What’s in My Bag: Weekend Makeup

I am currently bumming on my best friend’s bedroom floor in a sleeping bag so that I don’t have to drive back and forth between my parent’s house and work. Today is my last day at my job, and then I am off until I leave for England next Saturday (I haven’t packed a thing). It feels bizarre being out of school when everyone has gone back already. But, in some ways it feels like the natural progression of things, like my mind is already in post-grad mode.

It’s weird to think that my college experience is drawing to a close this academic year, and after that, I may never have to go to school again.

Hmmm.

Anyway. This summer has been a summer of bouncing around. I may have lived in my apartment Monday through Thursday, but Friday night through Sunday night, I mostly went from my apartment back to my parent’s house to see my friends home for the summer and escape my horrible roommates, and that meant a lot of packing and unpacking. I quickly learned what makeup was worth the haul and what wasn’t. Even though I am sure to have a bit more in my bag when I go to England, these basics have gotten me through the past few weekends (and floor surfing this week).

whatsinmyweekendbagwhatsinmybag3

To keep everything together, I’ve been using this zipper bag. Up until about two weeks ago, I was using a plastic ziplock bag to bring all my makeup everywhere. Yeah. Check your classiness at the door. Luckily, my aunt gave me an amazing makeup bag to bring to England, but that’s a story for a different post.

And no, the 300 page Vogue doesn’t fit in the bag. It was either have the September issue of Vogue as a background or the gross carpet in the library.Yeah. You gotta take what you can get.

baremineralstherocket

1. BareMinerals Foundation and Concealer | Review |
Summer and early fall in Maryland is hot. Hot means sweat. Sweat means makeup running down your face. BareMinerals is the most sweat resistant makeup that I have ever used. Hence, bareMinerals has been a staple in my bag all summer. Maybe I will get back into liquid foundations when it gets chillier, but for now, I have been reaching for my bareMinerals every day.

2. Maybelline the Rocket | Review |
This may have been a recent addition to my bag, but it is quickly becoming my favorite. I raved about the Rocket already, but I’ll say it again, it’s amazing. Buy it.

neutrogenacreaseproofshadow

whitekohl highlighter

3. Neutrogena Eyeshadow Stick | Review |
I like bringing this along because it doesn’t require any brushes or primer. You just apply to your lid, and it does the job. Bringing a full palette would require the palette itself plus all the additional brushes, and then I have to coordinate my eye shadow with my outfit and well – trust me – this is easier.

4. Wet n’ Wild Palette and Rimmel White Kohl Pencil
If you’ve been around a bit, you already probably guessed that I like white eye products. Using white shadow in the inner corners and rimming my lower lash line with white eyeliner is basically the easiest eye look for me. All you need is a swipe of mascara to finish and, you are good to go.

glamoflaugebrowpowder

5. Glamoflauge | Review |
Honestly, I don’t know why this concealer isn’t more hyped. The shade I have is too light for my skin so I use it for my dark circles instead of blemishes. It is seriously a miracle product, and it’s $6. What the…? If you need a cheap under eye concealer and you have no idea where to start – go find this at Walmart.

6. Brow Powder
A month ago, I did all my makeup and then left the house without filling in my brows. It looked really bizarre. I don’t recommend it. Filling in your brows is one of the easiest ways to define the face, so don’t leave your brow powder at home.

revloncolorburstlipgloss realtechniquesbrushes7. Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Peony
I get a lots of compliments on this lip gloss in real life and from all of you. It’s not incredibly long-lasting, but it looks natural and, if you can catch it on sale and have a coupon, it’s a good bargain. Also, you can also apply it without a mirror, which as unmotivated I am to reapply, I find incredibly important in a lip product.

8. Real Techniques Brushes
I bought my first Real Techniques brushes in August, and it’s safe to say, these are the best brushes I have ever used. They are soft, blend well, and I don’t know I ever managed to blend my foundation without the Expert Face brush. These brushes come with me everywhere.

I’m going back home to my parent’s house tonight for probably the only Raven’s (football) game I will see until December. It’ll be odd to live in a place where no one devotes any attention towards what Joe Flacco’s facial hair looks like and whether the team will fall apart without Ray Lewis. Case in point, 99 percent of you probably did not comprehend any part of this paragraph.

What’s your key staple in your makeup bag? Are you an american football fan?

18 thoughts on “What’s in My Bag: Weekend Makeup

  1. Ashley September 5, 2013 / 9:23 am

    As soon as I empty one of my concealers I’m heading to Walmart to pick up the camouflage concealer – excited to see how it works on me! I’m with you on the real technique brushes, I haven’t stopped using them since I bought them!

    • Sam September 5, 2013 / 10:12 am

      Definitely give it a try! The shade selection is limited, so it may not be ideal for blemish coverage, but it works great for under eye circles.

  2. kflowermaquillage September 5, 2013 / 9:51 am

    Great staples :) the real techniques brushes are amazing! You’re going to have so much fun in England!

    • Sam September 5, 2013 / 10:14 am

      Thanks :) The brushes are so awesome. I still wonder at how amazing they are two months after purchasing!

      • kflowermaquillage September 5, 2013 / 10:15 am

        I’ve had mine for at least 6 months & still love them to death!

        • Sam September 5, 2013 / 10:31 am

          I just bought some more the other day ;)

  3. Paige Wester September 5, 2013 / 9:51 am

    Real Techniques for the win!! Those things have magic in them. The expert face brush saves my life on the daily. And I’m going to go buy that concealer stat. I’ve always heard good things about Hard Candy baked shadows but never thought to test the concealers. Thanks for the heads up!

    • Sam September 5, 2013 / 10:32 am

      I know, right! The Expert Face Brush works so well, and I don’t know how it does it. You can find Glamoflauge at Walmart. I would definitely recommend it!

  4. Natalie September 5, 2013 / 11:20 am

    I am also in love with the Rocket. It’s easily my favorite mascara right now. Also agree on the Glamoflauge and it isn’t hyped enough. It’s a great product for the price!

    • Sam September 5, 2013 / 11:22 am

      The only thing that kills me about the Rocket is when it is time to remove it. It’s an amazing mascara, but yeesh, it takes some heavy duty soap to get it off!

  5. abbydoo343 September 5, 2013 / 2:46 pm

    Go Ravens!! As a fellow Marylander, I’m super excited for the game tonight! At my college, we’re all gathering in the lounge to watch the game! (: So don’t worry, at least one person got it. ;)

    • Sam September 6, 2013 / 11:07 am

      That game…smh

    • Sam September 6, 2013 / 11:08 am

      The quality is so great for the price! I’ve never owned a really expensive brush, but I can’t imagine it being much better than this.

  6. glamourousagelessbeauty September 5, 2013 / 3:49 pm

    Great post Sam. Bring plenty SPF when you come to England, it is still boiling hot here! Lol

    • Sam September 6, 2013 / 11:09 am

      Good tip! It’s weird to think of England as being hot. It is always portrayed as cold and rainy in most media.

  7. Jen September 6, 2013 / 4:05 am

    Eek! I’m so excited for you, studying abroad!

    I agree about the RT Expert Face Brush – I can’t imagine how I lived life and applied foundation without it. :P

    • Sam September 6, 2013 / 11:10 am

      :) I’m excited too (and nervous)!

Leave a Comment

