Frizz is Unavoidable

It is impossible to live life without having bad hair days. Take a moment. Put down the hairspray/anti-frizz serum. Take a deep breath. Process it. It’s going to be okay.

Growing up with curly hair, I was bullied because of my hair. Bullies called me frizz-head, and it made me so self-conscious of my hair that I wore my hair in a gelled ponytail every day for two years. I thought frizz was the most embarrassing thing on the planet.

crazyhair

Throughout high school, I tried to straighten my hair into submission, but the frizz returned as soon as my hair touched humidity. I tried a million different products to fight the frizz, but it wasn’t until I got older that I realized that frizz is part of having curly hair. 

Hair is frizzy. It’s flat. It gets greasy. It gets squished down on one side when you sleep on it. It gets tangled, and sometimes, no matter how hard you try, you just can’t get that dang part straight. Bad hair days happen, and there is nothing you can do to stop them.

curly hair problems

I am all for good hair care. Happy hair is healthy hair, but that doesn’t meant that healthy hair is always going to be happy.

I hear women continuously tearing themselves down because their hair is a frizzy or their curls have fallen and, I just have to shake my head. Ladies, first of all, you’re gorgeous, and it’s time you start appreciating the things you love about yourself and stop dwelling on things you can’t change. Secondly, a bad hair day is not the end of the world. It’s going to happen, again and again and again, and it’s time to accept there is nothing you can do about it.

Perfect hair does not exist. Those supermodel curls and sleek, shining locks that you see on TV and in magazines are a product of fancy lighting, too much product, and the ever popular, Photoshop.

expectationrealitycurlyhair

You are a human being. At some point every day, you leave your house and go out into the real world, and that means dealing with humidity, dryness, rain, and wind. Nature doesn’t care whether you spent an hour straightening your hair – all it takes is one speck of humidity and your hard work is curling and frizzing the moment you step out the door.

It’s time that we all get over the perfect hair thing. It’s unattainable (despite what Tumblr pictures may show us), and it’s time that we move on to something more important to obsess about (like our cuticles). Life is going to happen, and hair cannot live up to the perfect standards we keep setting for it.

I’m not saying give up on hair care. Hair care is important because let’s be honest, good hair makes us feel good, but bad hair shouldn’t be the end of our existence. We are not perfect and no one expects any one else to be perfect or look perfect or act perfect.

Source
Source: Solesky Suarez

I know after reading this, you will all run back to your serums and hairsprays, and that’s okay, but the next time your hair is unmanageable, take a deep breath, and remember your world isn’t going to crumble because you’ve got a bit of frizz or flyaways like crazy. You are still beautiful and still loved.

And when all else fails, remember there are stores full of hats, headbands, and hair ties to manage that crazy hair for the day.

18 thoughts on “Frizz is Unavoidable

  1. marijadebono August 7, 2013 / 11:04 am

    i love this post! And just to be clear, i really love your hair :) There will always be bullies and people will always find something to pick on, even if you are ””perfect””.

    Life is too short to waste half of it, styling your hair! I used to straighten mine all the time, everyone used to think my hair is spaghetti straight, when it is actually a bit wavy. I now learnt it still looks good when it is natural – so much less time, heat and pressure! :)

    Great post once again!

    Marija from http://www.allthingslady.wordpress.com

    • Sam August 7, 2013 / 7:11 pm

      Thank you :) I am so glad I got over the hair straightening thing. It added like 20 minutes to my routine, and if it rained it just got completely ruined as soon as I walked outside! I agree though, bullies are going to pick on people no matter what you do or don’t do. Some people are just jerks. :P

      • marijadebono August 7, 2013 / 7:14 pm

        yeah! exactly – it’s amazing what you can do with those extra minutes you gain when you DON’T straighten your hair :) here i am today, with just some leave in conditioner and a little bit of mousse – no straightening, no hassle ;)

        • Sam August 7, 2013 / 7:50 pm

          Totally true! Those extra minutes can be a blessing.

  2. producthoochie August 7, 2013 / 11:18 am

    Curly Hair People Unite! I am with you all the way. I used to straighten it all the time but I stopped. I appreciate what I have on my head!

    • Sam August 7, 2013 / 7:53 pm

      :) Curly heads unite!

  3. budziak August 7, 2013 / 11:59 am

    This is totally that whole grass is greener on the other side, I can’t tell you how much I longed for curly hair growing up. I had super long hair as a child and every morning my mom would always put it in 2 braids as tight as can be… That sucked. I loved letting my hair down and doing things to it, probably because I was so limited as a kid. Haha. I think you know my frizz problems, it’s mostly in a mess bun or pony tail nowadays, I really just don’t care anymore, good hair days have become rare. I love that photo of you at the top, your curls are awesome :-)

    • Sam August 7, 2013 / 7:55 pm

      It’s just so exhausting to spend all this time wishing for something that is never going to happen! I hate listening to people I know complain about their appearance, so why should I spend so much time myself caring about my hair. No one got time for that.

  4. sarastylestampa August 7, 2013 / 2:20 pm

    I love this! Very well written, encouraging and enlightening.
    I always tell my clients that the summer humidity is actually perfect because it helps us all embrace the more “natural” side of our hair. The “Beach hair” term is the perfect excuse to wear your lazy waves or full on curls as wild as they come.
    Cheers to inspiring us all to accept ourselves and embrace the beauty even in what we consider the “disaster”.
    <3!
    Sara

    • Sam August 7, 2013 / 7:59 pm

      Thanks, Sara. I’m all for the lazy hair – all year around. ;P I’ve realized that if I get a high quality hair cut, I can just wear my hair natural without any styling products whatsoever. Totally worth it in my opinion!

  5. Jenn August 7, 2013 / 3:06 pm

    I have bone straight thin hair and hated it for the longest time. Then I embraced it. But I use to all the products in the world and noticed it made it worse. So now, Ieave my hair as it is. I use natural shampoos and just let it do its thing. Frizzy, dry, soft or wavy when it wants to bed. I can’t tame it.

    • Sam August 7, 2013 / 8:07 pm

      When I finally just accepted my hair and stopped using so many products, it just got better and healthier. I’ve also realized that getting a high quality cut every three months or so has done wonders. Shelling out the $30 four times a year is really worth it.

  6. Ashley August 7, 2013 / 8:08 pm

    Loved this post!

  7. Rebecca August 8, 2013 / 1:41 pm

    I can’t believe you were bullied for having curly hair. It’s so beautiful! Kids are so cruel :(

    • Sam August 10, 2013 / 9:24 pm

      Thank you, Rebecca! I think people who want to bully will pick apart anything just to make fun of someone. Sigh. I’m happy I finally decided to stop caring what everyone else thinks :P I love my curly hair!

  8. Shauna August 10, 2013 / 3:51 am

    I loved this post as I too, have curly hair that frizzes like mad in the humidity. I live in Florida. There’s no escape. I do use styling products, but only a couple that help me keep my dry hair moisturized. I decided long ago not to stress about it since it won’t change. Thank you for reminding us all that we are beautiful just the way we are.

    Cheers,
    Shauna

    • Sam August 10, 2013 / 9:27 pm

      I totally agree. There are periods of extreme humidity here in Maryland, and it’s like why bother worrying about frizz. It’s fighting a losing battle. lol. Might as well just rock the frizz. ;P

Leave a Comment

