Weekend Trip: Rugby, Bath, Bristol, Glastonbury, and Stonehenge

This weekend was intense. Honestly, it was non-stop from Friday morning to Sunday night. Friday was academic doomsday (lots of work due), Friday night I went to Rugby game, and then Saturday and Sunday, I signed up for group trip of Bath, Glastonbury, and Stonehenge. So, after sorting through about a million pictures, here’s one long recap of one very exciting weekend.

telephoneboothleicestertigersrugby

Friday, October 18, 2013
8 p.m. – Went to my first rugby game. I know nothing about rugby, but when my friends said they were going to see the local team play and, there was a student discount for the tickets – I was in. It was a cool experience. I like the fact that the game play stops less than in American football, and the clock runs almost continuously. I can’t necessarily say I’d go again, but I’m glad I got to see it.

rudebuspeople

Saturday, October 19, 2013
8 a.m. –
Boarded the bus to go to Bath. I ended up getting stuck next to a strange (Italian?) girl whose idea of personal space was well…nonexistent. At one point, I was pressed against the window, and her butt was taking up half of my seat, while she sprawled out on her seat. I literally thought she was going to stretch out on top of me. Eventually, she asked to switch to the window seat which I gladly accepted because then she kept to her side.

bathcircus bathstreets bathstreets2

11 a.m. – Arrived in Bath and saw part of the city. Bath is amazingly beautiful, and after living in Leicester the past few weeks, which has virtually no hills, it was actually nice to be able to hike up a street at an incline.

the real italian ice cream company bath 2 the real italian ice cream company bath

1:00 p.m. – Ice cream break. I found the Real Italian Ice Cream Company on Trip Advisor before I arrived in Bath, and it was so delicious. I got a small cone of the special Oreo flavor. It was one scoop and, it was £1.99.

I have to say, I really like being served manageable portions in the UK. I mean, I love ice cream, but it’s nice to just have your craving satisfied with one scoop versus feeling gross and sluggish after a US “small” cone (i.e. more like two or three scoops).

bathparkalcoholsignsbathbathabbeybathabbeydoorbathvegetablespaperchase

2:00 p.m. – We had some free time to explore Bath, and I was on a mission to see as much as I could. The sun came out and, the weather was amazingly perfect. I was able to take off my jacket and take pictures without shielding my camera from the rain. Also, I found a Paperchase…yeah…I may have bought something. Don’t judge me.

I saw Bath Abbey and was able to go inside as well. It’s a beautiful building, and it definitely screams classic architecture.

romanbaths2 romanbaths

2:30 p.m. – Visited the Roman Baths. I walked around the museum for a bit, but I have to admit I found the audio tour a bit boring. I snapped a few shots of the Baths, which you can see are rather yellowy/green in color. The water itself is from a natural hot spring, and it’s kind of a big deal because it’s the only natural hot spring in Britain. You can’t get in the water or anything, but it’s all very historical as Romans (get it – Roman Baths) used to bathe here. If you crouch by the water, you can feel the heat radiating from it.

bristolriver bristolfountains

8:00 p.m. – Went to Bristol. We only got to hang around Bristol for a three or so hours, but it seemed like a nice city. There was a lot of night life, and a lot of restaurants and clubs around.

breakfast

Sunday, October 20, 2013
7:30 a.m. – 
Ate breakfast. Our group was at the Holiday Inn Express in North Bristol, and breakfast was included. When I was getting my cereal, I noticed they call Frosted Flakes, Frosties here. Apparently, it’s common throughout most of the world. Weird.

meatglastonburyabbeyglastonburyabbey

10 a.m. – Visited Glastonbury Abbey. The abbey was really pretty and kind of eeiry at times. Portions of the abbey walls are still standing, but it’s mostly a ruin.

glastonburytour glastonburytorhill glastonburytor2 glastonburytor

12 p.m. – Walked up Glastonbury Tor. I have to say, this was probably the most amazing part of the trip. First, the Tor is about 500 feet up, and the climb is at a very steep incline. Let me just say, I destroyed that climb. I love exercise (yes, really), and it’s amazing to feel like you are on top of the world when you realize what good shape you are actually in.

But really, the views were literally breathtaking. It was cloudy, but you could still see miles off in the distance of both the countryside and the town. The wind was crazy, and I was a little scared I might get blown over, but it was so worth it.

stonehenge

3 p.m. – Visited Stonehenge. I have to say, Stonehenge…kinda boring. It probably didn’t help that we skipped lunch to climb the Tor and, it was pouring rain. I looked for five minutes and, then I left and devoured the best, overpriced Stonehenge sandwich of my life.

Overall, the weekend was long, but very worth it. There was a lot of walking and a lot of bus riding, but I am so glad that I got to see some more of England. The whole trip cost me £141 ($228), which was a really good price considering it included everything (travel, admission costs, and hotel).

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it here yet, but next week my parents are coming to visit, and since I have a week off from school while they are here, we are going to visit London and Paris. Yes. Really. I am so stoked.

Have you ever seen something really cool when traveling?

7 thoughts on “Weekend Trip: Rugby, Bath, Bristol, Glastonbury, and Stonehenge

  1. budziak October 21, 2013 / 4:09 pm

    How awesome! I love seeing these posts. Makes me wish I did some sort of study abroad program before I decided on doing an all online program -_- Oh well. There’s nothing like living vicariously through someone else ;-) (p.s. have you seen Exit Through the Gift Shop on Netflix? British telephone booths remind me of Banksy art)

    • Sam October 22, 2013 / 9:25 pm

      lol No, I haven’t seen it, but there are old school phone booths basically everywhere here. It’s just a touristy/historical thing though because some of them actually have signs saying they aren’t functioning phone booths. lol.

  2. producthoochie October 21, 2013 / 10:24 pm

    Looks like you are having a wonderful time. Enjoy Paris! It is my favorite city.

    • Sam October 22, 2013 / 9:23 pm

      I’m very excited to see it for the first time!

  3. glamourousagelessbeauty October 22, 2013 / 2:27 pm

    Lovely post Sam, I enjoyed reading this. You look like you are enjoying your time here. I hope you have a great time with your parents when they arrive. xx

    • Sam October 22, 2013 / 9:25 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. :) I am definitely enjoying my time here, and I am excited to see my family soon!

  4. Emma @ Culturecopia October 23, 2013 / 4:36 pm

    I can’t believe you are ON EXCHANGE! Even though I missed out on the last few months of updates, I feel as though I was preparing for this journey with you!!

Leave a Comment

