Room Tour: My UK Apartment/Flat

I’ve been living in a new crib since I landed in the UK, and I figured now was as good as any to show you where I do my sleeping…I mean studying.

To start, I live on a floor with all international students that are here until December which, I am really enjoying. It’s nice to have a floor full of people all in the same boat, and a lot of us have become friends despite coming from such different countries, backgrounds, and lifestyles.

I live with four other girls, and after sharing a room and bathroom for the past three years in university, I feel spoiled having my own bedroom and bathroom. Apparently, people in England aren’t big into sharing and all I can say is – yeah…I’m good with that.

bed bulletinboard deskFirst, is my bedroom. This single bedroom is almost two times bigger than my single in my campus apartment over the summer. The desk is so huge, and it’s great for getting course work done because I can spread out all over the place.

Since I am only here for three months, I wasn’t thrilled by the idea of spending money on decorations so, I made my own. They aren’t glamorous or anything. Let’s be honest, the last time you probably made a paper chain is when you were in primary school but, it’s a pretty easy and cheap way to add some color and spark to an otherwise dingy room.

I was so happy to get a package from my parents last week with some pictures to fill my cork-board. It definitely makes me happy to be able to see some familiar faces every day when I am in my room.

sink sink2 showerbathroomlightswitch meinmirrorThe bathroom is nice in terms of university accommodations. The shower has a glass door, and it’s a decent sized bathroom (as in the toilet isn’t in the shower).

There are some English oddities though. For one, (just like in the kitchen) there are two taps – one for hot and one for cold. I hate it. I really hate it. It’s impossible to get lukewarm water without trying to cup water back and forth between the cold and hot water, and the hot water gets hot fast. It will boil my skin if I am not careful. Also, the light switch is like a lamp switch. You have to pull a long cord and, the the lights come on. I’ve seen this in pubs, but it’s still weird compared the US standard of having an actual light switch.

Also, I was thinking about it while I was taking it, and I really don’t understand how girls take mirror pictures. I always feel like a moron when I try to pose in the mirror with my camera. I think I grew out of the mirror photo phase a long time ago.

kitchen fridges livingroomLast up, is the kitchen and living room.

There is a TON of storage space in the kitchen. In my campus apartment, everyone had one small cabinet and drawer. Here there is space for everyone to have two big cabinets and a drawer. You’re spoiling me, England – stop it. There is also for some reason, two mini fridges and a freezer. Why they just didn’t buy one full size refrigerator, I will never know.

The living room is fine, but it hasn’t gotten much use. Usually, I am over someone elses flat or hanging out in town. (Even though I don’t drink, being able to go into a bar and sit down, and hang out with my friends is really cool and relaxed).

So, I hope you enjoyed a little snoop around my UK flat. It’s been a nice place so far, and I’m good with spending another two months here.

18 thoughts on “Room Tour: My UK Apartment/Flat

  1. kflowermaquillage October 7, 2013 / 11:31 am

    The 2 taps is so strange! That would be annoying not being able to get warm water :/

    • Sam October 7, 2013 / 2:33 pm

      IT IS SO ANNOYING. It’s all over Leicester though – it’s not just the building.

      • kflowermaquillage October 7, 2013 / 3:16 pm

        That’s pretty strange!

  2. Debbie October 7, 2013 / 12:33 pm

    I remember hating the two taps, too!
    Not sure if you’re a drinker…but if you are, have you tried Strongbow yet? x

    • Sam October 7, 2013 / 2:33 pm

      I’m not a drinker :3 The two taps thing is SO ANNOYING.

  3. nyrmirez October 7, 2013 / 1:56 pm

    Your room looks so cute. Way to make due with what you have to decorate. It looks really cute and adds a nice pop of color! Your so lucky you don’t have to share a bathroom. I remember the how annoying it was trying to get ready and only having 15/20 minutes to shower/get ready while others are waiting for you.

    • Sam October 7, 2013 / 2:36 pm

      Thank you :) Yeah, sharing a bathroom is a pain. I used to just keep all of my beauty stuff in my room, so I only have to depend on getting time in the shower and brushing my teeth. The worst would be when I really had to pee and someone was taking forever in the shower!

  4. budziak October 7, 2013 / 3:47 pm

    How fun! It’s nice that you get your own space for a while. Even though I’ve lived with Toby for a few years now, I still feel like I don’t have my own space, more like I’m living in his space -_- I’m a bit jealous of your desk, seems conducive to studying. I need a study spot.

    • Sam October 8, 2013 / 7:17 am

      Yeah, the desk is really cool. It’s been quite a challenge figuring out how to organize it though!

  5. Alison October 7, 2013 / 9:20 pm

    Super jealous of that amazing desk! Also, love the blue furniture.

    xx Alison

    • Sam October 8, 2013 / 7:18 am

      It is definitely a cool place to get work done!

  6. Anonymous October 8, 2013 / 12:44 am

    Very nice Sam! I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it seems roomier than I would have thought. Thanks for the post card. It brought back memories from our visits. I am glad you are settling so well. Have fun and Mind the Gap!

  7. Ashley October 8, 2013 / 1:35 am

    Your room looks great! Love how you added a few DIY touches.

    • Sam October 8, 2013 / 7:18 am

      Paper chains for the win. ;)

  8. Jenn October 8, 2013 / 2:45 am

    Your room is so cute! What is weird is that I have the two taps on my sink in my appartment. In Virginia lol. I get your annoyance its one of mine as well.

    • Sam October 8, 2013 / 7:18 am

      Is it like that in the bathroom and kitchen? UGH. I hate it.

      • Jenn October 8, 2013 / 11:01 am

        Yes! The kitchen is more of a pain then anything.

Leave a Comment

