Study Abroad – Week One: Photos from Leicester

Since my blog has become part of my day-to-day interaction with my family and friends back home, I figured it might be worthwhile to take every Friday to talk about my experiences in Europe. Everyone at home is clamoring for pictures of where exactly I am and the community I am living in. Let me just say – it’s a beautiful place.

townhallleicestertreesswans
1.
The scenery here is beautiful. It’s a shame that it rains so much because when the sun comes out – England is transformed. I love the fact that Leicester has a number of parks to explore so that even in the city, there is greenery to be found.

Also, the swans on the river are much more majestic looking (and big) than the more prevalent geese and ducks in Maryland.

streetcleanereurope
2. 
I was wondering how the public areas in Leicester stay so clean, and last night I discovered the magical street cleaner that emerges around 5:30 p.m.. I’ve actually never seen one before (as strange as that sounds).

royalmail
3. 
After growing up in a world of white and blue mail trucks, it’s bizarre to discover the Royal Mail trucks are red. Not exactly what I am used to in the US.

marylandchickenengland

4. I don’t know if there is another Maryland in the world that is famous for its chicken, but I know the Maryland I grew up in is not that place. Still, the other three Americans in my building (two of them Marylanders) found this just as amusing as me.

leicesterstreets2leicesterstreetsleicestermarket
5. 
Leicester has one of the biggest open air markets in Europe. It’s chaotic, but the prices are insanely cheap, some cheaper than the US (even with the conversion rate). I think I know where I’ll be getting all of my fruit and “veg” for the next few weeks.

leicesterfountainleicesterclocktowerleicesterbusstopleciesterstreets3kfcengland
6. 
There are more KFC’s in Leicester than there are in my hometown. How weird is that? Also, I can’t believe how classy fast food restaurants are here. There is literally modern art in the dining area. So much for play land.

europeantrashcan

7. Europeans smoke like crazy, so I can understand why there are ashtrays in trashcans, but the gum thing…I don’t get. Is there a specific reason gum can’t be mixed with the rest of the trash?

englandflowersbuildings
8. 
This is the view from my window. I think it’s pretty cool you can see the buildings staggered in the background. It reminds me of New York City.

bikeI can’t believe I’ve been in England for six days already. There is some culture shock, but it’s not totally debilitating, just a vague wondering of home and missing my friends and family. Class still doesn’t start for another week, but I thrive better with projects, routine, and things to keep me busy, so I am ready to jump in.

The British students will return this weekend (it’s been only international students this week), and I am looking forward to mingling with some of the local students and really starting to get into the swing of things.

There are 84 days until I return the US.

22 thoughts on “Study Abroad – Week One: Photos from Leicester

  1. steviepreater September 20, 2013 / 10:49 am

    Great post. Enjoy your time in the UK. I love your photos! Especially the one of the swans. Lovely.

    • Sam September 20, 2013 / 1:40 pm

      Yes – the swans were fun to photograph!

  2. EyeOfTheBeholder September 20, 2013 / 11:20 am

    We Europeans recycle our gum and turn it into new chewing gum. And that’s a true story! Obviously not :) I don’t have a clue why they do that!

    • Sam September 20, 2013 / 1:41 pm

      For a second, I was like…really? lol. You wild and crazy Europeans. ;)

  3. Jenn September 20, 2013 / 11:41 am

    So amazingly beautiful!

    • Sam September 20, 2013 / 1:42 pm

      It’s surreal at moments because it’s so pretty!

    • Sam September 20, 2013 / 1:42 pm

      Yes – it is!

  4. catchaneye September 20, 2013 / 12:29 pm

    Beautiful photography. I think it’s a kinda odd way to try and get people to throw away there gum rather than spitting it on the floor which is gross! Maybe a kinda novelty?

    • Sam September 20, 2013 / 1:43 pm

      That could make sense. I’ve only seen a few of them like that, but it made me wonder. lol.

  5. sophiyas September 20, 2013 / 1:39 pm

    I am from Sydney and I’ll be studying at the University of Roehampton for a semester starting January 2014. It’s so exciting to read your post. Now I’m really looking forward to being in England! :)

    • Sam September 20, 2013 / 1:44 pm

      There is definitely a good mix of historical and modern in Leicester (where I am). But, I am sure that is prevalent throughout England.

  6. myclosetnbeautyfinds90 September 20, 2013 / 2:53 pm

    beautiful pictures! wow!

  7. nyrmirez September 21, 2013 / 12:29 am

    Lovely Post Sam. Thank you for posting all those picture they are beautiful.

    • Sam September 21, 2013 / 9:18 am

      No problem. I’m glad you enjoyed them. :)

  8. tapeparade September 21, 2013 / 2:11 am

    Oh wow, welcome to England! Hope you are having a lovely time in Leicester, it’s gorgeous up there. Great picture with the swans! XX

    • Sam September 21, 2013 / 9:19 am

      Thanks :) There are so many swans in the river – it’s pretty cool!

  9. Stephanie September 21, 2013 / 8:48 pm

    These pictures are amazing! I hope you enjoy rest of your time there! :)

  10. justanotherlisa September 22, 2013 / 12:22 am

    I loved this post Sam! I love hearing your take on all these things that I am so used to over here! Definitely makes me appreciate things more! Leichester looks beautiful! Can’t wait for your next post :D

  11. Jen September 24, 2013 / 1:49 pm

    I love your photos!

Leave a Comment

