UK Nail Polish Haul + 600 Followers

When I came to the UK, I didn’t bring any nail polish with me. I am a nail polish lover, so it was painful to leave behind my collection, but I knew once I got here I would have a lot of polishes to choose from.

However, with the conversion rate, my favorite polish brand, Essie is way too expensive so, I’ve been buying cheaper polishes at random and seeing how I like them.

nailpolishbarrymplum

My favorite by far has to be the Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine. I heard a lot of good things about Barry M before I came to the UK, and I have to say the hype is pretty on point. It’s not as long lasting as Essie but, it’s definitely good for the price, £3.99 at Superdrug. I will definitely be repurchasing a few more shades before I leave.

collectiongothicglam

I picked out the Collection Gothic Glam varnish because I bought the Collection concealer and, it is the best concealer I have ever used (review to come), so I am interested to try the rest of the Collection line. I really like the shade of this polish. I just put it on yesterday, so I can’t comment on it in terms of lasting quality, but the color is definitely a sell for me.

It was only £2.00 at Wilkinson – which has some really good deals on makeup. It’s even cheaper than Superdrug in some cases.

revlonquickddry

This may be cheating since I bought this from Amazon for $4.97, but this Revlon Quick Dry Top Coat isn’t super amazing as a top coat but, it is great in terms of drying really quickly. It literally dries completely in less than a minute. I definitely needed something like this because I am terrible at waiting for my nails to dry.

However, it’s not 100 percent in terms of preventing chipping. It might be better used as a quick dry product over top of a more heavy duty top coat.

I wasn’t entirely impressed with the 17 polish or the other Barry M Nail Paint (I accidentally bought crackle effect), so I don’t think I’ll talk about them.

600followers

In other news, I’ve hit 600 followers, and I have to say a great big thank you to every one who has stuck around these past few months and for those that are just joining the party. It’s been one wild ride.

What’s your favorite UK nail brand?

12 thoughts on “UK Nail Polish Haul + 600 Followers

  1. Luchessa October 23, 2013 / 2:55 pm

    Congrats on your followers dear and you seem to have picked out great polishes. At least i like the colors a lot :)

    • Sam October 24, 2013 / 9:02 pm

      Thanks :)

  2. myclosetnbeautyfinds90 October 23, 2013 / 3:52 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try Barry M nail polishes! The colors you picked up are so pretty! Congrats on 600 followers!!!

    • Sam October 24, 2013 / 9:03 pm

      They are definitely good for the price and, thank you. :)

  3. Carina October 23, 2013 / 5:19 pm

    Congrats on 600 followers :) Ugh, I’ve been itching to try Barry M. My fave general nail polish brand—not that I have many—is definitely Butter London. I know it’s pricey, but it really takes a long time for it to chip, even without a top coat. And for a lazy person like me, that’s always a pro.

    • Sam October 24, 2013 / 9:04 pm

      Yeah. I’ve seen Butter London, but it’s definitely expensive. Although, I hate when my polish chips in a couple days. And thank you :)

  4. randomparadise October 24, 2013 / 9:15 am

    I’ve always wanted to try Barry M nail polishes, but I’ll have to order them online :( also, congrats on your followers! :)

    • Sam October 24, 2013 / 9:04 pm

      Yeah, it sucks they are only available in the UK. :/

  5. nyrmirez October 24, 2013 / 3:56 pm

    Congrats on 600 followers! I’m glad to hear that the Barry M nail polishes are just as good as everyone raves about them. I absolutely love that purple color.

    • Sam October 24, 2013 / 9:05 pm

      Yeah, I was excited to find plum because it’s been so big this fall. :) And thank you.

  6. Nail Luxxe October 26, 2013 / 11:09 pm

    I hope you’ve been enjoying your stay over here! It’s lovely to see you becoming familiar with some of our home brands. Have you tried any Rimmels? You might like those too. I’m a big fan of Revlon Quick Dry Top Coat, haven’t found too many problems with chipping, though I change colours often. A big congratulations on the followers!! More to join, I’m sure :)

    • Sam October 28, 2013 / 6:05 pm

      Yes, it’s been wonderful. I’ll have to try the Revlon Quick Dry. I really want to splurge on a Butter London, but it’s so expensive…I’ll have to work up to that. ;)

Leave a Comment

