container.

      • producthoochie August 5, 2013 / 4:19 pm

        I agree. It is the first loose pigment I have liked in a long time.

  6. beautygirl104 August 5, 2013 / 3:06 pm

    Where do you find coupons like these? I’ve found Covergirl ones in the Sunday papers once a month, but I’ve never seen Neutrogena or Revlon ones.

    • Sam August 5, 2013 / 3:40 pm

      They come in the Sunday paper. We usually get three booklets of coupons in the Baltimore Sun paper every Sunday. Also, I know Target also has online coupons which I make a point to print out when I think of it. I would look in the biggest newspaper in your area that comes with a lot of sale ads – that would be your best bet for finding coupons.

      • beautygirl104 August 7, 2013 / 4:13 pm

        I’ll have to check again, now that I know they’re out there! Thank you! :)

  7. sweetdarlingblog August 5, 2013 / 9:53 pm

    Oh my god. Cake Batter Chapstick sounds life changing. YUM!

    • Sam August 6, 2013 / 8:31 am

      And it smells really good. :)

  8. mcgrace August 6, 2013 / 9:44 am

    I am completely obsessed with the Glamouflage concealer! It is really thick, I find, but since I have really apparent hyper pigmentation it seems to work really well! Love times a hundred.

    • Sam August 6, 2013 / 9:56 am

      It’s really awesome! I can’t believe I’ve never heard about it before now.

Leave a Comment

