Kohl’s Haul: Bargains and Tax-Free Week

Last week was Maryland’s annual “tax-free week”. I don’t know if they have something similar in other states (or countries), but here in Maryland, every year there is a week right before the start of public school when clothes and shoes are tax-free. On top of that, a lot of stores have good sales throughout the week.

The sale tax in Maryland is 6 percent per dollar, meaning that if you spend $100 you pay $6.00 extra in sales tax. Kind of a lame deal, but it is higher in some states (7.5 percent in California) and, it doesn’t include food or prescription drugs.

So, since tax week only comes once a year, I stopped by Kohl’s to get a few new pieces. For those that don’t know, Kohl’s is a department store that runs deals where you can get 15 percent to 30 percent off your bill plus you can also use multiple Kohl’s coupons on top of that. If you play your cards right, you can get a lot of good deals and save a lot, and if there is a Kohl’s near you, I would check it out.

girllaughinggreyskirtgirlingrassblackbootsBoots: Candie’s – Originally $79, on sale for $35
Skater Skirt: SO – Originally $20, on sale for $10
Cardigan: SO – Originally $25, on sale for $15

whitedress taylorswiftkeds backofwhitedressDress: Candie’s – Originally $48, on sale for $15
Shoes: Keds – Originally $49, on sale for $44

In other news, I can’t believe I am so close to 500 followers. What the…I just can’t even believe that number. 500 people. Wow. Honestly, these past few months, I have just been in awe watching that number climb. Of course, Samandro wouldn’t be where it is without everyone of you that stops by and reads my little piece of the internet, and to those who continuously comment and have supported me – thank you.

Have you done any fall clothes shopping? Where do you go for the best deals?

20 thoughts on “Kohl’s Haul: Bargains and Tax-Free Week

    • Sam August 21, 2013 / 9:23 am

      Thank you :)

  1. klyse3 August 21, 2013 / 9:17 am

    My state does the same thing – only we have 9% tax! So yes, I took it as a perfect excuse to spend my hard-earned money at Kohl’s! Those boots are adorable. :) I got some nice knee high ones – they will be perfect for winter at college.

    • Sam August 21, 2013 / 9:25 am

      Woah! 9% is killer! I was really excited to buy the boots for fall. Boots are like my favorite thing ever. :) I am keeping my eye out for another pair. (You can never have too many boots). ;)

      • klyse3 August 21, 2013 / 9:27 am

        Never, ever too many boots! This is my…fifth pair, I think. They are all amazing. :D Boots are my go-to piece for confidence – made the mistake of wearing my high heeled boots for the first plane trip I made alone…Needless to say, high-heeled boots are not great for running across airports.

  2. myclosetnbeautyfinds90 August 21, 2013 / 10:10 am

    I love the white dress! and what a great bargain! i think Marshalls is my favorite place for deals, but I’ll have to try Kohls! :)

    • Sam August 21, 2013 / 10:26 am

      Marshalls can have good deals too. Is there a Ross Dress For Less around you? They usually have really good deals.

      • myclosetnbeautyfinds90 August 21, 2013 / 2:08 pm

        Yes there’s tons of Ross stores around me. Haven’t checked them out in awhile. But they usually have great purses and shoes! :)

        • Sam August 21, 2013 / 2:09 pm

          They sell Essie there too, apparently. I haven’t seen it for myself, but I’ve read posts where people have bought it there.

          • myclosetnbeautyfinds90 August 21, 2013 / 2:11 pm

            Oh cool I’ll have to make a trip there! Thanks for letting me know! :)

  3. Anonymous August 21, 2013 / 10:18 am

    OOOHHHH…I love the white dress!

  4. jocelynd123 August 21, 2013 / 11:40 am

    Wow, you got some great deals! The tax here in Chicago is basically 10% (maybe 9.5 or something?) so a tax free weekend would have been awesome here. Unfortunately, Illinois didn’t participate. :(

    • Sam August 21, 2013 / 11:41 am

      Wow! 10% Yikes! Suddenly, our 6% seems a lot more manageable!

      • jocelynd123 August 21, 2013 / 11:46 am

        Totally! I think it ranges from I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where there is no sales tax at all on any goods… so 10% was a real shock for me. It’s even more in restaurants… like 10.25%. D:

  5. budziak August 21, 2013 / 2:00 pm

    Hey! Texas had tax-free weekend too! Although I didn’t participate in it, my way of keeping up with my spending-ban. You found some great stuff! Great deal on the cute dress, Kohl’s is pretty awesome :-) When I first started working in an office, all my slacks were from Kohl’s. Great place to go for Black Friday.

  6. Ashley August 21, 2013 / 6:17 pm

    Great picks! I really love the white dress and the Keds!

    • Sam August 23, 2013 / 10:02 am

      Me too! They are from the Taylor Swift line of Keds, and I can definitely see her style in them.

  7. nyrmirez August 23, 2013 / 4:13 pm

    I love all of your outfits and awesome clothing finds. Now I have the urge to do some shopping :)

Leave a Comment

