5 Things – Summer 2013 Recap

Today is the last day of August. Wait, what? Where did the past three months go? So much has happened this summer, but looking back it feels like just yesterday I was moving out of my junior year dorm room.

summer2013recap

1. I had a summer internship and when it ended, I was offered a part-time position. My internship started off as a partnership between my school and the company as an 8-week program. I figured at the end of that time, I would go my separate ways, but what I didn’t account for was falling in love with the company and the people. I can’t even explain my shock when my boss called me in and extended an invitation to continue working part-time after the program ended.

Most importantly, this invitation will include when I return from England in January, meaning I already have a part-time job lined up for when I return to school for my last semester (meaning I won’t have to live off solely of popcorn and frozen fruit).

2. I started rock climbing. It all started with my best friend, Becky, who brought me along to climb with her and, I fell head over heels in love with climbing. It is so exhilarating to be up high and, trust your hands to hold on and your feet to keep you steady. I’ve been climbing for two months now, and the community of rock climbers I have encountered are one of the most supportive I have met in my life. It’s safe to say there will be more climbing in the future.

However, my hands are unhappy with this decision. Rock climbing has leeched all moisture of my hands and blistered my fingers like crazy, but my shoulders are so built right now – it’s crazy.

musclesrockclimbiing
I used to get called tiny arms in high school. This is an obvious improvement.

3. I am got accepted to study abroad in England. If you’ve been around for awhile, this may be old news, but now my departure date is rapidly approaching (September 14). I have been alternating between feeling like I am going to throw up from the nerves and butterflies of excitement. The anticipation is killing me.

Fullscreen capture 2162013 123855 PM

4. I lived with two girls who were horrible. I got stuck living with two girls I didn’t know for June and July. I had to live close to Baltimore for my internship so, I got stuck with them. They seemed weird at first, but ended up being complete terrors. They were messy, mean, and they talked about me all the time even when they knew I was in the apartment to hear them. I am not sure why exactly they decided to band against me, but now that I am out of there, I don’t have to have to pretend I liked them even just a little. They were horrible.

 

5. I lived with a guy (friend). I’ve only lived with girls up to this point in my life, so I thought the transition would be extreme, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought. The guy I lived with was really clean, and I tend to like to keep things on the neat side, so it worked out well. I wasn’t really around in the apartment much to get to really hangout with him, but overall I would say having a male roommate wasn’t as weird as I anticipated.

In the end, as dumb as it sounds, I really felt like an adult for the first time this summer. Working full-time and balancing that with a social life, and finding time to do everything else was hard at first, but by now I am a pro. And dang, who knew that you have to buy so many groceries to fuel running, rock climbing, working at a standing desk, and running around every day – yeesh.

It’s been a good summer, albeit a stressful one at times. It’s crazy to think that in December, I’ll be posting a fall recap and, I’ll be almost finished with my study abroad experience. Ayyyy.

What was your favorite thing about this summer? Did you go on summer vacation? 

15 thoughts on “5 Things – Summer 2013 Recap

  1. cherryblossompretty August 31, 2013 / 9:19 am

    I hope you’ll be blogging from England! Girls are not fun to live with. I had some good roomies, and some really awful ones as well. Guys are so much easier. My fave thing about this summer was getting married! Good luck in the next two weeks getting ready to leave!

    • Sam August 31, 2013 / 6:12 pm

      Yes – I will be blogging from England. I’ve had a mix of good and bad roommates as well. Congratulations on getting married and, thanks – I need all the luck I can get ;)

  2. EyeOfTheBeholder August 31, 2013 / 10:53 am

    Congrats on the part time job! As for living with horrible roommates, my time in the UK was severely dampened by a pack of obnoxious 19 year olds who I shared the communal areas in my dorm with. Living with loud, messy, unwelcoming brats for 10 months sure takes a toll.

    • Sam August 31, 2013 / 6:19 pm

      Oh no! I hope that doesn’t happen to me. But you found other friends, right?

      • EyeOfTheBeholder August 31, 2013 / 6:24 pm

        Of course! Through the course I was doing I met some really amazing people. I just had really bad luck with my roommates. Luckily I had my own bathroom, otherwise a murder might have taken place :D I had no clue girls could be such pigs.

        • Sam September 3, 2013 / 7:24 am

          Yeah – I’ll have my own bathroom too, which is a luxury compared to the US where I usually have to share with four people. lol.

          • EyeOfTheBeholder September 3, 2013 / 10:31 am

            Aah, lovely. Having your own bathroom is a very welcome luxury indeed!

  3. notquitecarrieb August 31, 2013 / 11:18 am

    I was trying to think of how to do a summer wrap up type of post and this seems to fit what I was going for! You’ve had an awesome summer can’t wait to hear what’s in store while you’re in England!

    • Sam August 31, 2013 / 6:19 pm

      Thanks. Feel free to use the same format – it seemed the easiest way to list everything out.

  4. nyrmirez September 1, 2013 / 9:48 pm

    Congratulations on the part-time job Sam! It’s exciting when you get work for a company you love. I am so excited for you on your trip to England. I’m sure your nerves will calm down once you get there and see that London isn’t such a bad place to spend 3 months ;). Great post as always.

    • Sam September 3, 2013 / 7:25 am

      Thank you :) I was really glad when they told me, because I know it’ll be great experience. You’re probably right about calming down once I get there. I think it’s just the anticipation of it all that’s killing me! lol.

    • Sam September 3, 2013 / 7:25 am

      Thanks! I can safely say I never want to leave now that I’ve found it! :P

  5. budziak September 2, 2013 / 9:44 pm

    Hey, if you have time, we should be pen pals! :-)

    • Sam September 4, 2013 / 8:02 am

      Sure – sounds good :) You’ll have to give me your email – maybe DM on Twitter?

Leave a Comment

