Fall Favorites: My Favorite Season

For the past month, it has been uncharacteristically warm and sunny here in England, but last week, the cold and rain arrived. It seems that summer is finally over, and fall is here to stay.

It’s okay though, I’ve always been a fall girl myself. The rest of the seasons are fine, but there is something special about fall. Maybe it’s my school oriented brain, but fall always brings up thoughts of new beginnings (and means we are one step closer to the holidays!).

A few weeks back, Jenn, did a fall favorites post, and I thought it since fall is my favorite, it would be fun to do my own list of things that I love about fall.

hotchocolateWarm Drinks
One of my favorite things about colder weather is having a hot drink to help warm me up. I wish I could whip up a good cup of homemade hot chocolate every time I was cold, but that can be quite ambitious (and caloric), so I usually stick with instant mixes. I also bought three boxes of tea to get me through the next few weeks in England (I’m embracing my inner Brit). Peppermint tea has a special place in my heart.

leaves

Leaves
Seeing the colors of the leaves change is one of the most beautiful things in the world. The leaves are slowly starting to change and fall here in England, but with the warm weather, it’s been slow to happen. Even so, I love the colors of autumn. A good mix of reds, oranges, and yellows always reminds me of crisp weather, Thanksgiving dinner (I’m already mourning the fact I won’t be in the US!), and football, speaking of which…

football

American Football
I wasn’t really a football fan until I got to college, but ever since I really enjoy watching a good football game. My home team, the Ravens, aren’t doing too well this season, so I guess I am not missing much by not seeing the games, but a part of me still misses the dedication to Sunday football in the US. Obviously, soccer (what the English call football) is the big game in England. No matter what day it is, there is always match being shown in a pub somewhere.

blackbootsBoots
I blame my mother for this one. She passed on her boot obsession to me, and well, it’s a problem. I really like boots – lots of boots – all kinds of boots. You may have seen these boots in my Kohl’s haul, but I have been wearing them almost every day in England because unfortunately boots are heavy and, I didn’t have room for more than one pair. It’s probably safe to say that I will have worn them out by the end of the season.

pumpkin-pie

Pumpkin Pie
Honestly, pumpkin pie is one of the best desserts on the planet. Mmm. I don’t know if pumpkin pie is a thing in England, but I sorely hope so. Hopefully, I can rustle up a can of mix at some point in the next few weeks. It seems like an affront to fall if I can’t have any pumpkin pie for the whole season.

Also, I feel like I should warn you about my Christmas obsession. I’ve already started listening to Christmas music, and I think the obsession is going to be in full force this year because Christmas is also linked with when I return to the US. I’m just warning you. Be prepared. Christmas blogging may or may not start in November…

What’s your favorite thing about fall?

14 thoughts on “Fall Favorites: My Favorite Season

  1. Andrea Kovářová October 14, 2013 / 3:28 pm

    So great article Samantha!! I also love fall and you are the first person I have met in my life who loves it as well!! And Christmas? Well we have Christmas obsession in common!! I have already listened to some of Christmas music too so I am happy to know I am not the only one!:)))
    Look forward to your Christmas blogging!;-)

    • Sam October 15, 2013 / 2:48 am

      Thanks, Andrea. :) We should have a Christmas party before we leave!

    • Sam October 15, 2013 / 2:48 am

      lol. Yum. Pumpkin pie. ;)

  2. budziak October 14, 2013 / 5:58 pm

    I’m such a foodie. One of my favorite fall things is pumpkin pie too… And have you ever had fresh mint tea where they muddle the mint leaves in it? So yummy! It’s great especially when you’re sick. I think I’ll do a Fall favorites post :-) Thanks for sharing.

    • Sam October 15, 2013 / 2:49 am

      No – I’ve never had fresh mint tea! :O I need to try this immediately. You should do a fall favorites. It’s fun!

    • Sam October 15, 2013 / 2:50 am

      I know! There’s something about that crisp fall air that always gets me pumped.

  3. Jenn October 15, 2013 / 1:45 am

    Yes boots! Love Love Love!! I loved all your favorite things :) I never been one for pumpkin flavored stuff but it seems I can’t avoid it. I’ve made some really easy and great pumpkin cookies that has the puree and cake mix and chocolate chips and that’s it. And I’m using Philosophy Spiced Pumpkin Latte shampoo.

    • Sam October 15, 2013 / 2:51 am

      I’ve never really tried other pumpkin flavored stuff except for pumpkin cheesecake. I probably should though since I am a pumpkin pie lover. Hm. Something about pumpkin flavored coffee just seems kinda gross to me though.

      • Jenn October 15, 2013 / 2:55 am

        I like the smell of the coffee but wont drink it thats why I bought the shampoo. The cookies I made came out fantastic it was like a pumpkin cake cookie

  4. Ashley October 15, 2013 / 4:08 pm

    Fall is my favourite season. The air is crisp, leaves are changing colours and make afternoon walks absolutely breathtaking!

    • Sam October 15, 2013 / 4:45 pm

      I agree! Spring is cool, but there is something magical about fall!

  5. Dolly December 28, 2013 / 3:31 am

    Obviously, soccer (what the English call football) is the big game in England.

    Nope. Football is what the English call football. After inventing the game, they decided that a game where you kick the ball with your foot could probably be most accurately described as ‘football’. To avoid confusion Americans have to call proper football ‘soccer’ because they erroneously call their domestic game ‘football’ despite the game consisting of men handling and throwing the ball to each other.

    American football is more akin to rugby, except in rugby men don’t feel the need to wear protective body armour and stop every 30 seconds for an ad break, they just get on the pitch and knock seven bells out of each other, like, well, men.

Leave a Comment

