“Why is the Brush Bendy?”: First Impressions – Maybelline Mega Plush Mascara

I went to the store to buy the Maybelline The Rocket Mascara on Tuesday because when I asked, a lot of you recommended it. And well, this is not the Maybelline The Rocket Mascara. Yeah…the moral of the story – procrastination is bad.

It goes like this, I’ve been meaning to replace my Rimmel The Max Bold Curves mascara for weeks now. It was three and half months old and, you really are supposed to swap out mascara every three months. But, for some reason, I decided that I was going to wait to the last possible second to buy a new mascara.

So, on Tuesday, I do all of my makeup before I go out, and I open my Rimmel mascara and, it smells horrible. I honestly thought I was going to throw up because the chemical smell was so bad. Obviously, that went straight into the trash. But then, I had all my eye makeup on and no mascara, and I can’t wear eye makeup without mascara. It just looks weird.

megaplushmegaplush2

So, I had to stop while I was on my way out at the most expensive place to buy cosmetics in the world…Rite Aid. Now, I know you can get deals at stores like CVS, Walgreens, and Rite Aid, but that requires cards and points and planning, and no one got time for that. I walked in the store, and of course they were out of the Maybelline The Rocket. Great.

So, I am standing there, staring at the Maybelline mascaras, and I had to pick one, so I got the Maybelline Volum’ Express The Mega Plush. I bring it up to the register and, it was 9 freaking dollars. Are you freaking kidding me? All I could think was, this would have been $4 cheaper at Walmart and, I probably could have found a Maybelline coupon for $1 off. #brokecollegestudentprobs

Honestly, do not wait until the last minute to buy makeup, it will bite you in the butt. (Also, don’t shop at Rite Aid unless you have one of their cards and can decipher their sales flier/rewards program which basically requires a Ph.D.).

megaplushblendSo, I ripped open the package when I get back to the car, and the brush is bendy. Uhhhhh. What? At first, I thought the brush was broken, but nope – apparently, the “Flexor Brush” is supposed to help coat your lashes better. Okay. Fine. That’s fine. Whatever.

I was surprised that I actually liked the bendy brush. I thought it was kind of gimmicky, and it kind of is. But, I am pretty bad at putting on mascara without getting it somewhere in my eye area and, surprisingly it was a lot easier with a bendy brush versus a rigid brush.

beforeandaftermegaplushmascara me

Once I put on the mascara, I wasn’t totally wowed by it, but I would say that it’s okay. It’s darkening, but not especially volumizing (I curled my lashes in the pictures above). It didn’t clump and, it did a good job at separating my lashes.

However, when I looked in the mirror four hours later, the mascara had smudged pretty badly against my brow bone. Sigh. Epic sigh.

In terms of first impressions, I am sorry Maybelline, but this wasn’t a good one. Rite Aid has a pretty bang up return policy, and you can bring opened or used makeup back with a receipt. Typically, I don’t go this route. Usually, if I don’t like a product, I just suck it up and keep using it, but usually I don’t spend 9 bucks on a drugstore mascara.

I feel bad that I don’t have a lot of nice things to say, but I paid a lot for this mascara and, I kind of expected the cost to reflect the quality (bad mindset). Chances are this mascara is going back to the store because it didn’t work for me, but the online reviews are mixed.

Some people love it, and some people hate it. I guess you’ll have to try it yourself to know for sure. My advice? Bring a coupon, and go to Walmart.

Have you ever returned makeup to the store?

38 thoughts on ““Why is the Brush Bendy?”: First Impressions – Maybelline Mega Plush Mascara

  1. myclosetnbeautyfinds90 August 23, 2013 / 10:07 am

    your lashes look amazing! too bad it smudges! ugh that sucks. how do you take such great pictures of yourself?!!! I’m struggling with that.

    • Sam August 23, 2013 / 10:24 am

      Whenever I do close up pictures of my eyes I take the pictures in Macro (it’s the little flower setting on most cameras). That helps focus the picture on a subject closer to the lens vs. far away.

        • Sam August 23, 2013 / 10:39 am

          No problem. It should definitely help make a difference.

  2. producthoochie August 23, 2013 / 10:09 am

    I have used the Falsies mascara and I like it. I think I got a bendy brush once but I didn’t like it AND after I tried The Rocket, I won’t go back to the Falsie. It really looks like the Mega Plush tube, too, so I am sure they are “sister” mascaras. You should get the Rite-Aid card because it does give you good deals and if you link your phone number to it, they can access the account without the actual card. I have saved a lot of money because of that card.

    • Sam August 23, 2013 / 10:27 am

      If only they had the Rocket. Every one has said how good it is, and I’ve seen a lot of posts about it. I probably should sign up for the Rite-Aid card, but I try to avoid going there as much possible. I hate “sales” when you spend money and get rewards points. I’d rather just get the money off in the moment rather than having to come back. I guess that’s the gimmick though – they want you to keep coming back.

      • producthoochie August 23, 2013 / 12:07 pm

        They often have BOGO 50% off so it is worth it. I have even seen 40% off NYC this week and BOGO free on the line, too. Makes for a great buy.

        • Sam August 23, 2013 / 12:37 pm

          I’ve heard they have good sales, but I guess the fact that they usually overprice their products to begin with frustrates me. I mean, the same Maybelline mascara that cost me $9 is $5.50 at Walmart. That’s a huge difference in price. Even if it was 50% off, it would only be a little less than the original price of Walmart!

            • Sam August 23, 2013 / 12:46 pm

              Yeah. Rite Aid, Walgreens, and CVS are all guilty of jacking up prices. I guess it’s the “convenience factor”,

  3. budziak August 23, 2013 / 11:28 am

    I LOOOVE CVS. Haha, except I always forget I have $ coupons and let them expire :-( Still, I think they have the best program (and Ulta.) Never returned makeup to the store yet… Actually, scratch that, I returned a Dior foundation because the spray clogged and it was a different finish when I was outdoors. Again, I mean to do it more than I get around to. I’m thinking about doing a battle of drugstore mascaras post, what should I include?

    • Sam August 23, 2013 / 12:03 pm

      Honestly, I think I have an aversion to stores like Rite Aid, CVS, and Walgreens. It frustrates me that they overcharge so much, so I try not to shop there very often. You should definitely have the Rocket in the mix of mascaras – the way people talk, it’s like the holy grail.

    • Sam August 23, 2013 / 12:34 pm

      Thank you :)

  4. tamsnakedbeauty August 23, 2013 / 12:19 pm

    Definitely give the Rocket one a go if you can, I use that one when I’m too skint for Benefit’s They’re Real and it’s a pretty good close second for the price!

    • Sam August 23, 2013 / 12:37 pm

      I am going to buy it after I return the Mega Plush (if I can find the receipt).

  5. Crazy A... August 23, 2013 / 1:14 pm

    I ended up with the same mascara for the same reason you did!! I was looking for “The Rocket” and they didn’t have it either! This one was a pretty color so me being the A.D.D. kid that I am was like…”Ohhh PRETTY! I’m getting this one!” haha Anyway, I don’t really like it either but I’m too lazy to return it. I’m still using it…after the month that I have been using it, my opinion is still the same. It’s just ok in my book…and I DONT like the bendy part. I guess I don’t know how to put mascara on. The bendy thing always wacks me between my nose and eye brown and I get mascara on me! Thanks for the review. :) You’re a great writer. :)

    • Sam August 24, 2013 / 2:49 pm

      lol. I basically picked it on the same whim – oh look, that one is a pretty color. :P I returned it last night because I knew if I didn’t I would lose interest and just keep using it.

  6. Ashley August 23, 2013 / 2:30 pm

    It’s always so disappointing when you try a new makeup product and think that it’s good when you first apply it, to then only find out a few hours later that nope, it has a few failing faults. I’ve never returned any makeup before, I generally just try and suck it up and use it or give it to a friend that I think might like it.

    • Sam August 24, 2013 / 2:50 pm

      What’s the return policy in Canada? I know in the UK, you can’t return cosmetics, but in the US most places will take back something you didn’t like.

      • Ashley August 25, 2013 / 1:30 pm

        It’s very rare to find a store here in Canada that will allow you to return opened cosmetics. Because of that, I try and do as much research on makeup products before taking the plunge and purchasing them.

        • Sam August 26, 2013 / 10:11 am

          I think that’s how most countries are. Not that I don’t like it but, it always seems silly to me that you can return used cosmetics in the US. You can’t wear a shirt, decide you don’t like it, and then return it, so why can you return a bottle of mascara?

          • Ashley August 26, 2013 / 4:30 pm

            It is a little silly, but if you think about it sort of makes sense. A store can go ahead and resell a returned shirt but they wouldn’t be unable to resell an opened bottle of mascara due to hygienic reasons. I don’t mind that I can’t return cosmetics because I think if I could I would go out and buy everything, regardless if I needed it or not. I have a some what unhealthy shopping problem. haha

            • Sam August 27, 2013 / 5:44 am

              That’s true. I never thought about the reselling factor.

  7. lurkingcaro August 23, 2013 / 6:42 pm

    I only wear mascara a few times a year, like on holidays. I have thick lashes (which I could say the same about my hair) so I just don’t bother! I hate how it feels!!

    • Sam August 24, 2013 / 2:51 pm

      Really? Mascara is like my staple. More power to you though – I could do with out having to scrub it off every night.

  8. nhieubeauty August 24, 2013 / 3:22 am

    I also haven’t heard really good things about this mascara either. I would will stick to my falsies :D The rocket is also okay, but I still prefer to old school wand over the plasticky ones…

    • Sam August 24, 2013 / 2:52 pm

      I’ve heard good things about both the Falsies and Rocket. Hopefully, I can get one of either next time I am in the store.

  9. Chriss August 25, 2013 / 10:06 am

    I didn’t like it that much either, although it didn’t smudge on me. I just like my mascara to be dramatic (go big or go home right?). I remember once forgetting to put on my mascara after doing my eye makeup: I noticed halfway throughout the day…

    • Sam August 26, 2013 / 10:07 am

      Oh no! I did that once with my eyebrows. I kept looking in the mirror trying to figure out what was wrong, and I had forgotten to fill in my brows that morning *face palm*

  10. comfortablyychic November 27, 2013 / 4:53 pm

    I’ve never returned a drug store beauty product but Sephora has a pretty awesome return policy. Great review – I love when bloggers give their honest opinions about products they don’t like. Often times we only hear about the good ones!

    Jen

    • Sam November 29, 2013 / 12:07 pm

      I agree. I don’t like wasting time talking about things I don’t like. But sometimes when I disagree with the mass opinion, I feel like it’s worthwhile to put in my two cents.

  11. Isabella May 27, 2014 / 10:06 am

    Yes this is an old post but 9 dollars for a maybelline mascara?! I think that’s cheap! Here, in Sweden all maybelline mascaras are 245 SEK which is around 22 dollars. Everything is SO expensive here :/

Leave a Comment

