Review: Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow = Solid Drugstore Cream Shadow

I would go out on a limb to say, Neutrogena isn’t known for it’s cosmetics. At least in my mind, I always associate Neutrogena with face cleansers, particularly the orange oil-free acne wash that they have advertised continuously since I was a kid.

However, as some of you may have seen in my Walmart haul, I decided to give Neutrogena cosmetics a try and, I purchased Neutrogena’s Crease Proof Eye Shadow in Constant Copper. It retails for $6.97, but I had a $2 off coupon.

Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow2Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow1

The packaging is like a lipstick, in that you advance the shadow by turning the silver part of the tube. This is my first experience with a cream shadow, but I like the fact I can apply it directly to my lid without any brushes. However, I think it’s odd the shadow doesn’t go completely into the tube like a lipstick does to protect it from getting chopped up by the lid – it hangs out a bit. It’s a little annoying because I tend to be sloppy with lids, and every time I replace the lid, I nearly take a chunk out of the shadow.

Neutrogena makes a pretty bold statement with this product, claiming that it is a “crease proof eye shadow,” and I have to admit, this shadow does a good job living up to that. I don’t have exceptionally oily lids, but like anyone, shadows will crease on me if I am not wearing eye primer. The Neutrogena shadow has a built in primer to prevent smudges and creasing, and I would say it does a pretty bang up job of it.

timelapseAs you can see from the time lapse there was no creasing after seven and half hours of wearing it, and for me creasing doesn’t really start until nine or so hours in.

There are currently only six shades, and I picked out the Constant Copper. Wearing this shadow, I like how the pink goes well with my skin tone and makes my eyes look bluer. The pigmentation is pretty good, and you don’t need to use a lot of pressure to get good coverage.  

Application is basically a breeze – you just swipe it right on after advancing the tube. However, blending is kind of impossible, so you really have to get it right the first time.

Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow swatch

I would definitely say that this shadow can withstand heavy duty wear. Case in point, this swatch lasted through my workout (sweating like crazy) and then through my shower (I avoided washing it with soap). However, the weirdest thing is that all it takes is a bit of soap and it comes right off, no problem. This is definitely ideal for someone who is in a warm environment or plans to be sweating like crazy – rest assured – this shadow isn’t going anywhere.

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by this eyeshadow. Like I said, I haven’t always taken Neutrogena cosmetics entirely seriously, but my experience with this shadow makes me want to try out a few more of their products. I have been wearing this shadow everyday for the past week or so, and I have really been enjoying it.

I would totally recommend this shadow for anyone looking for a subtle, easy, and fast, eye product. Give it a try if you are interested, you might just be surprised with what you get.

Have you ever tried Neutrogena cosmetics?

15 thoughts on “Review: Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow = Solid Drugstore Cream Shadow

  1. myclosetnbeautyfinds90 August 19, 2013 / 9:21 am

    I’ve never tried Neutrogena cosmetics. Always been a bit skeptical. But as soon as I saw this post and the swatch of it, I was like, “I want this!” Then I realized the color looks almost identical to Milani’s 12 hr Shadow Eyez eyeshadow stick in Champagne Toast, and I just bought it lol! I tend to do that. I accidentally buy/want the same colors that I already have!

    • Sam August 19, 2013 / 12:39 pm

      I tend to do the same thing. I like champagne/pink colors so I end up looking in my eyeshadow drawer, and all there is, is the same pink colors. Oops. lol.

  2. marijadebono August 19, 2013 / 10:02 am

    Wow seems great! I had no idea they do beauty products too, apart from skincare. ‘ll have to look around for them but I am pretty sure we don’t get them (except for face washes) here in Malta.

    marija from http://www.allthingslady.wordpress.com

    • Sam August 19, 2013 / 12:40 pm

      The package said it was a new product, so maybe they are slowly trying to integrate more into the cosmetic side of things. I would say they are doing a good job of it. :)

  3. budziak August 19, 2013 / 11:35 am

    That’s a surprising review. Most of the time I think ugh, cream eye shadow, that will never last. Although the Maybelline Color Tattoos are pretty nice and they’re cream too. I like that its in a stick, no brush needed, no sharpening. For some reason, Neutrogena’s lip products appeal to me, I never really buy them but I’m bound to someday. I like their skin clearing foundation too. (P.S. I LOOOVE that orange facial cleanser – the acne wash not the original one with the black pump, that fragrance-free smell drives me crazy.)

    • Sam August 19, 2013 / 1:03 pm

      I remember one of the first cleansers I used was the acne wash in middle school. I definitely like the no brush aspect of things. I was pleasantly surprised how long it lasted. When I got it, I was skeptical, but it turned out to be worth it in the long run.

  4. producthoochie August 19, 2013 / 1:31 pm

    Cool! I was waiting for your review. I love eye shadow sticks, so this sounds great!

    • Sam August 19, 2013 / 1:36 pm

      Yeah. It’s definitely a solid product. Keep an eye out for a coupon though. $7 is a little on the pricier side.

  5. Amria August 19, 2013 / 1:52 pm

    I also own it but I’m nor very pleased :)

    • Sam August 19, 2013 / 1:54 pm

      Really? I have been really impressed by it.

  6. Chriss August 21, 2013 / 1:56 pm

    Sounds good, and it looks lovely on you! Too bad I can’t get Neutrogena over here ;)

    • Sam August 21, 2013 / 2:02 pm

      Really? Not even Neutrogena moisturizer or face wash?

      • Chriss August 21, 2013 / 2:03 pm

        No, it isn’t sold in The Netherlands!

        • Sam August 21, 2013 / 2:08 pm

          That’s lame!

Leave a Comment

