Maybelline the Rocket – Great for the Price

I know you’ve probably seen a million posts about Maybelline’s Volum’ Express The Rocket Washable Mascara, so I’ll keep it quick, but I just have to say, this mascara is awesome.

beforeandafter2maybellinerocket

For those of you that don’t know, a few weeks ago I asked every one to recommend a drugstore mascara, and a lot of you mentioned the Rocket. After that, the whole drama with the Maybelline Mega Plush happened, then I returned the Mega Plush to Rite Aid, and this weekend I found the Rocket at Target for $5.99 with a $1 coupon. Score.

I’ll admit, I was a little put off Maybelline by the Mega Plush incident, and I wasn’t expecting much when I put on the Rocket, but wow! All the recommendations for this mascara were spot on.

maybellinerocketbeforeandaftertherocket

It is volumizing, lengthening, and darkening. I’ll admit that my lashes are pretty long and dark on their own, but this mascara made them ten times more noticeable. I’ve found that the Rocket is a little hard to remove with soap and water despite it being washable, but I guess it’s a trade off for it being an awesome (and inexpensive) drugstore mascara.

It’s safe to say that Maybelline is back in my good graces. Thanks to everyone who recommended the Rocket!

Have you ever used the Rocket from Maybelline?

33 thoughts on “Maybelline the Rocket – Great for the Price

  1. myclosetnbeautyfinds90 August 27, 2013 / 9:14 am

    it is an awesome mascara! just wish it didn’t irritate my eyes :( i think i’m the only one with this problem however lol.

    • Sam August 27, 2013 / 9:24 am

      Different things work for different people. Hopefully, you can return it?

      • myclosetnbeautyfinds90 August 27, 2013 / 9:26 am

        Yep! Yes, I returned it. They almost wouldn’t take it back because they wanted the packaging it came in and I didn’t have it. I tore it up and threw it away. Who saves all the packaging? I guess I know now! :)

    • Jenn August 27, 2013 / 11:38 am

      It can irritate my eyes sometimes if I over do it on my eyelashes and it flakes off, or when it’s starting to go bad.

      • Sam August 27, 2013 / 12:03 pm

        It’s hard as hell to get off too – but, it looks so nice!

  2. pearlsandparis August 27, 2013 / 9:53 am

    Wow! what great results – never tried this mascara, but def. will have to.

    • Sam August 27, 2013 / 9:58 am

      You definitely should. It’s a great product!

  3. Splishsplasch August 27, 2013 / 9:54 am

    I’m yet to try Maybelline’s the Rocket. Looks great! Loved the before and after pics. Thanks :)

    • Sam August 27, 2013 / 9:58 am

      You should give it a try if you get a chance. I definitely recommend it.

  4. budziak August 27, 2013 / 10:34 am

    I ordered this one, along with like 9 other mascaras. Hahaha. Hopefully I’ll find a cheaper alternative to Guerlain. I love their mascaras but they’re stupidly expensive. One of them is bound to work out, the rest can just go back where they came from. I have a feeling I’ll be testing this one out first ;-)

    • Sam August 27, 2013 / 10:40 am

      WOAH. 9? lol. That post is going to be amazing! Make sure to tweet it out when it’s ready.

  5. Crazy A... August 27, 2013 / 10:42 am

    I gotta try this stuff out! Every one is talking about how awesome it is. I need to trash my mega plush and move on to better things!

    • Sam August 27, 2013 / 10:45 am

      This stuff blows Mega Plush out of the water! Trust me. I am so glad I returned the Mega Plush and got this instead.

  6. Ashley August 27, 2013 / 12:39 pm

    I have yet to try this mascara but whoa, the results looks great! I think when I finish up one of the many bottles of mascara that I have on the go at the moment, I will have to pick this one up.

    • Sam August 27, 2013 / 2:43 pm

      I can’t bring myself to have more than one mascara at a time. I don’t know what it is, but it just overwhelms me to have more than one choice. lol

  7. nyrmirez August 27, 2013 / 12:56 pm

    I have yet to try this mascara. I’ll have to add it to my list of products i need to check out. Great review as always. Glad to hear that Maybelline is back on your good graces :)

    • Sam August 27, 2013 / 2:44 pm

      Thanks. Yeah, I wasn’t too happy with them after the Mega Plush.

  8. Shreya August 27, 2013 / 1:36 pm

    I have tried this mascara and loved it ! btw your lashes look great

    • Sam August 27, 2013 / 2:44 pm

      Thank you :)

    • Sam August 28, 2013 / 11:09 am

      It’s definitely becoming one of mine too. I love it!

  9. (scand)alice August 27, 2013 / 9:52 pm

    that will be my next purchase once I’m done with the mascara I’m currently using. also, I’m jealous your eyelashes are already so long before using mascara!!

    • Sam August 28, 2013 / 11:10 am

      Thanks. I am lucky to have long lashes, but I think this mascara is a miracle worker because they look even longer with it on!

  10. EyeOfTheBeholder August 28, 2013 / 3:57 am

    Too bad this mascara sells for around €15 here, make up prices are pretty ridiculous! It looks great on you by the way!

    • Sam August 28, 2013 / 11:11 am

      WOAH. That’s pricey!

  11. Rebecca August 28, 2013 / 2:20 pm

    Haven’t used the Rocket but I love love love Volum’ Express Turbo Boost!

    • Sam August 28, 2013 / 3:18 pm

      I haven’t used it. Is the bottle yellow by chance?

  12. My Zen Life and Things August 28, 2013 / 2:30 pm

    I use Maybelline products regularly. I have Falsies and SoCal from their line. I was actually on my way to grab a new kind after work! I like this one, I’ll either try this or the 1 I was looking at earlier. Great eyes btw!

    • Sam August 28, 2013 / 3:19 pm

      Thanks. Make sure you have a good eye makeup remover if you buy this one. It can be a struggle to remove!

      • My Zen Life and Things August 28, 2013 / 3:20 pm

        I use Avon eye makeup remover …definitely needed! I use a lot of Maybelline products I know what you’re saying! Lol

Leave a Comment

