Room Tour

I don’t understand why some bloggers/YouTubers are so against doing room tours. It’s especially odd to me when the people that are so against doing it, film in or take a lot of pictures in their bedroom.

I can’t figure out whether its because of privacy, they think it would be boring to do a room tour, or what exactly the reason is. Either way, I like being nosy and seeing where people live, and I thought it was fun to take pictures of my bedroom in my parents’ house for everyone to see.

roomtour
bookstorage1bookstoragebookshelvescat racemedalsFirst off, you might be able to tell I have a bit of a book obsession. Honestly, books are stashed pretty much every where in my room, but you might spot my favorite series sitting on it’s own shelf (cough Harry Potter cough). I have been a collector since I was in middle school and, I buy used books whenever I can (yardsales and thrift shops).

I like to collect random things like the wedding topper, chicken shaped timer, and Darth Vader Mr. Potato Head that are on my two shelves of randomness. Basically, I like random junk that looks cool. Yeah. I am actually five.

My parents’ cats are pretty much part of the room despite how much I try to keep them off my bed. I am not exactly allergic, but sleeping with a lot of pet dander on my comforter tends to make my eyes itchy and nose stuffy. It’s better that they find somewhere else to sleep for the night.

My medal holder is one of my favorite things in my room. My older sister made it for me for Christmas, and it is based on something she saw on Pinterest. She is the Pinterest queen. However, while it looks like I have a lot of medals and you might think I am super fast and win a bunch of races, that’s not really true at all. I have three medals for placing in races, but the rest are just for finishing. That’s right, if you run 13.1 or 26.2 miles, you get a medal just for finishing. Go me.

standingdeskLast but not least, I am a stander. I don’t mean that as in I can stand, I mean that as in, I stand 50 percent of the day most days. Yeah, I know – I am a weirdo. I usually have a table that I stand at, but that is in my new apartment and, I was just visiting my parents for my “staycation” last week, so I ended up stacking up some storage containers to use as a quick fix.

Some of you are probably wondering why in the world I stand so much and the answer is, I like it. It gives me more energy, keeps me focused, and I like being able to pace around when I am trying to think. I stand at work. I stand at home. But, I switch back and forth – I sit when I am tired and stand when I want to concentrate or my butt gets sore from sitting.

Yeah, I know, you still think I am a weirdo. Maybe this is why people don’t like to do room tours. ;)

Would you ever do a room tour? 

31 thoughts on “Room Tour

  1. Ashley August 12, 2013 / 9:33 am

    High five to standing! I also like to stand a lot and I don’t understand why it creeps people out. xx

    • Sam August 12, 2013 / 12:41 pm

      People find it SO WEIRD. I have never understood why. I am just standing – it’s not like I am dancing in my underwear in my cubicle. lol.

  2. bubliibeauty August 12, 2013 / 9:51 am

    Such a lovely Room Tour dear :) Loved it

    • Sam August 12, 2013 / 12:41 pm

      Thank you :)

  3. Jenn August 12, 2013 / 10:53 am

    Love you Darth Tater! I’m a stander too, I tend to eat in the kitchen standing up for some reason, it’s just my thing. We also have a high bar table so I end up standing and writing or even eating there, since I’m so short I don’t really have to bend so much.

    • Sam August 12, 2013 / 12:42 pm

      lol. I got it for Christmas, and I thought it was the nerdiest, cutest thing ever. ;P

      • Jenn August 12, 2013 / 4:20 pm

        I had a lego Darth on my key chain forever then he lost his leg and I called him UniVader. I since retired him, now I have Beeker and Ironman my key chain. But I have tons of nerdiest stuff in my place it’s ridiculous lol, you can tell which side is mine and my boyfriends side of the bookshelves.

  4. plainjanemcgough August 12, 2013 / 10:53 am

    Some people just have sassy things in their rooms that they dont want to hide, I have seen it in videos and pictures, makes me giggle. :) But I agree with you. :)

  5. Joanna Noriel August 12, 2013 / 11:38 am

    If my room was as beautiful as yours, I would definitely do a room tour too,..

    • Sam August 12, 2013 / 12:42 pm

      That’s sweet. Thanks :)

  6. TooManyMuffins August 12, 2013 / 11:54 am

    Really love room tours, have to say your room is just beautiful. The colours are great! Wouldn’t show mine as I’m renting and its pretty plain!

    • Sam August 12, 2013 / 12:49 pm

      Thank you :) I am renting too, so I was sad to leave my pretty room at home and go back to my boring looking rental. lol.

  7. Rebecca August 12, 2013 / 1:16 pm

    Your room looks lovely :)

    • Sam August 12, 2013 / 3:09 pm

      Thank you :) That’s nice of you to say.

  8. Ashley August 12, 2013 / 6:50 pm

    I love your room! Especially all the books you have! ♥
    I’d definitely do a room tour.

    • Sam August 12, 2013 / 8:06 pm

      You should do it! :) I thought it was a lot of fun to do!

  9. sweetdarlingblog August 12, 2013 / 10:37 pm

    Love, love, love room tours. They’re so personal and it really says a lot about a blogger.

    • Sam August 13, 2013 / 7:58 am

      I love room tours too. I like getting a look into where bloggers/vloggers spend their time.

  10. elmo107 August 13, 2013 / 1:33 am

    HI Sam, i’m like you and love reading/watching room tours. Its sad when people have to add disclaimers to tell other annoying people that they are not bragging :( Quicky, how do you add the Bloglovin sign on your blog?? Thx

    • Sam August 13, 2013 / 1:08 pm

      You need to add the text widget onto your blog, and then place the HTML code for the link/button there.

      • elmo107 August 14, 2013 / 2:53 am

        Thanks a lot!! I have been trying to figure it out for ever :D You should come and check it out!!

    • Sam August 13, 2013 / 1:15 pm

      Thank you :)

    • Sam August 13, 2013 / 1:14 pm

      HAHA – no. At my parent’s house, my bed is usually a dumping ground for clothes, books, and papers that either I put there or my mom puts on there when she finds my stuff somewhere in the house. I usually only have a tiny Sam sized spot for me to sleep at night when I am there because there is so much random stuff piled on my bed. When I am about to roll off onto the floor, that’s usually when I clean my room ;P In the room I am renting though, everything is spotless. I only subject my family to my clutter.

      • marijadebono August 13, 2013 / 1:27 pm

        haha ok then – I feel better about myself now :P my floor is sometimes hard to spot, it’s always full of shoes, books and paper!

        • Sam August 13, 2013 / 1:30 pm

          Yeah – don’t feel bad! I definitely already had cleaned the room before I took these pictures. :P

          • marijadebono August 13, 2013 / 1:31 pm

            ;) Thanks for that little bit of extra information then! :)

  11. Dani August 16, 2013 / 9:40 pm

    Your room is adorable! I think I may do a room tour after I get all settled in after moving, as my room at my parents place is half storage & all ugly. I also don’t understand why people are so against it – I think it’s a great way to give people a little insight into who you are & make you seem more real. Great idea & I can’t wait to give my own room tour soon! :]

  12. lizzieandmillie August 16, 2013 / 10:12 pm

    What a lovely room! I wouldn’t show my room simply because it is WAY too messy :(

Leave a Comment

